We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himawari Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Himawari Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Himawari Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia (Formerly MiCasa Hotel Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 222 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Family Environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed here for four nights on a recent business trip in February. The room was spacious, although we had a bit of issue with the air-cond. In my opinion, the airconds were just not powerful enough to cool such spacious rooms.
Location was good - you could walk to the palace, and riverfront area. We ate at their restaurant one night, the food was pretty good.
My wife and kid loved the pool. Overall, good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for river-view rooms, though they may cost a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    129
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
54
69
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

As we pulled up at the hotel we were met by a young lady with a huge smile and a bright yellow flower in her buttonhole and it all went from there. We were taken to the room and told we had been upgraded. The room was well furnished - or more to the point rooms - a family of 4 could have lived there. We had 3 TVs, a DVD, a lounge area, dining area, full kitchen facility, very comfortable beds, 2 bathrooms, a washing machine and even a form one filled in for any maintenance requirement which would be acted upon on housekeeping's arrival. The courtesy of the staff extended to all of the restaurant people, the reception area and the business centre facility. The food available was first class; selection for breakfast would suit any age and any nationality and the evening restaurant either al a carte or buffet style was very good indeed. One small point both my wife and I liked is that the restaurant staff addressed us by name. The hotel sports facilities were very good having a large outdoor swimming pool, a gym and an excellent steam room which incidentally was one of the reasons why I chose this hotel. On the areas I have noted I would give this hotel 9.9 out of 10 and would recommend it without question. However, there are a few minor adjustments needed and sadly this was all in one area. The gym staff need to be reminded who the customers are and the pool area needs somebody to look after sunbeds as people were left to their own resources. Only if a boy was asked would a sunbed get organised.

Our next adventure on from the Himarawi was aborted and we returned to this hotel and we had a second stay. I can only say good about this very well run hotel making both stays most enjoyable in a city we had never been to before. I doubt whether I shall ever go to Phnom Penh again but one can rest assured if I did revisit I would stay at this hotel again as not only the stay was lovely but the location was good on the waterfront where everything appears to happen. We are a couple in our late 50s/early 60s globe trotting flashpackers and would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly to similar and families alike. My thanks to the Himarawi for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were fine but we would have preferred seats on the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Excellent location, great service and friendly staff. Rooms very clean, spacious and comfortable with small balcony. Pool very good - big - though changing rooms very small and uncomfortable. Overall an excellent hotel providing very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is second stay at Himawari. While rooms and staff generally good, the hotel is working out whether it wants to be party-central or a hotel. It does party functions which are allowed to be so noisy and loud, it is impossible during these events even to hear the TV. While the staff apologize, no action is taken.

Competition for hotels in Phnom Penh is intense, and there is much better value for places where noise is managed elsewhere.

A pity.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I would really like to highlight the kindness and compassion of this wonderful hotel when my mother passed away. My son and I had booked to stay in a 2 bedroom Himawari Hotel Apartment while attending a conference, when we had to rush overseas to my mother. The hotel were so kind to us. We can't wait to stay with them again later in the year. We cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We are staying at the Himawari for 6 weeks while in PP on business. We are in a 1 bedroom apartment which is very well appointed. The wardrobes are spacious and there are drawers for storage. Bathrooms are also spacious and kitchenettes have the necessary items for basic cooking. Breakfasts in the restaurant are superb, as is the gym and very large pool which is ideal for doing laps.
The staff are wonderful friendly, helpful AND caring - in fact, a few days ago, I heard a cat meowing - who appeared to be trapped on the 1st floor roof area. After speaking to security, maintenance initiated a check, which resulted in 3 workers taking off lots of roof tiles to rescue 2 tiny kittens. This was such a wonderful thing for these people to do.
I would highly recommend this hotel for either long or short stays and will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the riverside. If you want to sit on the balcony, best choose a room facing east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at the Himawari for 3 weeks in January 2012.

On arrival our greeting at reception was warm and friendly. The staff speak English well and provided us with a welcome drink. Check in was brief and friendly.

Our room was a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms, a laundry, a kitchen and a large living room with sofas and newish flat screen TV. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and large clean bathrooms. Each bedroom has a TV with satellite reception. We received a complimentary fruit basket and were provided with teas and coffees in a welcome pack. The view from our room was large coconut palm trees above the pool area and to the junction of 2 rivers behind the hotel. There is a daily buzz of activity of boats and ships going about their business.

The rooms could use a renovation, the enamel coat on the bath tub in the main ensuite was peeling off. In some areas the carpet was frayed or had holes in it. The furniture is a looking a little old and the TV's in the bedrooms are also quite old but effective. The DVD player in our lounge was not functioning properly.

The kitchen is a good sized and well equipped. There is an electic stove with a microwave but no oven or dishwasher. There is dishwashing materials provided but if you dont feel like washing up the staff will do it when they do their daily clean. The hot water system in the kitchen was a mystery to me, a brief shot of scolding hot water would come out and then quickly turn to cold water. If you want some more hot water, turn off the tap and repeat.

The ground floor is an open aired reception area that also contains the restaurant, gym and pool. The pool area is fabulous with a good sized (20 metres?) pool and an excellent kiddie pool. The pool area is shaded by umbrellas and coconut palm trees. There is also a kids playground (no fence to contain them and prevent them from going in the pool though) and a hot tub.

The gym looks ok to me as a non going gym type person. They have running machines, bikes, free weights and nautalus machines and a couple of TV's. Our room included gym membership and I think this applies to any guest.

The restaurant served a breakfast buffet with the ubiquitous omelette guy, french pastries and asian fare. The coffee is excellent. The staff at the restaurant are attentive, friendly and display initiative.

Overall, I rate this hotel highly. If you are planning a long stay in Phnom Penh or you are travelling with kids and prepared to pay a little more for some space and a good pool then I would recommend the Himawari. If you are travelling on a budget and plan to spend more time out of the hotel then there are probably better options around.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have a good view but are a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Himawari Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himawari Hotel Apartments

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 12207, Cambodia (Formerly MiCasa Hotel Apartments)
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#15 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#24 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Himawari Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the idyllic setting of Tonle Sap River, banks of the Chaktomok River, be immersed by the essence of serenity at Himawari Hotel Apartments; a five-star establishment. Enjoy splendid views of Mekong Delta in a tranquil resort haven. Be pampered in the Himawari Suites and Apartments where you can enjoy the privacy and comfort of home. Take pleasure in our hospitality as we lavish upon you within the alluring sanctuary. The close proximity to most Embassies and Ministries makes a perfect choice for the discerning business travellers. Leisurely, our location pairs scenic beauty of the Royal Palace and the National Museum, rendering the cultural jewels of Phnom Penh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Himawari Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himawari Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himawari Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.