We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PP” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added King Guesthouse to your Saves list
King Guesthouse
149-151, Angdoun Street 110 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 272 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

So, the hotel was not luxurious...there was a padlock on our door, the beds and sheets were scary, and I'm not sure what was going on in the bathroom. However, we paid maybe $6 for 3 people for one night? They picked us up at the bus station with a sign, drove us wherever we wanted to go, and everyone was so friendly that I would recomend this hotel to anyone who is traveling on a tight budget!

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    25
    21
    31
See reviews for
2
24
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

I stayed here back in 2003. Although it was a long time ago, my stay really sticks in my mind. The staff were excellent, very helpful and took care of me.
The rooms were large and clean.
There was plenty going on in the evening and always someone hanging around to go out with.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — They stole my washing
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

The only reason I stayed here was because the bus from Bavet stopped here and cleverly barricaded the entrance so that nobody could leave. It's the same old commission scam operated all over the region. The only reason I didn't wait patiently before going elsewhere is because I was absolutely shattered... dealing with Vietnamese immigration is tiresome!

This isn't a bad guesthouse, it's quite simply in completely the wrong area. If you're backpacking you'll want to be on the lakeside and if you're partying you'll want to be more central or on the riverfront. My tip... spend $3 a night and go to No Worries Guesthouse. The friendliest place I've ever stayed!

Stayed September 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

this is a reasonable budget option for backpackers - as in the previous review, we got a decent room with TV for $12. There is a little restaurant which serves adequate food and good beers and 24 hour security on the front door. the streets around the guest house are very dark and we got lost a couple of times but never felt threatened in spite of warning about safety in PP. the backpacker area near the river where most of the restaurants and bars are is a short journey away in a rickshaw/taxi.
reception will organise onward travel to Siem Reap and other locations in cambodia/vietnam, and also run several trips daily to the Killing Fields just outside the city. There is also a safe at reception where you can store passports and other valuables. reception were friendly and spoke good english.

  • Liked — great value for money
  • Disliked — location could have been better
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

I am posting this as an option for /and for information of budget travellers.
The King Guest House had good facilities for 12 USD per night. It has a range of rooms from 3 USD to 25 USD per night plus a VIP room. The staff were marvellous, has an in-house restuarant and will organise a reasonably priced vehicle for you (their flat rate) to go into Phnom Penh central, Russian Markets etc.
For 12 USD we got a double room (twin beds), aircon, bath/shower, hot and cold water (as opposed to warm and warm), balcony, fan, TV, star movies, fridge and slightly stinky sewer.
The staff speak brilliant English and seemed good at lots of other languages. It had good security, will look after valuables securely, though old-fashionedly (like rest of Cambodia we saw), the ground floor of the hotel is an open foyer which they lock at night and someone is always down there. The restaurant is located at this level, local cafe style. You can buy water and basics there all reasonably priced. The desk will organise tours, tickets on to other cities etc.
We had a look at a few rooms before settling on the 12 USD per night one. The stairs are quite steep so probably not suitable for less able people to stay on higher level floors. You are also staying in the suburbs, so be prepared for a bit a dog barking, vehicle noise etc. Once the air con was on, we were out of it anyway.
It was listed on the map in the version of the Lonely Planet Guide that we were using at the time (haven't checked since).
Contact details provided at the time we stayed there (Feb 2006) was:
Mr Phearun, Manager
(855)11 937 132
(855) 12 930 011
(855) 12 722 002
(855) 23 220 512
(---)
Address: No. 74, St.141, SangkatVealVong,
Khan7Makara,Phnom Penh, Cambodia (whatever that all means)
(Carry the card with you for tuk tuk drivers to return you)
They offer a free pickup, but we were walk-ins, we caught our own transport from the airport. Hotel in Ho Chi Minh had recommended this (as they do) as our chose accommodation was not able to be contacted.
I hope this helps someone who doesn't have megabucks.
Yeah .. and don't miss the Russian Markets, loved the place!

ScooterOz
Darwin, NT

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Guesthouse

Address: 149-151, Angdoun Street 110 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*New Season Promotion!! Booking our hotel with Tripadvisor includes “bed and breakfast”King Guesthouse features include:Free Towel, Linen, Toilet roll, Soap, Toothpaste, ToothbrushFree Internet WIFIFree Book ExchangeFree Map and AdviceFree Luggage StorageFree Safety DepositFree Satellite TVFree DVD Player (Booking Ahead)Free Cambodian LessonFree Pick UpPlease email or ring us, about your mode of transport and arrival time, at least a day before your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your King Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.