We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, style and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himawari Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Himawari Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Himawari Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia (Formerly MiCasa Hotel Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Comfort, style and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This hotel is just right for where it is. On the banks of the Mekong River, it's got views and a terrace where you can have drinks on the river. The hotel itself is clean -- tile floors throughout which is most appropriate in the humid tropics, and the staff will take off their shoes before entering your room.

The rooms are spacious and the bathroom quite good. Lots of storage -- there was a kitchenette -- it's clearly set up for longer stays.

Bed was very comfortable and there was a great desk, narrow but the length of the wall, i.e. a few meters. Great for sorting out the various electronics.

The pool is fabulous: clean, a good 25 metres, and open early.

Restaurant is good and with a variety of food. You can get soup with vegetables at a reasonable price.

Only possible thing to fault the hotel is the old CRT TV, but in just about every other respect this is absolutely top notch.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    144
    37
    12
    7
See reviews for
56
88
24
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My partner & i stayed here for 2 nights & what a welcome sight it was ,we were on a speed boat coming up the river from having been in Vietnam for 5 days .
As we passed the Himawari we both said wish that was our hotel ! Great location right on the river . It was the one we had booked with Agoda
As the Tuk Tuk driver dropped us off and we made our way to check in and a welcome drink was brought
The luggage was taken care of ,nothing was too much trouble .
The room was spacious ,bright & airy . There was a kitchen with everything you could possibly want if you wanted to eat in . Ironing board which was a god send having been traveling .
The toilet wouldnt stop filling up so we let reception know & went out to eat at one of the many restaurants & bars up the river ,on our return the toilet had been fixed & extra towels & toiletries brought to the room .
There was a great breakfast selection & eggs any way you like .
The pool had plenty of sun lounges around it .
You can sit out in the garden & watch all the activity on the river .
We took a tuk- tuk from out side the hotel to S21 & the killing fields & agreed the price before hand. That was for half aday .
The hotel arranged one of there minibuses just to take us to the airport ,it was there waiting for us up on check out.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed with our 2 children (aged 1 and 6) in a 2 bedroom apartment.
The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The best part was the location - just a short stroll to the main town, along the river.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in October 2010 for a stop over.
Good location being along the river and an easy walk to the local restaurants.
The drinks were good and the waitress service very good. You can have a drink and food out on the side of the river or alternatively in their restaurant bar.
We ate in the hotel for the time we were there (dinner and breakfast). The food choice was acceptable as was the quality but it wasnt something to rave about.
Rooms were roomy and clean and having a small kitchen it would be very suitable for a longer stay. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel. It was quiet despite being next to the road and being on the driveway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I was upgraded to a two bedroom suit (well I paid an extra $20!) and had five nights here.

The rooms are huge, with reasonable intenet connection, very clean and more space than I could use. I wasn't over impressed by the resturant but it is a short walk to a lot of possibilities along the river.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

While it is not five star luxury it is good value and very functional.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Having visited Phnom Penh for work on a number of times over the last few years, the Himawari is now my first choice (second goes to Cambodiana - what a great pool).
I like the Him. because the rooms are big and uncluttered and it is only one open door away from fresh air. Other hotels make me feel a bit claustrophobic with the sealed air con all the way to the foyer door (see my review of the Nagaworld)
The wooden parquetry floors are kept squeaky clean (literally - my shoes squeak on these floors) which is for me much nicer than the murky unknowns hidden in carpets.
The other selling point for me is the pool. I also really like the small breakfast/dining room and the buffet breakfast has a pretty good selection.
For a tourist it has a good and fairly quiet location and is within a short tuk-tuk ride to the riverside area.
I'd love to get a room on the 5th or 6th floor that overlooked the river or the city, but it was fine on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We are a couple in our 20's and found everyone in this hotel was 50+ years old which wouldn't be a bad thing if they didn't all think they were so posh and no one spoke to one another. We thought we'd splurge a bit and stay somewhere nice but it turned out that on our trip to Cambodia the less money you spend the better time you will have! too quiet!

On a different note though, the location was good. Short along the water to town. Don't be fooled by the word "suite" we booked the Himawari suite which looked onto the hotel next door where there was construction going on all day. when we asked to be moved the staff at front desk told us they were full and couldn't move us to a room overlooking the water.

Another tip, don't use the drivers out the front of the hotel. Use one of the local guys in town you will get a better deal.

Food was nice, nice enough rooms, nothing to really write home about for the expense!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Himawari Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himawari Hotel Apartments

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia (Formerly MiCasa Hotel Apartments)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#16 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Himawari Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the idyllic setting of Tonle Sap River, banks of the Chaktomok River, be immersed by the essence of serenity at Himawari Hotel Apartments; a five-star establishment. Enjoy splendid views of Mekong Delta in a tranquil resort haven. Be pampered in the Himawari Suites and Apartments where you can enjoy the privacy and comfort of home. Take pleasure in our hospitality as we lavish upon you within the alluring sanctuary. The close proximity to most Embassies and Ministries makes a perfect choice for the discerning business travellers. Leisurely, our location pairs scenic beauty of the Royal Palace and the National Museum, rendering the cultural jewels of Phnom Penh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Himawari Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himawari Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himawari Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.