We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kabiki to your Saves list
The Kabiki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22, Street 264, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Everything was great. You feel very welcome! The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are great. The area is very quit. You're in the middle of Phnom Pehn and there is no noise from cars, scooter etc. The rooms are very clean and the tropical garden with pool is great. If you go to Phnom Penh, you must stay here. Excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    194
    50
    12
    11
See reviews for
212
185
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our tuk-tuk could not take us to the front step of the hotel because it is in a secured area with some governmental official living adjacent to the hotel. You have to walk about 50 yards to get to the hotel. Therefore you are not harangued by tuk-tuk drivers when you exit the hotel. The hotel is a few blocks walking distance southwest of the major sites in Phnom Penh ie the Royal Palace and museum. The historic killing field is about 15 miles south of town. That requires a tuktuk and it is logical that one also see the torture prison on the way back to town. I think the center for nightlife is further north. The hotel property is like a botanical garden. Upon checkin we were treated like royalty with a tropical glass of juice and a moist rolled up towel to cleanse our hands and face. The rooms are large and clean with a rustic tropical decor. The breakfast is made to order and very good. There are computers in the central building. The swimming pool is clean even though the water looks green on photographs. Every day the staff cleans up all the leaves from all the trees which shade the property. This boutique hotel is like an oasis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel's minivan picked us up and we enjoyed a lovely ride through the beautifully lit streets of Phnom Penh, eyes wide open drinking in the sights of the city at night. Then we arrived in the lush and serene setting of the Kabiki. The warm evening and the sounds of the tropical garden greeted us as we walked up the meandering path to the hotel's reception, where we were welcomed by friendly staff, cool towels and fresh lychee juice.

Our family room was spacious, very clean and simply and elegantly designed with fresh colours. We loved the thoughtful touches, like the bowls of water with their floating lotus flowers. It felt luxurious for weary travellers. Before bed we made the most of the hotel's lovely pool, nestled in the heart of the lush garden, which we had to ourselves. Floating on my back looking up at the starlit night is one of the highlights within the collection of special memories that I brought home from Cambodia. Fresh lime juice and home made pizzas in the pool side bar, chatting to the friendly waiter keen to improve his English, was the end to a perfect evening.

We spent two nights in the Kabiki before heading off to Siem Reap to explore the temples around Angkor Wat and then returned again for a night before leaving Cambodia. It provided a great base for us while in the city. It was in a very central location near the Royal Palace and the fantastic National Museum (also well worth a visit for lunch is the fabulous Friends restaurant, just a stone's throw away from the museum). In the evening we got a tuk tuk to the river front area, which was a highlight in itself, waving to families passing by (all squeezed onto one scooter!) in the hectic traffic and colourful hustle and bustle of night time Phnom Penh.

Overall, this was a very family friendly, comfortable, relaxing, beautiful and serene setting from which to explore Phnom Penh. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. We went away wishing we could have stayed longer (we didn't make it to the Russian market or to experience group aerobics in the Olympic stadium this time!) and would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This review is actually from January of this year. My friend and I travelled to Cambodia for a week. Before the trip I did my research here on tripadvisor and saw many excellent reviews for the Kabiki as well as its sister hotels. As it is a small property, I booked as soon as possible. Once we arrived in Phnom Penh from Siem Reap, we took a tuk-tuk to the hotel. I was a little concerned as I had read the hotel wasnt directly accessible and that we'd have to walk to it from either end of the street. No biggie, in fact it was a short walk and we could feel how much quieter it was walking towards the hotel. We were greeted by Lucy, who was really nice and sat with us showing where we could go for dinner and etc. As we only had a day to see Phnom Penhh, she arranged a driver for us to visit various sites in the city. Also, she recommended a mini-van service for our return trip to Siem Reap. The ride to Phnom Penh was an almost 8 hours adventure, so she knew we'd need a quicker trip back. She set that up for us as well (and that too turned out to be an adventure!). Our stay was super comfortable and all the other staff members are really sweet. One of the front desk guys also warned us of rain that day and made sure we had one of the hotel's umbrellas just in case. We made sure to eat breakfast at the Kabiki. While simple, it was so delicious and very filling. I still remember the warm chestnut bread! The property felt like a little beach property, i kept thinking 'where's the water?' That's how far away from the city I felt even though we were smack in the middle of it. Totally awesome place and would stay there again!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place was absolutely wonderful . Stayed there on 2 seperate occasions recently and loved it. The food , the rooms, the setting the staff were all superb. It was also very quiet as it was in the Prime Ministers street. Close to all especially 240 street and the beer lady at the end of the street was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

From when we were picked up at the airport nothing was too much trouble for the staff who seemed genuinely pleased to help. Situated close to some of the main attractions like the Royal Palace and the National Museum yet it is quiet and peaceful as it is situated close to the Prime Minister's house in a private road.

The room was quite large with comfortable beds and a reasonable bathroom and very quiet in the evening. The garden is lush, and surrounds the swimming pool which is a good size. Breakfast is included in the tariff, is of a good quality and my only (very minor) grumble would be to have a bit more variety.

It is hard to imagine anybody leaving this hotel and being unhappy with their stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed only a short weekend at the Kabiki but I can highly recommend it. Nice grounds, very large swimming pool for a city hotel. Good for singles, couples, families. The staff is very friendly. Nice basic selection of food and drinks in the pool cafe where also basic breakfast is served. The location is the best - it is in a closed off to traffic street where the Prime Minister lives so the location is very peaceful and free from traffic on your door step. The rooms are clean and have everything you need on holidays. Nothing fancy, but nice clean simple design.

Room Tip: I had a room upstairs and I am sure there is more natural light there then in the bigger garden room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Address: 22, Street 264, Phnom Penh 1000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kabiki is a green oasis, located right in the middle of the city, between the Independence Monument and the Royal Palace. The park is planted with exotic species and has a large swimming pool, with a shallow pool for the children. Most rooms have each their own private garden. A garden restaurant and bar serves food and cocktails around the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kabiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.