We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, clean, good value, staff were too pushy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okay Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Okay Guesthouse to your Saves list
Okay Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Ph 258, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Ko Phangan, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasant stay, clean, good value, staff were too pushy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our room was clean and very spacious, the bathroom was clean. The rooms were secure and the food they offered was reasonable and the menu catered for most. The location was good and the guesthouse offered tuk-tuk drivers for sight-seeing.
The staff were friendly but very pushy and it would become very annoying when you are trying to eat your dinner/lunch/ tea/ breakfast and every member of staff pestered you asking if you would like to go to the palace, killing fields etc. this made us not want to sit downstairs in the communal area.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    93
    35
    23
See reviews for
12
79
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I've seen a lot of people complain about security here but my door had a dead lock in my room and always stored passport laptop etc in the security lock up when I was out and felt really good about my stuffs safety here.
Food was average - mostly cheaper than other GHs in the street. The service is fine in the day but the night waiters are just plain rude.
Rooms could be lighter and there was a little mold on the ceiling but hey- what do you want for 6 dollars? They didn't discount for a longer stay so I ended up at the Lazy Gecko a few doors down which on a weekly rate works out cheaper but with TV and hot water.

Room Tip: Not bad to pop into but the Ritz it is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

nice rooms
has a good and cheap lobby/ restaurant downstairs - it's just fun to hangout there.
full of people which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The guesthouse was more than OK, we got a double room with fan. We were on the 1st floor, round the corner in the remote aircon rooms. The room was really clean, and with a great bathroom, hot water and tv for $8 per night. You have to pay your first night up front, and then all your food/drinks/laundry/nights thereafter is written in an honesty book. the restaurant was nice and played films in the evenings, but the american tv on during the day became quite irritating. However, the one thing that really bothered me was how every time we sat down to eat in the restaurant the staff would ask us "where are you going today?" and try to get us to do a tour with them. I wouldn't ordinarily mind them asking if it was just outside the hotel door but when you are trying to eat your breakfast and get asked by at least 4 different drivers it really starts to grate. Laundry was really good, machine done and they charge you by the weight once it has been dried which is really handy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here at the end of my 3 month trip around south east asia. I travelled alone, and the OK Guest House was very welcoming. Communal tables to eat and socialise at. Always showing movies if you didnt fancy a chat. My room was comfortable and clean and very large. I did opt for the bigger of the rooms and paid a little more. But it was not expensive. They staff were friendly and up for a chat if you want but not over intrusive. The food here is very good with a great mix on the menu. It's a short enough walk into the bar area of the town, but there is always tuk tuks outside the door, but the guesthouse has its own tuk tuk drivers, who will also do the day trips around the killing fields etc. Very patient.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Reole, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We don't undestand why so many bad critics about the OKAY GH. We were 7 French tourists, and we staid twice weeks here in PP. The prices are very low (6 to 8 $ a dwb + bath), in PP center... The staff was always friendly with us, they helped us everytime we need... and always with kindness. We saw some tourists who were not correct. It is much easy to write bad comments ! Anyway, on 7 people, we were all satisfied and we will turn back again to this place. We travelled a lot, and we have noticed that when tourists are correct, the staff is correct most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

does what it says on the tin, okay guesthouse is okay.

the rooms are an ok price, the rooms arent fantastic, but they arent that bad either.

the common area downstairs is quite good for meeting people, which is one of this hostels plus-sides. the food here is also slightly cheaper than at nearby restaurants, and of a decent quality.

its close to riverside, so a nice area to go for a walk.

it has free wifi, or theres an internet cafe across the road.

and the staff were quite helpful with sorting my vietnamese visa, and bus to siem reap.

my advice would be to get some recommendations for other places, but if you dont get any then this place is far from terrible. you could do a lot worse!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okay Guesthouse

Address: 5 Ph 258, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Okay Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Okay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okay Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okay Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.