We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phnom Penh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Phnom Penh Hotel to your Saves list
Phnom Penh Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Monivong Boulevard, Sangkat Srah Chok | PO Box 1131, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 222 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in March on business. The property is a bit old and rooms are a bit cramped. Not very well maintained. Check-in and check-out was easy and staff very friendly especially at the gym. Breakfast and breakfast room was also nice. The property also has some good banquet rooms where we had some meetings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    109
    70
    31
    22
See reviews for
22
64
28
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really there was nothing about this hotel that was good. There was very little ambiance although you expect that in a larger hotel but the things that really rang alarm bells was the lack of English spoken by wait staff and the food was not good (most unusual in Asia). At one point my husband wanted scrambled eggs and waited in line at the egg station for ages only to give up. When he complained that wait staff organised an order - although scrambled eggs arrived for two rather than one. They were inedible. In the restaurant you constantly had to give an order twice because the wait person did not understand you and the manager had to come over and clarify. Very good that they did so but a little frustrating after the first couple of times.
The rooms, although cleaned every day, often had evidence of the cleaners remaining such as a long black hair in the bathtub. It may be unfortunate for this hotel that every other hotel we stayed in while touring Vietnam and Cambodia was superlative and the contrast was just too obvious and it may be that Phnom Penh itself was not really to our taste but regardless this hotel fell short.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Helpful staff with good welcome but we do not meet our expectation. However, this hotel has large room with hygienic and has many conference rooms. This is good for traveler who come for business purpose.

Room Tip: I should recommend for business traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Most budget conscious hotel I have ever been in. First up, no free wifi anywhere. We have travelled SE Asia extensively and there is free wifi in every hotel, restaurant and bar we have been except for this place.

In the room all the settings are at minimum so every time you go back in you have to turn up the lights etc.

Staff are surly, poorly trained and have little English.

I could go on but because I have no wifi in the hotel I am typing this at a local bar where there is free wifi.

Do not stay there! Tell your friends! Do not stay there. Worst hotel I have ever been in!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel was great. Value for money. Clean, well furnished. Rooms large, bathrooms clean and good. Updated fittings etc.
We spent one night in this hotel. No complaints. Staff very cooperative. I had to make a phone call to a local friend and did not know where to begin. Th customer service person came to my aid
Got the call through and let me contact my friend. The general staff was able to communicate in English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here on business for 12 nights in June 2013. I was first in a room on the 2nd floor above the bar and could sing along with the songs the Philippino group played at night, and the hot water supply was on and off. Construction is going on all night long in neighbouring lot adding some noise. I was changed rooms and things were a lot better for the noise dept, but the hot water supply was still touch and go.

Otherwise, it's a fine enough place, staff are friendly in general, rooms large and there is a large selection of restaurants in the hotel, plus a decent and much cheaper local place just across the street out of the back exit of the hotel (e.g. $5 instea of $20 for a meal). Internet service can be slow in the rooms - skype was only good for chatting.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool might be quieter, away from the street noise - which isn't too bad. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Convenient location with easy walking to Central Market.
Good buffet for lunch, with ample good food.
Pool was closed for the majority of my trip, but was reopening soon. Looked like it would be great.
Gym looks pleasing to the eye, but is hot, terribly hot. So much so that could only work out for short periods of time. Needs airconditioner with door closed and circulating fans.
Had room opposite new construction occurring outside. Very very noisy from early in the morning to late at night. poor sleep.
Wifi left a lot to be desired. Poor connection in room, but good connection downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phnom Penh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phnom Penh Hotel

Address: 53 Monivong Boulevard, Sangkat Srah Chok | PO Box 1131, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 222 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phnom Penh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phnom Penh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phnom Penh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.