We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anise Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anise Villa to your Saves list
Anise Villa
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Clearlake, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Anise Villa. The hotel has a beautiful pool which is great for a family with kids. In the morning, we were treated to a delicious breakfast as we sat around all the beautiful trees near the pool. I asked the staff what kind of trees they were, and they told me they were mango, papaya, passion fruit, jasmin, frangipani, and jack fruit trees.

Mr. Leat who works at the front desk was very accommodating and helpful. He arranged for our pick up from the Phnom Penh International Airport, and gave us a great promotional price for an elegant room with a big terrace on the 3rd floor. Everyday, the housekeeping staff did such wonderful job, it made us feel like this was our second home. We left our dirty laundry in a basket in the morning and by the time we got back to the hotel in the afternoon, it was laundered and pressed.

The hotel is at walking distance from many coffee shops, fashion outlets, and spas. It is also close to a traditional market where we did a lot of our shopping while in Phnom-Penh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    23
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
37
17
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. I was actually on a business trip with my organisation and the staff were very much helpful. I highly recommend this place to people who would like to organise a meeting in this hotel as they will take care of everything that you need. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwara Eliya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A shame that the hotel was fully booked, but we ate lunch here three times as our daughter loved the staff and the swimming pool and it was so convenient.

We looked around the rooms and they were lovely and well-priced at around $50 for family a/c. The family who run it are really nice and professional and the decor is simple and stylish. We would have loved to stay there and hope to if we visit Phnom Penh in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Currently a guest here and leaving tomorrow. We've had 3 great nights here so far and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is finished to a high standard.

We were kindly upgraded on arrival and the room is great. They have some thoughtful touches like book and dvd borrowing and free daily laundry delivered to your door, and the food is superb. Get the dumplings!

On the downside, there are a few things that i feel could be improved to make it perfect. The floors are all stone and marble so it can be noisy from 7am onwards with people going up and down the stairs. We've also been woken up every morning before 9am by the sound of drilling and hammering (including new year's day). I think they're still snagging as it's a new hotel but there should be consideration for late sleepers.

There's only one mirror in the room and it's a head and shoulders mirror in the bathroom. Not great for checking what you're wearing or if someone else is in the bathroom while you're trying to get ready. We have access to a roof terrace, which gives us some outside space but there's no seating so it's a bit redundant. The pool only has two loungers and doesn't get much sun. It's a bit exposed to all and everyone. Would be better if it was made more private with trees, as it's beside reception and the entrance.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. We'll be back to Phnom Pehn and would stay here again for sure.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Anise Villa is the brand new sister property of Anise Hotel. As we were the first guests to arrive we were made to feel special. The warm and friendly staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough to make us feel like family. The room we had was more than big enough for 3 adults and the bathroom was big and clean. We liked it so much we chose to spend our last nght in Phnom Penh after a week away there. Because it is brand new the fitness centre and day spa were not up and running yet, but that didn't matter to us. The food was great, the drinks were cheap, it has a lovely pool and gift shop and you get 5 items of laundry per person done free each day. The owner accepted the feedback we offered and when we returned for our last night any small issues had been speedily remedied. The front of house staff organised all our transport needs even a car down to Kampot. Overall we had a great time and we look forward to coming back to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Villa

Address: #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh! Once known as the Pearl of Asia, it is now a vibrant Southeast Asian city of over 2 million people. After a full day of exploration where exciting new sights, sounds and scents have competed for your attention, come back home to Anise Villa, and let us care for all your needs in our sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Located on a quiet street of BKK1, a popular area among NGOs and expatriates, we are just a 5 to 10-minute tuk-tuk ride away from all of Phnom Penh's major attractions. Designed by Cambodian and French trained architect, Chea Sopanha, Anise Villa exemplifies a new vision and trend in contemporary Cambodian architecture marrying perfectly local elements with Western comfort. Anise Villa is also richly decorated with our own private collection of contemporary Cambodian art by local and expatriate artists. With only 21 rooms to ensure at once intimacy and privacy, Anise Villa is managed by the same trusted team as the Anise Hotel bringing you a professional and dedicated English speaking staff to make you feel right at home. So let yourself be transported by the warmth of true Khmer hospitality while enjoying the comfort of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Anise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anise Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.