We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California 2

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
California 2
Save
You added California 2 to your Saves list
79 Sisowath, Phnom Penh n/a, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent location & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night before returning to the UK. For us the main advantage was the riverfront location: late afternoon as the sun was going down we popped outside and walked along the river promenade and observed the locals exercising and relaxing - absolutely perfect for our last night in Cambodia. You can easily jump onto one of the river cruises there too.

We ate a light meal in the ground floor bar/cafe - very tasty and portions were impressive for the price. Breakfast was fine too - I had a noodle dish which was rather filling and my partner had eggs on toast.

I'm not sure what room type we had in the end. We'd booked a deluxe room but were only charged for a standard room. Either way it was $20/night cheaper than a same sized room we'd stayed in a week earlier in a B&B near to the Independence Monument (which is quite a distance from the river & we had to get a tuktuk everywhere).

We didn't have a chance to chat to Jim but the girls working in the restaurant/bar were always helpful and friendly every time we spoke to them.

We stayed as a gay couple - I think the owner Jim was surprised at first but it didn't seem to be a problem. We'd definitely stay again as it's a great location, excellent value and good food.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a deluxe room; Go for second floor (ie. 2 floors above bar) if you can; t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    89
    30
    15
    2
See reviews for
7
68
101
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, ND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in early December. The Owner, Jim, was there to greet us when we walked in. We had a long bus ride from Siem Reap and he was ready for our arrival. It was great having the bar right downstairs from the hotel room, plenty of people to talk to and good food. I mentioned to Jim that I'm a big Sammy Hagar fan, next thing you know he's playing a few songs over the sound system for me. He's a good guy to talk to with knowledge about the country and he'll find an NFL game to throw on the TV if that is what you like. Location is nice, as well. Across from the river walkway and just a few blocks from the night market. Always tuk tuk's outside for a ride anywhere around town, as well. The room was good, plenty of hot water, great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Need a great location, great food, wonderful and helpful staff, then this is your place. Almost a river view, but that doesn't matter. Pool table, laundry, free breakfast .... Need I say more, would highly recommend

Room Tip: Room 10 best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The bar of this guest house is what makes it. Full of X-Pats, locals and a wonderful bunch of staff, you could happily spend an evening just here. The room I stayed in was small and the ensuite very cramped (shower over the toilet which was difficult to comfortably use). At the top end of "budget", price-wise, but a good quieter location makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Calli 2 and no trip to Phnom Penh would be complete without it. Fantastic bar that never closes. Great staff who will always go the extra mile for you.
Good clean rooms with good showers and a/c.
Very good selection of both western and Khmer food.
And always a really good atmosphere.

Yet again Jim's tips for the next leg of our journey were invaluable.
Thanks again for looking after us. See you all soon

David & Jeannette
UK

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Another great stay at this hotel. Once again the staff were great and Jim has friendly and helpful as ever. I can't praise this place enough. And best showers in Cambodia, hot and good pressure. Food good too, kitchen clean and fresh. Would never get Delhi belly here. Beds huge and comfortable. Clientèle great too, and met so many good people of all professions and nationality. Jim ensures that everyone is sociable, even those who just come to eat or play pool. Don't know what Duna is on about. Did he stay in the same place? I have never seen a place cleaned so often. My 5th time here. My only gripe would be 2 rounds of toast with your eggs in the morning would be nice. I will be staying here next year for sure! Great location too. Book in advance, they are always full.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have never had more fun in a bar with the staff. The staff is incredibly friendly and efficient! The owner Jim, who works the evening shift is affable as well. I spent 3 nights there and will stay there when I go back. If I wasn't staying there the bar would be a fun place to hang out and meet people as well. For the price you cannot find better value.

David Lewis

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to California 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California 2

Address: 79 Sisowath, Phnom Penh n/a, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#31 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Wat Phnom Area, on the riverfront, California 2 has easy access to the Port and is 3 doors away from the Mekong Express bus terminal. Plenty of country information as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
California 2 Hotel Phnom Penh
California 2 Phnom Penh
Hotel California 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.