We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Budget Accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added King Guesthouse to your Saves list
King Guesthouse
149-151, Angdoun Street 110 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Toronto
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice Budget Accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I expected a lot worse based on reviews on hostelbookers but it was fine. Place is not easy to find as they dont give directions and I had to ask in two hotels, but location is good close to wat phnom and night market, and express buses to other cities. The palace and other pagodas about a 15 min walk along the river. The tickets to HCMC were sold out everywhere for the day I wanted but the hostel was able to give it to me for a day later at $10 and extend my stay for another night at the same $8 rate. Breakfast is included thru hostelbookers but not walk in bookings who got upset when told to pay. Room was ok with a good tv package. No hot water is included but this was normal in both the hostels I stayed at in Cambodia. Water temperature was ok to shower 2-3x a day which I did. Water is a lot cleaner and safer than it was in Siem Reap Hostel. They arrange a tuk tuk driver to take you around the block with my luggage for the HCMC bus at no charge. English levels vary but they will try to help. The very smily person speaks the best. They were not too pushy about tours unless I enquired but a firm no was enough for them to back off. Building layout is strange but you cant fault the hostel as it wasnt purpose built.

Disliked: free internet doesnt work a lot of the time as server is switched off. Hotmail freezes on explorer but works better on firefox. Room window curtains are see thru. Too many pushy tuk tuk drivers outside, one of them works on staff.

Room Tip: too many stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    25
    21
    31
See reviews for
2
24
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival, they actually have printed out in A4 paper a welcome note. This is nice.

I have booked a double or twin bed with air-con, they have given me two double beds. The room is big but the whole room is painted on orange including the ceiling which don't look so comfortable. The red carpet is not so clean but wear slippers walk around in the room is still ok. The worst thing is the door is glass and covered with a curtain that still can see through from below as the curtain is not long enough. We don't feel safe and move out after first night. There is breakfast served which is a plus.

Other rooms we saw is wooden doors, so request those but the colours of the walls and ceiling really made us feel not comfortable.
Overall is cheap for budget Travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I believe in the saying that you get what you pay for, so for those people complaining about the backpacker's guesthouses, hotels, etc., for not good service, not comfy bed, etc., I think they should go and sleep in 4-star or 5-star hotels.

In any case, I had a pleasant one-night stay in King Guesthouse. I stayed in room 305, paying $8 a day before I arrive; it did not have hot shower and the TV was broken. The staff member So Pha(? same person who showed me the room and did not offer help in carrying my bags, which was okay, except the hallways were dark and I fell down near the room embarrassingly) was doing his best to fix the television, but as I did not need to watch any movie, anyway, I just told him to leave it. As I could not speak Khmer language, maybe So Pha thought I was telling him to come back later so he could fix the television... so he did come back later. Nice person.

The staff members are nice. I did not get to eat breakfast because I had to leave early to go to a museum, so no reaction about the breakfast. However, I ate dinner and lunch... and a staff member even gave me 3 bananas for free! :-)

All in all, a pleasant one-night stay :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I had a third floor room with cable, ac, mini fridge ,cold water ensuite with a window overlooking the Wat for $12, they push the tours kinda hard but the free breakfast was nice and the location is exl. One day walking to the ATM the hotel owner saw me and gave me a lift on his motorbike, airport pick up gratis...

Room Tip: maze like layout rooms vary widely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Basically. We had two good nights sleep.

However, they lied to everyone about the "FREE Breakfast". They said to us that it was free for rooms of "$13 dollars and up". However, a guy paid $15 dollars for his room and he got no free breakfast.
The toilet was in ruins.
Tonnes of ants and flies in our second room.
They over charged for laundry.


And to top it all off they tried to force us to pay for an extra night thinking we had arrived a day earlier than we had.

Location good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chau Doc, Vietnam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Im stayed this guest house twice came and go on my holidays.This very good staves, thought the guy ,who own business not friendly but he have very good service,the room ok but no HOT warter.
Only 5 or 10 minute walking to the river,good location.
[[-]

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We got a free pick up from the bus station. The reception area could have been more welcoming (was a little dark and cramped) however the reception staff were really friendly, chatty and helpful. They helped organise a tour (but no pressure to book).

The AC didn't work in our first room but after telling them within 5 minutes we were given a better room (with help to move bags!) and were given free water with apologies. We had a twin, AC room with fridge. The room was spacious and clean.

We got free breakfast every morning of omlette and toast. The hotel also can do laundry for you.

Peace, on reception, was fantastic and really interesting person. The other reception staff were also very friendly and chatty. They helped us book our bus to Battambang.

Great location and would recommend as a great, friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room with a window with AC (and not on the 3rd floor as there are no lifts!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Guesthouse

Address: 149-151, Angdoun Street 110 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*New Season Promotion!! Booking our hotel with Tripadvisor includes “bed and breakfast”King Guesthouse features include:Free Towel, Linen, Toilet roll, Soap, Toothpaste, ToothbrushFree Internet WIFIFree Book ExchangeFree Map and AdviceFree Luggage StorageFree Safety DepositFree Satellite TVFree DVD Player (Booking Ahead)Free Cambodian LessonFree Pick UpPlease email or ring us, about your mode of transport and arrival time, at least a day before your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your King Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.