We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Diamond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   172-184 Monivong Blvd, Sangkat Phsar Thmey II, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12209, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Large comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is just a short ride in a tuk tuk from the river and main attractions. If you want to be away from the hustle of the river this was really nice. The staff is very accommodating and the included breakfast is adequate to start your day. The rooms are very large as is the bathroom. The elevator is quite small but we managed just fine with our group and others in the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
9
13
21
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Diamond hotel.
Staff were helpful and rooms were huge and well appointed.
Great breakfast included.
Elevator is small but they were building a new larger one when we were there.
Tuk Tuk to the river area was only a couple of $.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice but dated hotel, used by a lot of our groups.

The location is a bit far out from town. Although it's on a main street, the only nearby attraction is the central market. Anything else - the palace, riverfront, temples etc - is a tuk tuk ride away, though it's only a dollar per person.

Our room overlooked the street and had a massive billboard light shining in when we tried to sleep. The curtain didn't fit the window so we had to pin it shut with our bags. We also had very noisy aircon that kept us awake and the safety deposit box isn't bolted down so you could carry it out of the room!

Good points:
- Breakfast was a decent buffet in the hotel lobby.
- Staff were nice and friendly.
- Rooms are very spacious.

Bad points:
- The lifts are tiny and only fit two people, so be prepared to get tired of queueing and use the stairs every day. They are currently upgrading the hotel with a new lift so hopefully it will improve soon.
- Wifi only worked in reception

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. It was ok with an average breakfast, free wifi and quite large rooms. The hotel is dated and elevator is very small and slow. There are renovations in progress to address these issues. You may wish to find something closer to the attractions and restaurants on the river as this is about a 20 minute walk from that area. It is located on a busy street in a commercial area with few amenities for tourists nearby. It is very close to the central market.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a hotel for group tourist ok... if for honeymoon, romance and business trip..I think please skip it. I feel a good service only but the room that I stayed was named luxury type... I think just a big size only. Interior and bathroom are quite lower than I expected

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel was under construction when I travelled to Phnom Penh. The elevators were extremely small and slow, but I think they were constructing new ones, which will be good for other guests.

Rooms were spacious. Comfortable pillows. Beds were a little hard. Staff was friendly. The breakfast was pretty decent. These guys had a chef making omelettes and eggs to your liking.

A little out of the way for most attractions in the city but its only a short tuk tuk away. Overall, it's a good place for budget travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by the size of the room for a budget hotel. Very close to Central Market and not that far from some major sites like the national museum, either on foot or by tuk tuk. Hotel is still under renovation and they were working in the hallway on my floor, but I noticed they'd thoughtfully stuffed towels under each door to keep the dust in the rooms down. G Adventures really does a nice job of finding clean, quiet and comfortable hotels that are right in the middle or close to the interesting parts of town. The staff are friendly, although when I mentioned that the room safe wasn't bolted down and that I wanted my passport kept in their hotel safe I got quite an argument from one of them about how this wasn't necessary as their CCTV would catch anyone carrying a safe down the hallway. (I ended up keeping my passport in a hidden compartment in my luggage for this hotel stay.) The free wi-fi was pretty weak in my room. I got a much stronger signal from the hotel across the street - I probably should have asked for their password! Good breakfast, although there was a large group of business types staying there and the kitchen kept running out of coffee/tea cups and took ages to get a batch washed and out again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel

Address: 172-184 Monivong Blvd, Sangkat Phsar Thmey II, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12209, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIAMOND HOTEL is a 3 stars hotel which centrally located on Monivong Blvd., And in the heart of Phnom Penh city , Kingdom of Cambodia. Only few minutes by a walk-you able to reach to Central market, restaurant, bank, conference center and the shopping center in Phnom Penh. Diamond hotel has comprise of 80 comfortable guest rooms with wooden decoration style. Tourists and business travelers will enjoy our services and facilities in traditional Cambodian hospitality at DIAMOND HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.