We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid avoid its 2013 not 2005” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Flamingos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flamingos Hotel
#30 Street 172 | Sangkat Phsar Tmei 3, Phnom Penh 12210, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 203 hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid avoid its 2013 not 2005”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have used this hotel over the years numerous times but this was the final straw when I visited in 2006 it was a nice hotel then every year it has gone down hill. My last visit was in 2009 pior to this and that was the last time but due to arrival time it would have done. Now there is no cafe the place smells of mould and that's before you have entered your room. My room smelt of mould the bed sheets had clearly not been changed poor to the 6 or so short time customer's before me, ash trays still full from previous, and you will not sleep till at least 6am there are clubs bars playing music a stones throw away that will rattle the rooms. People give the place a wide birth I was at one time happy to say I stayed here pay the extra $2 go for a "Walkabout" then your "Blue tongue" will drop out. ;)

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    40
    24
    8
    18
See reviews for
1
10
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

flamingos hotel has a very nice staff, always helpful, clean and comfortable rooms, a passable breakfast included, and a central location! i have stayed there more than a few times, and was never disappointed. walking distance to the central market, and for a buck, your on the riverside..on station right outside the hotel,the tuk tuk drivers are the same bunch of guys, and get to know you fast! always take you where you want to go directly, and never try to rip you off.. all in all, a good place to stay in phnom penh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock,il
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

if you are on a budget and aren't a NGO worker this is the place for you. reasonable prices for a small but clean room with AC. Breakfast and airport transfer INCLUDED! friendly and helpful staff and top floor bar has a great view of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I used to stay in this hotel many times for the very friendly staff and its location but this was my last time unless they make it new ! My first room was flooded by rain through the ceiling during the night and the second room (I changed, of course) had the aircon leaking ! It's a fairly cheap hotel but this is too much and there are plenty of new hotels around with similar prices and even quieter.
Good bye Flamingos, I used to like you very much ...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

More suited to singles as it is in the heart of all the night life and girlie bars , but the staff were very good and fiendly , breakfast not bad , very nice coffee , you can order extras off the menu . Our room was a 25.00 room but all the ameneties , including good wi fi and airconditioing .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Like the previous reviewer (Dipper) I have also stayed at this hotel many times been happy with service but quite disappointed with my visit this time. I had to change rooms after one week because the air con packed up and they had to wait for spares. The room I changed to the wardrobe door would close properly, I repaired myself. The bedside lamp did not work and the maintenance man took a while checking it. Why he did not just change with spare beats me, as thats what he did in the end after all his to and froing. Wi fi was terrible but was informed on checking out that they change provider. The cleaning standard has also slipped. I did negotiate a discount for my troubles but had to push. The front of house staff were very good and apologetic about the problems, special mention to Achoo, hope I spell her name correct. I did check a couple of other hotels in area for my next visit.

Room Tip: Stay towards back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed here about 6 times in the past but it has gradually fallen into decline .
I had to move out to another hotel this trip I will not be returning ( unless the place has a refurb)

Pros, friendly desk staff, free airport pick up.

Cons , very dirty, badly maintained rooms and lift (The smell is awful), noisy at night ( music from nearby clubs),Wi-Fi signal comes and goes.

The last time I checked in I was given the dirtiest room I have ever seen in a hotel and believe me I have stayed in a lot of cheap places in my time.

It is a shame I used to like staying at the Flamingos

Room Tip: If you must stay get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingos Hotel

Address: #30 Street 172 | Sangkat Phsar Tmei 3, Phnom Penh 12210, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 203 hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Flamingos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingos Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.