We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pavilion
Save
You added The Pavilion to your Saves list
227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Pavilion for one night in Feb. The location is good and the staff were attentive. When we checked in there were some staff being trained up so it was a little challenging...we had quite a few questions, regarding help with our trip and I think they were very busy at the time so it was a little disorganised. We also didn't get our welcome drink!

One thing was slightly strange, we had to confirm by email 7 days before that we would definitely be turning up. This was fine but no other hotels requested this during our trip. They then also asked us what time we would be arriving. I assumed they would therefore have our room ready for us (we arrived at 1.30) as we said we would, but our room was not ready. When we were shown our room it had someone else's luggage in there. Odd!

The room was massive and gorgeous. There is even a PC in there which I would personally take out, makes you think about work! The bed wastage and very comfortable and the bathroom was large too. The pool area is also beautiful and there are some handy shower rooms to use post checkout too.

We also received a complementary massage which was good. Quite like a Thai massage so not relaxing, but free all the same. The other treatments also looked like good value.

The hotel organised tickets for us to see the traditional dancing at the National Museum which is excellent.

I would recommend this hotel based on the room, pool and location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guests, I am sorry about the check-in. Indeed, we have new staff at the reception as we chose to send some of our strongest people to uplift the Boat Cruises operations and redeploy the Blue Lime reception. I try to shift people between properties to increase their exposure and share the learning between hotels. The welcome drink is a standard, with fresh towels and local pastries, sorry we missed it, as it is part of the experience. As for the reservation process, we finally have the online booking engine! Took us three years, but now it is done! Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    399
    72
    33
    14
See reviews for
126
871
130
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was very much looking forward to another visit to The Pavilion this time staying in a deluxe room in the main house. My room was very nice indeed with a balcony that overlooked the pool. The reception staff at the Pavilion are very good and friendly. During my last stay I ate at the restaurant a couple of times and did so again this time but was let down by they quality and presentation of the food. The breakfasts were good but the evening meals were not up to what I was expecting. It is 3 years since I was there last and I don't think that the menu had changed but I think the kitchen staff had and it showed.

But could they make a good Mojito my word they could - tried them everywhere throughout a 3 week trip to Cambodia and they came out on top!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, very sorry, you just missed the new menu. It is being printed and will be out before the end of the week. Indeed, it was about time to upgrade it... Sorry it took so long. Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a really good time at the Pavilion. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated and it is such a surprise when you go through the door in a wall and see the beautiful garden and pool beyond. The pool is perfect, very relaxing and the room was very comfortable and a good size. Breakfast was very good and the drinks and snacks were good value. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kep, Cambodia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

It was my first time to Phnom Penn so as we headed through the bustling streets of town I wasn't quite sure what to make of the hole in the wall that was our hotel. But the moment you step inside the dust noise and freneticism evaporates away. It is a cleverly designed hotel, the front colonial, the back ex government offices and a few extra blocks. The density of rooms is high and you are very close to your neighbours but because of great planting and mature plants you really feel you have your own private space. We really grew to love this hotel. It is brilliantly located. If you are undecided where to stay, pick this one it is great value the pool is good, rooms clean and simple. The staff were good and well informed. Top marks.

Room Tip: We had the last garden twin room, we wouldn't have asked for it but we liked it very much, strai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Looking at the website and reading the reviews I was expecting more. Staying in a deluxe suite that was more standard than deluxe - it lacked the wow factor. Very spacious bedroom and separate lounge - loads of natural light but the decor / fit-out just let it down.
Staff incredible helpful - pool area a lovely quiet oasis.
The airport pick up in the Jag is a fun way to start or end your stay.
Location is perfect - great coffee down the street at Artillery Cafe, fab spa at Bliss & for that special night out a 10 min tuk tuk ride to Topaz a world class restaurant.
$2 tuk tuk into the centre of town - loads of great local east near the river.
The Pavillion is nice - just needs to ramp up the wow factor to get 4+ stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment. I will think of further decoration for the two suites which are maybe a bit too empty. Let me think of something. Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

in the middle of the city yet so quiet and beautiful. One doesn't even realize when your in the room that this hotel exists in the middle of the city. We had a pool room and it was just beautiful. the room was very different than what we have stayed in the past, the regulator of the fan really impressed me and the style in which the room had been done. very eco friendly hotel and a real boutique property. The bamboo cycles they provide are again very different. we did take them for a ride in the night on the riverfront and it was worth it.
the staff was very helpful and nice, Nassiba the General Manager took very good care of us and ensured that we were their special guests.
the ride in the vintage jaguar is a different experience. the only drawback as such what I felt in the room was that there is no place to keep things. it has lack of space like a cupboard or some sort of space where things can be kept.
the room had a computer with internet enabled which was the first again that I have seen in a room.
will come back and stay here when I visit phnom penh

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is an oasis of calm and quiet among the noise and dust of Phnom Penh.

We stayed here twice, in a superior double room each time, and were very satisfied with the accommodation.

This was our first stop in Cambodia after a long journey and we enjoyed sitting in the shade by the pool and simply relaxing.

Service was excellent. All the staff were helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#16 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion is small charming accommodation located next to the Royal Palace in Phnom Penh. The main building is a 1920 colonial villa surrounded by a large exotic garden with a swimming pool and an outdoor bar/restaurant serving day-beds located around the pool - all covered by free wi-fi. Rooms are minimalist, four of which having each their own private plunge pools and one a jacuzzi. Hot water comes from solar panels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.