We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but needs maintenance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nine to your Saves list
Hotel Nine
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 9 | #41, Phnom Penh 10110, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but needs maintenance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The nine hotel was a great location near to the major attractions. On the positive side, the location is great, the staff incredibly helpful, and the place is a very cool oasis I the middle of a very dusty city (when we were there). On the negative side, the hotel was obviously beautiful when new, but over the last few years the place has become a bit rundown. The rooms were generally very clean, but there was a fair build up of mould in the bathroom. The breakfast was great, except every day we were there we had to ask for bread .... Milk ..... Butter ......coffee ........

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiH9, General Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback! We have put all rooms in a rolling schedule based on your feedback. We thank you for bringing this issue to our attention and improving other guests stays with us. We invite you to stay with us again anytime. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    125
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
56
91
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff at Hotel Nine are great, friendly, helpful and willing to do any thing for you. The breakfast is nice, eggs cooked to your liking everyday and the standard fare is tasty. The pool while small, is very clean and refreshing. The cocktails and food at the evening 'happy hour' are delicious and great value. My only query is that it needs a tidy up. Broken tiles, walls that need repainting and new carpet would lift this place immeasurably. Don't be put off though; this place is trying and deserves a go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiH9, General Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback! We are currently doing a refresh of the rooms so you should check us out in a couple of months once these are complete. We thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My 17-year old son and I spent 4 nights at Hotel Nine around New Year's Eve. We really enjoyed this little oasis in a great location. Staff are very well trained, smiley, welcoming, friendly and so helpful. The place is very well run, clean, with a laid-back atmosphere. Lounges on each floor are a great idea. And tuk-tuk prices are only an indication! Bargain and you will get yourself a better deal! It is great to see Hotel Nine supporting SISHA. We do recommend this place :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiH9, General Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are very happy that you had such a wonderful time with us and lent a hand with SISHA! Follow us on our Facebook page and you should see a picture of your hand print. Thanks again for being an awesome guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and in a walking distance to many sightseeing spots.

Upon arriaval, the receptionist provided us with all useful information regarding how to go around and what is good to visit and provided us with a little pamplet which included map , transportatin and some usefu khmer phrase.

The room is lovely and the hotel itself has a nice open air atmosphere and also a little pool nexr to hotel restaurant and bar.

The breakfast is good with egg of your choice and other usual food you may find in any hotel. The staff is very friendly.

This hotel is a partner of Child Protection Network as Cambodian kids are victimised by paedophile from all over the world, please feel free to make small donation to them

Tip: the transportation service provided by the hotel will be slightly more pricey than what you find on the strwet yoursef (i.e. Pick up from bus station to hotel, the hotel price will be 7$ while we got 4$ by ourselves, whole day rul-tuk ride ro iilling field and some attraction in the city will be 25$, while we got 20$ with our nice driver who was very attentive and ok english (he even bought us masks on the way to the Killing Field as the rod was really dusty without asking us to pay) - we reccomened our driver Mr.Johny +855 92 654 591

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiH9, General Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We thank you for staying with us and enjoying Hotel Nine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent just one night in a two room suite. The hotel was clean, quiet and the staff were wonderfully attentive and helpful.

The hotel seems innocuous on arrival just a door on an ordinary street, but it opens into a wonderful light, airy oasis which is calm and restful. The cafe served a good range of delicious snacks (we didn't have a meal) and cocktails to relax by the pool with. I would recommend this hotel, which is in walking distance of the national monument and the royal palace.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiH9, General Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are very happy that you had a wonderful time in just 1 night staying with us! This means you must come back and spend more time with us by the pool :-) Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff at hotel 9 were top notch, working hard at all times to support customers. Their insider knowledge of local tourist attractions helped us to plan our time plus saved us some money. The food was good and happy hour certainly made us happy. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet retreat in PP.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiH9, General Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We thank you for staying with us. I thank you for all your feedback and thoroughly enjoyed our conversations during happy hour. We hope you had an enjoyable time on the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

First night was on the ground floor: you can sleep when the last customer as arrived and you wake up when the first customer goes out: their rooms have no phonic isolation and the rooms opens on a corridor who amplifies the noice. By the way, the rooms on this floor are like rooms with no windows as the windows face on a dirty wall. Second night at the second floor. Better. Real windows. But still dirty rooms, moisters in bathrooms, broken floor, torned bed sheets. Hope I can post my pics done for your review. Overall, the material or equipment used for the construction or the facilities are cheap. The swimming pool corner is not appealing and the pics posted on Agoda does not reflect at all the reality. At this price you can expect and get much better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiH9, General Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We were disappointed to read your review that was made while you were still staying with us, we do encourage all of our guests that if they have any issues to let us know during their stay and we do our best to solve them as it is hard to fix an issue after you have left. We have had many great reviews on our ground floor rooms but you had points of the silicon in bathtub. I thank you for finally talking to me when I caught you checking out. I have personally went to each room and reviewed all points you made. We really care about your stay so any guests please if there is any issues talk with Kai 077 524 524 so we can resolve any issues during your stay. We hope you had an enjoyable time on the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nine

Address: Street 9 | #41, Phnom Penh 10110, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.