We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY busy, but great interior!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Phnom

Wat Phnom
Street 96 | Norodom Blvd, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Wat Phnom like an insider
Top Rated
$88*
and up
Phnom Penh Full-Day Small-Group City Tour
Ranked #33 of 135 things to do in Phnom Penh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A standard Southeast Asian temple.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“VERY busy, but great interior!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you can go early in the morning (and thus beat the crowds), Wat Phnom could be your oyster for a few precious moments. Unfortunately, our visit was during peak time, during which tourists crawled all over the 10m-high hill/mound which house the Wat (temple). The inside is certainly worth a few pictures, if you can squeeze your camera through a gap in the crowd.

TIPS: Mid-day is NOT the time to go (the crowd kills the serene atmosphere that really adds to the wat visiting experience). Make sure you walk all the way around the Wat in order to see the big shrub clock on the side of the hill! Avoid children promising to set birds free if you pay them. Don't forget to take off your shoes in the Wat (sign of respect).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    293
    310
    46
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a must see for visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

interesting and well worth the effort and the $1 entrance fee... the pagoda on the top is not that special but its obviously a special place for Khmer locals and an interesting insight into local Buddhist culture and good vantage point for the city - check out all the huge bats who reside in the big trees just opposite - hundreds of them big scary vampirish things

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wat Phanom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very interesting history ,located near but isolated place near the river banks, the inner part of the temple has very unnique paintings & wat(temple) is located in a higher ground , would recomend if your are around the river banks,When i was there wasn't many tourist & a quite & peaceful place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just a temple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was attracted to go to this temple due to I've read the story of this temple. Since I'm at Phnom Penh, just make a visit to this temple. It's located at the hill, surrounded with park, you can sit at the park for resting. Other than that, I found that the buildings more alike Burma's temple. When you're free, you can pay an visit to this temple. $1 for entrance fees.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“What Phnom Penh is About”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As I recollect, Phnom is a hill, and we learned that this is where
Phnom Penh had its beginning. There is a temple, or wat, on the top of this low hill that we circled, by car. It was not crowded. We didn't walk in the area but saw a number of stairways leading to the top, and wat. At least one stairway had massive nagas, mythical snake-like creatures (maybe partially human? - don't remember) that protect Buddha, according to tradition, along its sides.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Phnom also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Wat Phnom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Phnom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.