We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nine to your Saves list
Hotel Nine
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 9 | #41, Phnom Penh 10110, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discount
Ranked #52 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Minimalist rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our tuk-tuk seemed to have problems finding the hotel - it is set back from the road side behind a wall with a gate. Behind the gate was a calm haven compared to the crazy street outside, with a nice (if small) pool area & reception. The hotel has open corridors with stylish shared areas set around a central spiral staircase.

Our room was minimalist & not as flash as some we stayed in, but it was nicely styled, comfortable & clean. The only drawback is that the window opened out onto the public area, so we didn't really want to leave the blind open (that said we weren't really there in the day, so not really a problem).

The hotel is well located, especially for the Royal Palace/Silver Pagoda. We also walked to Tuol Sleng & tried the walking tour in the excellent local Phnom Penh guide (don't miss the market!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your recommendation.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us here at Hotel Nine and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    125
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
56
91
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Before travelling to Phnom Penh, I looked at many hotels and was impressed by this hotels website and by previous reviews.

As the room rates were reasonable, I decided to book the suite featured on the hotel's website for 3 nights, figuring that this would be a little more luxurious than a standard room. How wrong I was! Upon arrival, we were shown to our ‘suite’ on the ground floor. This must have been the same room referred to by the previous reviewer – a very dark room (dark walls, dark floor) with frosted glass (very little light) and no views – a bit like a (large) prison cell.

We immediately complained and were told the hotel was full. However, perseverance eventually led us to being shown a number of standard rooms on the first and second floors – all nice light rooms with real windows! We opted for room 201, which was comfortable and clean.

As we had paid for a suite but been given a standard room, I enquired about a refund. I was told that I would have to take this up with the booking agent. No attempt to compensate us or apologise but after some haggling they waived the huge US$2 bar bill!

So BE WARNED! - if you think you are booking the nice airy suite featured on the hotel’s website with its “access to the stunning terraces” – you may be disappointed!

Apart from that the hotel was OK but not brilliant – it’s a bit knocked about, it has a backpacker guesthouse feel to it, the spiral staircase is a nightmare, it's very noisy from early in the morning when the market outside the gate starts up and it’s not in a great location for access to the riverside - there are better options in Phnom Penh!

Room Tip: All the rooms vary - have a good look round before you settle in! Avoid the ground floor suite! Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad that when you finally settled into 201 it was suitable for your needs.
As for the refund, you had booked through an online travel agent and as we stated we would grant the refund but you needed to request this through the travel agent. This is standard practice and I am sorry that this was confusing to you.

We did waive the bar bill as some type of compensation as this is all we could offer as the room refund needed to be done through the travel agent. We did also waive the broken shelf in the bathroom as you insisted otherwise a bad review would be written, obviously even though we did not charge you it did not stop your review going through.

The suite on the ground floor is a great suite and is specifically requested by many of our repeat customers. We are sorry that it did not meet your needs.

The staff were quite traumatized after your visit and threats towards them, one of which resigned over your stay, I hope that the rest of your stay in Cambodia was enjoyable and not too many more of the beautiful, friendly Cambodian people got in your way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoje, South Korea
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had high expectations of this hotel due to the nice comments, and the very well provided info per email. We booked the suite, because we travel with a child; she can sleep in the bedroom while we sit in the 'living room'. Unfortunately we were given the suite on ground level, which has no windows to look outside, only frosted glass is used. Also the floor has just been stained what resulted in a strong odor. After complaining about it we were given the suite on the 1st floor, which is much (!) better. So make sure you ask for that room if you book the suite. As soon a you get out the front door of the hotel the city is all over you; after spending time in a very quit hotel in Siem Reap this was a bit overwhelming. The breakfast is ok, but that's all. The swimming pool was big enough for us though, so that's a plus.

Room Tip: The suite on ground floor has only frosted glass windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

The ground floor suite is a beautiful suite and has extra amentities that other rooms in the hotel does not. We have many requests from returning customers to be given this room as they have enjoyed it so much.

We are glad that when you were moved to the higher floor it met with your expectations.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My friend and I had stayed at Hotel Nine for 2 nights when we visited Phnom Penh. Entering the front door of Hotel Nine was like stepping into a different world, suitably partitioned from the hustle and bustle of the streets. Fairly minimalist and basic, it offered us comfort and relaxation. The rain shower was much appreciated after having traveled to and fro the Killing Fields on the dusty roads in a tuk tuk. The cafe provides good buffet breakfast and you can pretty much eat to your heart's content - a perfect start to your day. Hotel Nine is also conveniently located, which is a big plus! All in all, this place is value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us here at Hotel Nine. We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Nine in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I recently stayed at Hotel Nine for five nights. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was good, being within a comfortable walking distance to the silver pagoda and the restaurants and bars on the riverfront. My room was of a good size, the bed was comfortable. The ensuite facilities were also really good. Some of the hotel facilities I really liked. There was ample shared space with lots of comfortable seating. There was plenty of space to set up a laptop without having to be confined to your room. The pool was a welcome place to spend some time and have a cocktail at the end of an afternoon and before heading out to find a spot for dinner. The only real gripe I had was the lack of an elevator. Even though the hotel is only a couple of stories, the circular staircase was not the easiest to negotiate. Importantly, the staff make themselves available to cart luggage up and down the stairs. I also had trouble with my bar fridge, but once again the staff attended to that promptly and happily. The hotel, the pool and common areas were kept really clean. Breakfast was included in my stay and was plentiful, of a good standard and varied day to day.

Room Tip: If you have mobility challenges then ask for a room on the ground floor. On a business card for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nine098, Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy hour is from 5-7pm daily and offers great quality cocktails, I am glad to hear that you took advantage of that!!

We now have phones in every room so when you are ready to come down to reception, you can call ahead and we will send a staff member to carry your bags down.

Thanks again for the review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

hi I just got back from two and a half weeks at this hotel and loved it I had a fantastic time the staff are all out standing and go out of their way to help you and look after you, and the food is great and the service is second to none, I realy can,t wait to get back there, and a big thanks to Oliver and all his staff for giving me such a memorable holiday, I'll never forget
thanks very much Mark L

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msouthby, Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Hi Mark,

All the staff really enjoyed having you as a guest at the Hotel. We have shown them your review and they were so happy to read the compliments you have made.

We look forward to having you back at Hotel Nine on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 via mobile

This really is one of the best kept secrets in the city.

The hotel is a hidden gem. I can't say enough about it. Everything here is excellent-the food, the service, the accommodations and the location.

To address a few issues a previous poster mentioned:

1. There is a phone on every level- in the common areas not more than 20 feet from any room door. I used it for room service several times.

2. To guide a tuk-tuk here all you have to tell him is to take you to Independence Monument. The hotel is right around the corner from there.

Do yourself a favor and look nowhere else in PP.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nine

Address: Street 9 | #41, Phnom Penh 10110, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.