We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, and you feel like ay home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anise Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anise Villa to your Saves list
Anise Villa
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Value for money, and you feel like ay home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I spent one month at this fantastic boutique hotel. Being there for business I spent a lot of time in the hotel also during weekends. The rooms were always very well cleaned, the staff is polite and competent, and tries to foresee guests needs before they arise. The rooms are nice and well equipped and with comfortable beds. A nice swimming pool and great food (both Khmer and european) - top notch.

Room Tip: If you are planning to spend a lot of time in the room the catch is to avoid the rooms at the 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    34
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
59
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our experience at the Anise Villa was wonderful. From the modern rooms (and clean, relaxing, hot showers), to the poolside seating, to the food, the stay was great from beginning to end. If I could find an Anise Villa at the end of every travel day, life would be divine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great little hotel. Friendly staff, clean, modern. .

Similar in style and price to The 252 - The 252 is in a slightly better location and has a nicer pool area, I had a massive roof terrace at Anise and everything is brand spanking new as it's only just opened. Swings and roundabouts.

Bars/restaurants that are local to Anise Villa weren't that great but it's only a 15/20 minute walk to Palace / FCC area, which is pretty much perfect after a meal of drinks. If you;re feeling lazy, 5 minutes on a moto, $1

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

In the middle of traffic jam and dusty roads, this little oasis hides behind a tall wall giving you a true surprise as soon as you enter the gate. The pool is surrounded by a few canopy sun beds and a few breakfast tables, with the bar serving food and excellent $2 cocktails during happy hour. The atmosphere is simply fantastic here and the food and drinks were actually the best we had in Phnom Penh!!! Staff was very helpful and there's even free laundry service available on a day-to-day basis. Rooms were clean and very spacious. We will definitely return to Anice Villa if in Phnom Penh again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was first time to Cambodia. We stayed in this hotel 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room is very nice, spacious with many facilities. It also has a great pool and a nice bar and restaurant with good food. The menu is limited but the food is organic and good. We ate and had drinks next to the pool. Happy hour was great value for the money. The staff was very helpful and informative. They provided us a lot of information as well as some travel tips. Good hotel for everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Phnom Penh can be a shock and Anise Villa was quiet, clean and conveniently located in the otherwise chaotic PP. Tuk tuks were always available and it was actually enjoyable to ride 10-15 mins to evening restaurants. We hired cars for the other tours and were really glad that we did. Hotel staff always asked us where we wanted to go and then translated to the drivers and we had no issues. The staff were all very attentive and efficient, room was clean and 5 free pieces of laundry per guest each day, are you kidding me?! That was awesome! Great value, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent service provided by the staff there. It a good place for people who wish to have a quiet place to relax after touring or a hetic day at work.All request are promply attended to by their friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Villa

Address: #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh! Once known as the Pearl of Asia, it is now a vibrant Southeast Asian city of over 2 million people. After a full day of exploration where exciting new sights, sounds and scents have competed for your attention, come back home to Anise Villa, and let us care for all your needs in our sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Located on a quiet street of BKK1, a popular area among NGOs and expatriates, we are just a 5 to 10-minute tuk-tuk ride away from all of Phnom Penh's major attractions. Designed by Cambodian and French trained architect, Chea Sopanha, Anise Villa exemplifies a new vision and trend in contemporary Cambodian architecture marrying perfectly local elements with Western comfort. Anise Villa is also richly decorated with our own private collection of contemporary Cambodian art by local and expatriate artists. With only 21 rooms to ensure at once intimacy and privacy, Anise Villa is managed by the same trusted team as the Anise Hotel bringing you a professional and dedicated English speaking staff to make you feel right at home. So let yourself be transported by the warmth of true Khmer hospitality while enjoying the comfort of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Despegar.com so you can book your Anise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anise Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.