We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 3 attempts we have given up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Pagoda

Silver Pagoda
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 Attractions in Phnom Penh
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Varanasi, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“After 3 attempts we have given up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tried to visit the Royal palace and Silver pagoda on three different days and different times, but every time something was going on so it was shut and we couldn't get in. Entrance fee is $6.5pp and make sure you have long trousers and long sleeve top for both men and women as the guy outside said even if it was open the 3/4 shorts and half sleeves are not sufficient and you couldn't get in. Possibly because the time we were here it was the elections so just check and double check before you visit to avoid disappointment and just wasting money on a tuktuk.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    294
    182
    42
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Catstel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not really a separate tour. Part of the Palace visit. A definite for your first visit. Easy central location no need to use a guide.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“located within the royal palace...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Was not as mesmerizing as the royal palace architecture and design was. We walked around for while and did not realize that the silver pagoda was within vicinity...what I really liked was the lotus flowers and little Buddha prayer altars around the area..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Silver Pagoda situated within the grounds of The Royal Palace was the thing I most wanted to see in Phnom Penh but was very disappointed. The silver floor is tiles that are all loose and covered up almost entirely by an old carpet. The pagoda is filled with loads of Buddha figures but they are not arranged attractively, it looked more like a store room! The palace grounds were nice to walk around especially if you haven't been to the grand palace in Bangkok which is even better, although its nice to see the different styles. So overall worth a look but the silver pagoda is not the main attraction!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“silver and gold pagoda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This temple is called preah vihear Preah keo Morakot
Because the main Buddha statue is made of priceless
This temple got 5329 genuine silver tiles that cover the
Floor there are 1650 art objects housed in this temple
Most of them are Buddha figures , they are made of gold
,silver,bronze and other valuable materials in front of thorne
Sits a Buddha made of gold weighing 90 kilograms (about 200 pounds)
And decorated with 2086 diamonds. The biggest diamond
Is one the grown it is 25 millimeters this statue was commoditized in 1904
By king Sisowath,.......to me I am really proud to visit this temple
So I am would highly recommend this temple to all local
And former don't miss your time to visit this when you stay in Cambodia sun bunthoeun

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Pagoda also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Silver Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Pagoda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.