We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace view room is all that and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FCC Phnom Penh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added FCC Phnom Penh to your Saves list
FCC Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   363 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Orange, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Palace view room is all that and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

This was my fourth trip to Cambodia, this time bringing my wife along to explore the country. Normally I do the backpack thing and stay in guest houses, but wanted my wife to have a more comfortable experience. FCC had the Palace View room available, why not, sounds good, the pictures looked good. Upon our arrival and check-in we were walked around the corner to another separate little 2 storey flat. At first I was a bit apprehensive, but after entering through the wrought iron double locked gate, up the stairs and to our room, I quickly realized we had this entire building to ourselves...we did in fact have our very own little house in Phnom Penh, with rooftop patio. The building has a 24hr security guard for those who are concerned with safety and security. This place couldn't have been more perfect if I dreamt it! The staff, ambiance and everything about the stay at FCC was incredible. I highly recommend FCC to enhance their Cambodia experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    107
    69
    26
    8
See reviews for
30
111
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

On 31 October 2009 we stayed at The Quay hotel in Phnom Penh. This hotel was very good: nice room, everything was working and clean etc.

There The Quay hotel did not had any rooms on 4 November we went to their sister hotel: FCC Phnom Penh.

We were with 4 adults and booked 2 rooms at FCC. Our stay there was very disappointing there:
- The hotelroom door was located on the street (so easy access for thiefs, there the doors are very easy to open there they do not have a proper lock) or on the hall of the bar and restaurant (were everybody passes)
- At night we heard a lot of noise from traffic in one room or a lot of noise from the visitors of the bar in the other room. The windows also do not close properly.
- The water of the shower was cold (and not warm)
- The batteries of the safe deposit box were empty

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed for three nights at the FCC at the start of our trip to Cambodia. We stayed on K'bal Spean room on the first floor, which was massive with a good bathroom. We had requested an extra bed in the room which had not been done when we arrived. The main draw back of this room is as it is over the entrance / reception room all the noise from the tuk tuk drivers is directly below you and carries on until around 1am.
The food and bar area is nice and the breakfast provided is great. Some nice features but definately on the pricey side for PP.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Despite having been here for less than 20 years, the FCC somehow manages to pull off a patina of historical. The good bits: good location, great dining spot for the balcony, 5-7 happy hour is pretty good, staff are friendly and a few are stand out efficient and take things seriously. Ambiance is nice and the pace in the town is what we liked - great to hang on the restaurant/bar floor and just observe the river and the street, etc. Good breakfast, especially if you need a few extra pounds :), interesting people come in and out. It is clean and seemed reliable. T

he bad part, and we stayed in Ta Promh (room name) for US$80 per night: the pool table upstairs is directly above this room and it is noisy. The air con in this room didn't work properly and made noises toward the end of our stay; a good candidate for chemical cleaning. Food and such is costly in comparison to everything around it and the food isn't all that great.

The bottom line is, I would stay there for $60 but not for $80.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is a very elegant hotel. A bit on the expensive side but still dont regret it for value we got.. has a great restaurant for breakfast. good view of the river.. centrally located.

Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Positives - big room, great breakfast, good location and views, service generally pretty good.

Negatives - bathroom a bit disappointing, shower flooding, small scraps of soap that didn't replace on 2nd day.
- service bit hit and miss, we had to call and talk for a while to explain we didn't have bath towels. obviosuly our room wasn't properly made up because there was only a sheet on bed (2nd day a blanket joined it)
- some noise from people going to restaurant/bar (ban shray room in main building). it was bareable, but a bit annoying
- ridiculous low lights hang over bed - get up in the night and forget = concussion (joking)!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Unlike Pavilion, FCC has no pools, but FCC is a place with the actions, with travellers come in and out of the restaurant upstairs, you can feel the energy and the passion of the old colonial days. The room is skillfully decorated, with spacious bathroom. Although we have found few cockroaches during our stay (you just cannot avoid them when you are in SE Asia), overall we are pleased with the room. But the biggest seller is their breakfast - what a treat sitting in the open balcony overlooking the river! This is heaven if compared to the just two poor toasts offered by Kabiki.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FCC Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Phnom Penh

Address: 363 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — FCC Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers sweeping views of the Mekong River and all the comforts demanded of today's modern traveler.Renovated from a French colonial-era villa, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers spacious, comfortable rooms overlooking the Mekong River to the east and the National Museum to the west. Each boutique hotel room is meticulously outfitted with high-speed Internet access and the latest modern conveniences.The FCC restaurant and bar are just upstairs, room service is at your door, and the intriguing cityscapes that define Phnom Penh are just outside.stepping outCentrally located, shopping and nightlife venues along the riverfront are plentiful. The Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and National Museum are all in walking distance from the hotel.In addition to the attractions, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel also offers easy access to several nearby sister companies, including Cafe Fresco, a coffee shop and deli located downstairs at the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your FCC Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh
Fcc Hotel Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Fcc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FCC Phnom Penh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.