We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centraly located great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bright Lotus 1 Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bright Lotus 1 Guest House
Save
You added The Bright Lotus 1 Guest House to your Saves list
22 street 178 | Sangkat Cheychumnas, Khan Daunpenh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 273 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Centraly located great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel is showing signs of age but is value for money. It is well located near restaurants and a very short walk to the Mekong. What made it for me was the friendly staff and their professionalism when advising on or arranging my travel needs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    22
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
21
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Ithas a great view for sure. It is simple and clean except for the mildew in the bathroom. My only comlaint is that there are all these tiny lizards hanging out in the stairwell. They kinda freak me out a little but there are none in the rooms I don't think. Is this Normal? I don't know.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed at the bright lotus for close to one month whilst working in PP. The service is friendly and there were numerous times staff went out of their way to help me out , with phone calls to Thailand and Vietnam and opening a jammed suitcase. The room is very basic and not the kind of decor I would choose for home, but the bed was comfortable, the room was cleaned every day, with fresh new towels, cable TV and a/c. A big plus in the budget price range is that the rooms all have a window - apparently a commodity rather than a necessity in PP. At the end of each hallway is a corner balcony where you can relax with a view of the national museum. It is noisy at night and the wifi connection is not free and really bad, but there are plenty of nearby options to use the internet. Food at the adjoining restaurant is cheap and good. Given the price range and relative expectations, this place is a good place to stay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The good thing is the location is pretty close to the National Museum and the Royal Palace but it's so much noisy at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We booked this place after being dumped in the centre of the city and making a dash for the river front area. It overlooks the National Museum which the sun sets behind beautifully which can be seen from the hotel. There is free internet, though the owners and their family members are usually using it. The cleaner tossed out my fiance's $300 teeth protector (which was perhaps stupidly soaking in a glass) and then denied it. The owner didn't seem to care about this and made no effort to rectify the cleaner's expensive mistake. The staff there seem inattentive most of the time, and unfriendly at others. Give this place a wide berth unless sunsets are your thing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed here twice during our travels, so the fact we went back shows how happy we were. This guest is right in the middle of the town, overlooking the national museum (which is a beautiful building that you will never tire of looking at). Being so central comes with the disadvantage of being noisy too, and the traffic on the road below can be heard all night. If you're a light sleeper, you might want to consider whether this is the right place for you (or at least bring ear plugs). Despite this, the rooms are very clean and security is excellent. We checked rooms in guest houses all round this area, and booked in here as they were the cleanest by far. The guesthouse offers good room rates which are clearly advertised on the main desk; if you are staying for more than one night then tr to negotiate a discount. Other reviewers have mentioned smelly towels... this is not the case, in fact we had brand new towels both times we stayed there so seems like they've resolved that problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I booked this hotel and had good correspendance with the owner via email - the pick up at the airport was good, The hotel is on a very noisy street. I booked a superior room and had a choice of one on the 1st or 3rd floor. Both rooms didnt have windows, the bedding appeared clean however there was an over riding smell of sewerage from each of the bathrooms which was evident as i walked into both ot the rooms without entering the bathroom. I move hotels straight away without staying the night - the owner didnt seem surprised at all. Excellent location however there are better hotels for the same price - i wouldnt recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bright Lotus 1 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bright Lotus 1 Guest House

Address: 22 street 178 | Sangkat Cheychumnas, Khan Daunpenh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Bright Lotus 1 Guest House Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bright Lotus 1 Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.