We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely shady oasis in a hot city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pavilion
Save
You added The Pavilion to your Saves list
227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely shady oasis in a hot city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved this hotel hidden behind a high wall in a great location - it provided a calm environment after a busy day. It was also conveniently located close to a wide range of restaurants, bars and the Grand Palace and within walking distance of the river.

We booked one of the rooms with a small pool but we actually spent a lot of time sitting in the huge shaded sun chairs by the main pool, which was fabulous, sampling the cocktails. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable with a good sized bed. It was also useful to have access to a PC in the room.

Breakfast consisted of fresh bread, croissant, fruit juice, fruit and tea/coffee, which was actually enough for me but there was also a selection of extras that you could order from the menu. I tried the muesli while my partner enjoyed different types of egg every morning.

Staff were lovely, helpful and efficient - from the reception staff to the waiters, the cleaners and porters - they couldn't do enough. Reception staff organised our boat trip on the river and our minibus from Phnom Penh to the next stop on our trip - Siem Reap.

Things we enjoyed in the city;
Our tuk tuk driver from outside the hotel - who was a real gem and looked after us on our visits to the killing fields, prison S21 and the markets.
Our morning cookery class at the Frizz restaurant
Visiting the Grand Palace
Watching the traffic at Ruby's wine bar (on the corner of our road)
Eating at the Chinese House, the Plantation and the Karma restaurant
Trying a massage at the hotel and at Bliss just round the corner

We had a lovely stay here and were really sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    399
    72
    33
    14
See reviews for
126
871
130
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful, seems like an old villa transformed into boutique hotel. Very modest looking to the street as it is surrounded by wall, only small sign by the door in the wall tells you there is a hotel. Our room was in the main building, tiled floor, simply but nicely decorated, good bed.

Beatiful garden with pool and bar/restaurant by the pool. Good breakfast. They also offer one short complimentary massage, which feels very good after long day in the city.

On departure the porter boys seemed to be very eager to get the customers in any car out of the hotel, if we hadn't checked and double checked we'd have gone into wrong car and ended up who knows where.

Expensive to general price level, though very positive and nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed at, the tiny wooden door set in a high wall gives no clues to the paradise within. At the front of the hotel is a shimmering pool surrounded by dense foliage, and at night these are subtly lit, giving the whole place an otherworldly look completely different to the bustling city right outside. Despite this, the hotel is only about 100m from Street 240, the most fashionable street in Phnom Penh, with great shopping and dining options. Less than 5 minutes' walk onwards is the Royal Palace, National Museum and the nightlife of Sisowath Quay. No tuktuks for us, thanks, we walked everywhere!

Took the Garden Spa room, which was a spacious bungalow in a private tropical garden. All walls except in the bathroom were made of glass, shielded with heavy curtains, and with a high privacy fence on all sides. Bathroom was also clean and spacious. Going back to our room felt like retreating into a jungle hideaway. If anything, the spa wasn't heated which meant it was too cold to properly immerse ourselves in at night (which is hard to believe in the tropical heat, but true!) Breakfast is served by the poolside, with a good menu selection and lots of places to relax afterwards. Service at the restaurant and front desk was impeccable.

Room Tip: Didn't get to see the rooms in the old house or the newer building next door, but I can vouch fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Pavilion in PhnomPenh is ideally located right behind the Royal
Palace. The settings of the hotel are splendid and the staff is exceptionnal. Rooms are big, bright and comfortable. This is a beautiful base to start exploring Phnom Penh. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived at the pavilion after dark. The entrance to the hotel is a wooden door in a high wall running along a fairly nondescript street. The hotel lobby was little tired looking and at this stage I was wondering if I had made a bad mistake. The reception staff were welcoming and our welcome drink was real juice instead of the usual cordial concoction. Our room was a bungalow with its own private garden, like the lobby it was a little tired, particularly in the small bathroom. The room was clean and very comfortable. The free WIFI worked well in the room and each room had its own computer and desk. The rooms also contained the biggest flat screen TV I had seen in a hotel. The pool area is a gem, surrounded by a lush garden. Sitting in a poolside chair or eating breakfast by the pool is incredibly relaxing. Breakfast while delicious was very limited in choice. The Pavilion is in a great location walking distance or a two dollar tuk tuk ride from virtually all Phnom Penh’s attractions. There are couple of nice restaurants a short walk away in 240 Street. The charm of this hotel is never more evident than when you step through the wooden door into the beautiful garden, after a hot days touring of Phnom Penh’s sites, and the friendly staff and the promise of a swim in the hotel pool greet you. I read this review and the list of hotel limitations and I wonder why I liked the place so much; however if I return to Phnom Penh I will be staying at the Pavilion. I would particularly like to commend the reception staff who cheerfully accommodated all my requests and efficiently organised transport to and from Sihanoukville.

Room Tip: There is a big variation in rooms our party ordered two standard rooms $60 each. Our bungalow room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Pavillion looks exactly like it does in the pictures on their website, it is beautiful!

The staff are VERY friendly, and full of helpful information and suggestions (if asked). The service is a very "old school" style, with lots of "Yes Madam's" and "Yes Sir's". The bartender makes a perfect margarita (of all things!). They were able to help us arrange an excellent driver to take us to Kep. Rooms are cleaned and made up daily.

It is located less than 10 minutes walking from the Grand Palace, in a neighbourhood that has some trendy shops and boutiques.

The food is only OK, we only ate one meal there and it wasn't great but maybe we just got them on an off night. It didn't matter much as there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Breakfasts are included and are plentiful.

Although the main pool is absolutely gorgeous (as pictured) it was really great to get one of the private pool rooms and for only a small extra cost it seems almost silly not to.

Complimentary massages were a nice touch.

Room Tip: Get a private pool room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location, great value. Friendly staff, who just can't do enough for your. Had a room with a private plunge pool and loved every minute of that experience. Beautiful entrance, pool and garden setting.
Food was fine.
They were doing up the gym while we were there so there was a little bit of construction noise but they did pre warn us and provided a free drink of an evening and massage for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with a plunge pool. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#16 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion is small charming accommodation located next to the Royal Palace in Phnom Penh. The main building is a 1920 colonial villa surrounded by a large exotic garden with a swimming pool and an outdoor bar/restaurant serving day-beds located around the pool - all covered by free wi-fi. Rooms are minimalist, four of which having each their own private plunge pools and one a jacuzzi. Hot water comes from solar panels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.