We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value and nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California 2

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
California 2
Save
You added California 2 to your Saves list
79 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh n/a, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value and nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

jim and the team will look after you the burger is first class after a night out :] rooms are always clean ! i stayed 6 nights and had no problems, the shower is the bathroom but it has good power and works :]
i will stay there again :]

Room Tip: ask for a window room and book early :]
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    87
    30
    15
    2
See reviews for
6
67
97
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in February and I couldn’t have asked for anything more. The room was clean, big enough and comfortable. Jim and the staff were helpful and enjoyable to chat with. I especially liked the restaurant for late night food (very good chicken tacos)! If you’re looking for good value, location, clean room and a friendly atmosphere, then California 2 is for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Feels like home, except I don't have to clean or cook- and it is cheaper than home too!

Great location, right on the river.

Jim has answers for just about any question you may have.

The girls downstairs at the bar are always smiling.

You will definitely meet some interesting and friendly long term expats at the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gifu, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Only stayed one night here, but everything was great. Nice clean rooms, great location, etc. Chatted with the friendly owner the first night and had a great breakfast in the morning.

If I ever get back to PP, will look this place up again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights until just yesterday. Fantastic little establishment. Stayed in a standard room for $27. The quality of the room far exceeds the price. The owner Jim is very knowledgable about the area and a good source of information. The girls that work downstairs are lovely. They took me out one night to sharkeys, pontoon and heart of darkness. 3 must do's on a Thursday night as its ladies night. If I return to PP again this place will definately be were I stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Only because I don't always trust these reviews. Cal 2 is a great place for a guy on his own. Right across the street from the river, close to everything important. I was there for three days in early Nov. Staff is very nice. Jim is very helpful. Food is good. I don't have anything bad to say about it. Room was nice, quiet, well equipped. If you're a business or tourism traveler, a guy on his own, no sense in staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iNDORE
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

California 2
This is a most unique hotel I ever stayed in my life. When you enter the hotel, you actually enter into the bar. The reception and bar counter is one. The rooms are upstairs, no elevators bit hassle if you have much luggage. The bar downstairs is open almost all night and has good selection of beers. The best part I like is its walking distance to all the riverfront restaurants, nightlife etc. At the same time bit away from all the noise. The owner jim is good person to chat with. The overall service is ok.
Value for money. Breakfast is limited.

Room Tip: For good view get room near street side staying longer get the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to California 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California 2

Address: 79 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh n/a, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#31 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Wat Phnom Area, on the riverfront, California 2 has easy access to the Port and is 3 doors away from the Mekong Express bus terminal. Plenty of country information as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California 2 Hotel Phnom Penh
California 2 Phnom Penh
Hotel California 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.