We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off I pad in Phnom Penh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amanjaya Pancam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amanjaya Pancam Hotel to your Saves list
Amanjaya Pancam Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #1 St. 154, Corner Sisowath Quay | Wat Ounalom, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ripped off I pad in Phnom Penh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We started our trip at this hotel which was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Our room had a balcony that over looked the mekong river and was great to watch all the boat traffic coming and going in addition to the on going night life.The only down size to the location is that there is alot begging and in my case they ripped my I Pad right out of my hand by 2 guys riding on a scotter. My advise is be very careful with your belongs cameras and I Pads. The hotel manager was very helpful and took us to the police station to file a report.Anyways would not recommed going to Phnom Penh not a safe place to visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    124
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
27
172
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent large room - the hotel does have a boutique feel to it. Bar on roof is nice feature and staff friendly - especially doorman. Location good. Overall just lacked a bit of "soul" difficult to say whybut there was something missing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and it was great! The rooms were huge and offered a fabulous bathroom with separate shower and bath. We had a balcony that opened up onto the Riverside and one of Phom Penh's stunning pagodas. It was great to sit on the balcony at night and watch the traffic and people go by. The hotel was central to a lot of sight seeing attractions and offered friendly service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

When ever we stay in Phnom Penh, we stay at the Amanjaya Pancam. The rooms are big, clean, perfect located at the riverside and just next to the royal palace.

The staff is always friendly and helpful. And if you come back more then one time, they recognize you again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It is just next to the Royal temple and on the start of the famed Riverside that encompasses a plethora of cafés and restaurants along the busy road. The whole hotel has timber floors which is wonderful if one likes the old traditional feeling as opposed to the modernistic style. This corner property has only four floors with French style architecture that is almost postcard perfect.

The rooms are LARGE with very good such as coffee machine, TWG tea, good flat screen TV and a very nice bathroom. There is quite a bit of "walking about" as the room is quite large and long. Just about everything is tip top including the consistent water pressure and water cleanliness! It's one of the few if the only one to have centralised air-conditioning in the rooms unlike quite a number of Cambodian hotels we stayed in with a domestic type of split air-conditioning such as Nagaworld, a 5-star rated casino hotel in Phnom Penh.

The Amanjaya Pancam is strongly recommended if one is willing to pay about US$100 plus in the peak season for great rooms.

Room Tip: The panoramic suite is wonderful with multiple French style doors and balconies although it faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very good hotel, excellent location on the waterfront, large rooms, great views of city life going by outside. So close to Palace and all the sites, strolling distance. Out of the door, turn left, 2 km of good bars and restaurants to choose from along the waterfront. Turn right and you are straight in a gritty local market. Well worth staying here just for these things, priceless. Comfortable beds, all amenities in rooms. Breakfast interesting and amusing, never managed to get what we ordered over five mornings, always a surprise to see what arrived at the table and in what order, all part of the experience in emerging countries new to international guests. Would not risk evening meal, too much like roulette.
Have never understood what a boutique hotel is and why it applies to this one. Staff friendly and helpful especially when we got locked out on our balcony for an hour at night when the doors blew closed behind us. Recommend this hotel in Phnom Penh because of the character against hotels where all the loud, look at me, brash tourist stay.
Defiantly stay here for the location and the surprise breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were advised by many people that this was one of the best hotels in town. Rooms were large and the balcony gave you the opportunity for a great sunset view and to watch the world go by. Breakfasts were excellent. Staff could have been a little more personable and rooms were ok but certainly not 5 star. Smoking is allowed in some rooms so please ensure you request a smoke free room if you are a non smoker.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanjaya Pancam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjaya Pancam Hotel

Address: #1 St. 154, Corner Sisowath Quay | Wat Ounalom, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#27 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanjaya Pancam Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the heart of the Capital city Phnom Penh, Amanjaya Pancam Hotel is just wlaking distance form the Royal Palace and offers an incredible view on the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Amanjaya Pancam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjaya Pancam Phnom Penh
Hotel Amanjaya Pancam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanjaya Pancam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.