We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pavilion to your Saves list
The Pavilion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good but room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the pool room for 3 nights towards the end of January. The hotel staff were very pleasant and always made an effort to say hello. Check in was swift and hassle free. We were taken to our room and were shown around by the reception staff member. My first impression....I just couldn't help feeling slightly underwhelmed. The pool was covered in leaves (which I spent 20 mins cleaning myself) and I felt that generally the place could do with a lick of paint. The bed was comfy, the air conditioning was great and the mosquito nets a welcome addition though. Breakfast was poor to be honest so we only had it the once. Plenty tuk tuks outside to take you about and there is a rough pricing guide near to the exit so you know how much to haggle. Overall the hotel was nice but I can't help feeling it could do with some improvements mainly a freshening up!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Many thanks for this kind review. I am sorry about the feeling we gave you that we were not sufficiently maintaining the property. It is indeed not easy to come regularly inside the room to remove the leaves from the bamboos in the private pools, so we just do it once a day. We have cut some of the bamboos in order to limit the amount of leaves, but I feel sad cutting them all... As for the rest of the maintenance, we have recruited an expatriate to coordinate all the daily works, so I hope it will be better from now. Cheers, Alexis (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    417
    72
    33
    14
See reviews for
131
916
138
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed two times at the Pavilion-everything was perfect: friendly staff at the front desk, helpful and working efficiently. The rooms of this beautiful colonial villa were very clean with all the amenities you need for a convenient stay (especially free Wi-Fi). Enjoying the delicious breakfast at the poolside in the beautiful garden was a highlight. No noise from outside of the villa. The main attractions of Phom Penh attractions are within easy walking distance (10 to 15 min) or can reached by Tuk-Tuk/moto. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The best value for money in Phnom Penh (or anywhere for that matter). I had a private pool room, and it was wonderful being able to get up and pop outside for a swim. The welcome at reception was very friendly and efficient. The garden pool is a real feature and it was delightful breakfasting by the pool; the breakfast was substantial, fresh passion fruit juice, fruit, toast and pastries and eggs, all within the room rate. Lunch was a short menu (foreign and Khmer), but tasty and substantial. I would strongly recommend anyone visiting PP to choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for one of the private pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The setting is what this is hotel is all about. When you come in through a small door off the street you enter a lovely courtyard which contains a nice swimming pool with big lounge beds under the trees. it is a nice place to relax away from the heat. The rooms themselves are not outstanding just average for the class but clean and comfortable. You ordered breakfast from a menu but you seemed to be able to have whatever you wanted on the menu so it should satisfy most people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pavilion is my favorite hotel among the places I've stayed in Cambodia. The garden pool has several areas to sit back, relax and enjoy a drink or two. The room was spacious with a huge balcony to boot! We were greeted by a very helpful and informative front desk personnel who not only did the usual welcome routine, but also went the extra mile by taking out a map and showing us places of interest within the area while sipping on fresh passionfruit juice. Check-in also comes with a free 25min massage which was expertly done and the best we got while we were in Cambodia. I always looked forward to breakfast at the Pavilion because their bread is delicious and they offer alternatives aside from eggs (pancakes, khmer fried rice, veggies, porridge, museli, etc.). In fact on our last day, the staff asked if we want to try more than one of their alternatives which was so kind of her. I highly recommend the Pavilion if you're looking for a quiet charming place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After a long and dusty drive from Siem Reap we arrived at dusk to this oasis in Phnom Penh. We loved it from the minute we arrived to teh minute we left. We stayed int he two bedroom suite with our two teenage kids for three nights and experienced wonderful hospitality, friendliness and great service. I would not stay anywhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIttsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at The Pavilion, we only wish that we could stay have stayed longer but they were full. The hotel pool was beautiful, and a relaxing end to a hot/dusty day in the city. The room (we were in the Garden Bungalow) was spacious and the staff at the hotel was top-notch. They were all very friendly and responsive; they helped us plan out a quick city tour and arranged for our bags to be transferred to our next hotel (their sister hotel, the 212 which was also very nice). Also, the massage at the spa was really great -- and at a really great price (w opted for the longer massage than the complimentary welcome option! We definitely recommend without reservations.

Room Tip: We loved the privacy and rustic-romantic feel of the garden bungalow....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pavilion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion is small charming accommodation located next to the Royal Palace in Phnom Penh. The main building is a 1920 colonial villa surrounded by a large exotic garden with a swimming pool and an outdoor bar/restaurant serving day-beds located around the pool - all covered by free wi-fi. Rooms are minimalist, four of which having each their own private plunge pools and one a jacuzzi. Hot water comes from solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.