We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pavilion
Save
You added The Pavilion to your Saves list
227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this gem of a hotel and are floored by every aspect of the experience & at such reasonable rates! Wow.
It is a beautiful heritage building, lushly green, a beautiful pool and rooms having a spa feel. The colors are warm, the fabrics used on the room are silk & linen, flower petals on the bed welcome you, welcome drinks, fruits & complimentary sangria at the pool side bar – to compensate for some construction work ! The décor in the lobby is so quaint & each room has its own private porch to sit out. The staff had the best English we found across 7 cities in Vietnam & Cambodia and were epitome of efficiency and graciousness.
Breakfast is fresh, plentiful with freshly baked bread, fresh juice and more.
The spa offered 30mt free massage – wow ! Though the spa quality per se was not best in class.

The bus tickets booked through the hotel cost the same as at a travel agent and we received excellent information & service.
Location wise, it is 15 minutes walk from the quay but close to Street 240, which has very interesting restaurants & boutiques.

This hotel was one of the best we experienced & I would want to go back to Phnom Penh – maybe only for staying there.

Room Tip: Pool view room on 1st floor may be better than ground floor rooms. Also look out for new rooms being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    398
    72
    33
    14
See reviews for
126
870
130
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battambang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Shortly, the rooms are in bad shape not only are they basic (concrete rack for your cloth no cover, no carpet or mat for the concrete tiled floor which always looks dirty due to his age and quality, Black silicon around the shower area etc..), nor really thouroughly cleaned. I like to stay in places where i know that the room is clean also in the areas where you dont see. Staff nice and welcoming, beakfast o.k. Pool is the only high light of this place.
Must be better somewhere else...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

After a fantastic trip up the Mekong from Vietnam to Phnom Penh, we were picked up by the hotel in their Classic Jag with airco and water on hand. Our Reception was warm and personal, the hotel clean, the room basic but with everything you need.
Lovely Pool and terrace - breakfast freshly cooked and healthy.
Near the Palace and the national museum, perect location.
The staff make this hotel - the smiles, the personalities - just lovely human beings!
Watch out girls - Jon and Ninja Tony will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have visited Cambodja last month and stayed for 2 nights in the Pavilion hotel. The value for money is great and the service as well. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. The breakfast and the pool are great. They also serve lunches, can arranged bus tickets, tuk tuk etc. The staff are extremely helpful and a massage is included! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

When you arrive at this beautiful boutique hotel with fabulous buildings it's strange to think how quiet it is when you step inside and off the busy streets outside. It is a really peaceful hotel with a great restaurant. We didn't use the spa here so can't comment on that but it looked very busy and was very cheap. We had a pool room which was great. Loved the bed and the pool. The bathroom was small and the toilet would be difficult for a larger person to use. The staff were very friendly and the renovations going on completely non intrusive. It is in a great location, close to the palace and a short Tuk tuk ride to many other destinations.

The restaurant is small (renovations are to the kitchen) but breakfast was really nice and we ate dinner there one night. The food was lovely. I had the beef bourignon which was sensational. The rooms here were a very good value for money. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in lot's of little extra's. The pool and gardens for breakfast is great and bar for evening drinks. Staff are 5 star very helpful, restaurants and bars within walking distance, tuk tuks outside of the hotel which has security and is very private.Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A rather small hotel with just everything you need to have a good stay. All rooms include a computer which is very useful when you don't have one. The pool is very pleasant as well as the bar in front of it. A great staff for a quite reasonable price and the location is fine.

Room Tip: The garden suite near the pool with a small private corner is worth trying..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#16 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion is small charming accommodation located next to the Royal Palace in Phnom Penh. The main building is a 1920 colonial villa surrounded by a large exotic garden with a swimming pool and an outdoor bar/restaurant serving day-beds located around the pool - all covered by free wi-fi. Rooms are minimalist, four of which having each their own private plunge pools and one a jacuzzi. Hot water comes from solar panels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.