We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Important site to build your education on Cambodia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Killing Fields (Choeung Ek)

The Killing Fields (Choeung Ek)
15km southwest of the city, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 47 attractions in Phnom Penh
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: These were the execution grounds for the Khmer Rouge.
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Important site to build your education on Cambodia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I wasn't going to go to the killing fields but everyone told me I had to and Im so glad I did. I learned so much from great audio tours given with admission. Listen to all the stories to get more detailed accounts of what happened.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,395
    891
    164
    36
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasteful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

It is impossible to comprehend what happened here. An extremely emotional place, however the atmosphere was calm and respectful and the audio guides were very informative. There are also benches by the lakeside where you can take some time to sit and reflect.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Emotional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very sad activity to do however important to bear witness to this terrible experience for so many innocent people

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sad, but worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a very sad place to visit, but a must see in Cambodia. We visited the Killing Fields after the Prison (S21). Our guide was great in giving us the details of the history of this terrible atrocity.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Confronting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It is very difficult to give a rating for this. I cannot say it is enjoyable, but more informative, confronting and emotional. Even after two visits here I am still saddened and outraged when I think of what happened here. The stories you hear over your headset on the self guided tour give you the history of the place. Don't try to rationalise what happened here, because you can't.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Killing Fields (Choeung Ek) also viewed

 

Been to The Killing Fields (Choeung Ek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Killing Fields (Choeung Ek), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Killing Fields (Choeung Ek) to your Saves list