We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Noisey Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cara to your Saves list
Hotel Cara
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No. 18, Street 47 & 84 | Sangkat Srass Chork, Khanh Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Small, Noisey Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent two separate nights here and the staff are very good but the rooms 207 and 110 were really small and the bathrooms were tiny! We were woken up both mornings at around 5.00am by noises coming from either guests or staff - I didn't check! A good 15 minute walk or a short tuk-tuk ride into town. Highly recommend eating at the Titanic Restaurant. An average hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    206
    95
    26
    5
See reviews for
9
57
100
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were booked into Cara thru Khiri Travel, as altho usually travel independentlý at hostels thought we may need an extra boost after our month in India. The Hotel room was great with a balcony and good, bathroom, frig,tea making facilities large beds and really good service.
The breakfasts had great choices & were really good and the adjoining restaurant "Doors"also handy for more Tapas type food. We did have to walk quite a lot as it is more Nth. than most of the main sights & restaurants and not many other eating places around. However on the plus it was also much quieter due to that fact.. The Tuk tuks were always nearby and very cheap..

Room Tip: Not sure of directions but we appreciated the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Cara Hotel for 2 nights@$35/night from chanbrothers singapore based online agency and ill certainly use it again during my next travel to Phnom Penh.

It is close to the major attractions and has an excellent Catalan restaurant (Door's) with live music(evenings),great wine list&reasonable prices (set lunch@$10!).

Breakfast was also excellent at Door's restaurant.

The room; On the small side and not exactly deserving the title 'boutique' but has huge LG TV&lots of movie channels&DVD set(hundreds of movies to choose from). Beds are firm, clean&bathroom with rainforest shower.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Expensive for what you get. Only one chair in the room and little space. The location is poor for tourists as most sights are a long hot walk or require a tuk tuk. Few restaurants in the neighborhood. Regretted this choice and cut short our stay. On the positive side, the restaurant serves an excellent and large breakfast and the staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Granted, Hotel Cara was one of the priciest hotels we lived in throughout our trip in Indochina. However, considering the quality of the rooms we received, we'd say that it was well worth it.

Since we had a total of four in our party, we chose Hotel Cara because it was one of the few hotels in Phnom Penh with family rooms available at a more affordable price. The room, however, was pretty good; it was divided into a living room and a bedroom, where there was a queen size bed and a double-decker bunk bed. The room was fairly spacious, with plenty of room for us to chug our luggage bags. Contrary to some reports, though, we found the noise level issue to be non-existent, probably because our room was facing another direction.

The interior decor of the hotel was very chic. Obviously inspired by minimalism with hints of zen and Khmer touches here and there, it was really pleasant. Great place to unwind after a tiring day.

The service was what you'd expect from a business hotel. One of the receptionists was pretty friendly but we (rather inevitably) did not get the same level of warmth we received from our guesthouse in Siem Reap. Nonetheless, the receptionists were still helpful in giving pointers regarding transport and sights.

The location of the hotel was convenient, too. Located near Wat Phnom, most of the attractions were within a 10-minute tuktuk ride away. Walking is possible, though not recommended, due to safety concerns. A tuktuk ride from the National Museum at Sisowath Quay would cost around USD 1.

Doors, the adjacent bar/restaurant, was where we had breakfast. There are plenty of options for breakfast, catering to both Western and Asian palates. It is not till nighttime, however, when Doors comes alive. It has a lively and vibrant atmosphere at night, and is certainly one of the nicer places in Phnom Penh to grab a drink or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've stayed at Hotel Cara on many occasions. Usually we stay there after we've been out in the countryside doing mission work. The Hotel Cara is a great place to wind down are relax. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and well appointed. Westerners need to know that the standards they are used to is far different than what they may be used to back home.

I prefer rooms not facing the road as they are very quite. AC works great. Hotel Cara is not on the waterfront, but is very close. A very short Tuk Tuk ride to anywhere. Ask for the Tuk Tuk drive John. He runs the Tuk Tuks that serve the Hotel Cara. He is very honest. We pay him $15 for all day. Ya we could get cheeper else where. He has served us well over the years.

There is fee WiFi that works well throughout the hotel. They serve a great breakfast in the dinner. The Dragon fruit is great.

Every time we are in Phnom Penh we stay at Hotel Cara. We've stayed a many hotels, but none are as consistently good as Hotel Cara.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are very quite. The road get noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had two single nights here during a tour. Room 209 was very pleasant. The main negative was the sound of loud music nearby until very late. The hotel staff are very helpful and the location is fine with a good restaurant (The Exchange) opposite. Easy tuk-tuk ride into town centre and a service station with shop opposite for essentials. Breakfast was a little hit and miss on the two days, although the coffee was not bad compared to many other hotels! Hotel is very clean and functional.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the street noise / music, room 209 is good, but you may prefer the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cara

Address: No. 18, Street 47 & 84 | Sangkat Srass Chork, Khanh Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cara 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cara features 48 newly refurbished of uniquely designed rooms with meticulously crafted furniture made from local Ratanakkiri wood and pine wood offering private balconies overlooking the bustling urban metropolis, family suite and modern amenities to fit all your needs. Our hotel is strategically located in the heart of Phnom Penh, just a few minutes from the riverside nightlife and eclectic cuisine of Sisowath Quay, the historic Central Market, modern shopping centers, and the elegant Royal Palace. Hotel Cara is the perfect accommodation, whether you are exploring Cambodia’s rich culture or seeking a safe haven for business.Friendliness is not just in our name, it’s our philosophy. Welcome to Hotel Cara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Hotel Phnom Penh
Cara Motel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.