We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bougainvillier Hotel to your Saves list
Bougainvillier Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed several times at the Bougainvillier; There is no lift but everything else is great. The rooms are large and comfortable. Those with views overlooking the quai have balconies with superb views.. There is also a rooftop garden restaurant with a lovely view. It is a bit of a climb up to the 5th floor in a stairway with no handrail, but I enjoy going there for Happy Hour followed by a meal of pizza or pasta. The waiters are very attentive and speak good English. Usually the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. It depends on who is on duty. Guests are allowed in the rooms if they leave their ID card at reception. Just outside the hotel entrance, there are several very competitive tuk-tuk drivers who can sometimes be annoying. The Royal Palace and National Museum are within easy walking distance, and there are many restaurants and a couple of banks nearby. I'll look forward to staying at the Bougainvillier on my next visit to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurants!

Thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and thanks for your kind recommendation on Trip Advisor and for sharing all of your observations and impressions of great location on riverfront, helpful and friendly staffs...with large room and comfortable overlooking the river views through private balcony.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvilier Hotel - Phnom Penh's residential sanctuary.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    136
    56
    32
    21
See reviews for
19
129
73
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

It's a lovely hotel overlooking the Mekong. The rooms are spacious and boutique style. Very East meets East with the flavour of a bit of Western. 5* or even 4* would have toothbrush, comb and bars of soap in the room but not here. The little things make the difference.

The Restaurant is good, not flashy with a small menu suggesting the food should be exceptional. It's not, but it is adequately good. Food and drinks have to be paid for at point of sale rather than booking to your room so make sure you have cash. VAT at 10% is added to all bills.

Service is good although in the restaurant a bit over attentive. The waiters/waitresses watch over you in an intrusive way despite the fact that they maybe a few tables away. However, that said it is good service.

If TV is important to you, digital flat screen was available and most channels show series and films in English.

Access to rooms is by stairs. A lift is currently being constructed but I cannot say when it will be finished.

The roof top bar and pizzeria is quite relaxing of an evening. The view over the Mekong at night is uninspiring as not much goes on in the river at night!

Having said all the above, it is a hotel I would recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel!

The entire team at Bougainvillier Hotel is humbled by your praises of a lovely hotel overlooking the Mekong river. The rooms are spacious and boutique style.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel 'Phnom Penh's Oasis for the Well Travelled'!

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We loved this hotel for the great location and the staff who were friendly, helpful, hospitable and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble.

Unfortunately there is no lift in the building so it was a long trudge "up the mountain" as I told the receptionists, who thought it a great joke. Once we reached the sanctuary of our beautiful cool room it was worth the climb and we could sit out on the balcony watch the river and all the activity in the street below and enjoy a nice cold (very cheap) beer.

We've been to PP a number of times but this was the first time in this hotel. We've decided to make it our base for future trips and hopefully one day the promised installation of the lift will be a reality rather than a dream.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front of the hotel where you can see the riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel!

I would like to thank you again for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel. It has been a pleasure having you with us and Every colleague at the hotel is thankful for such and very much motivated to continuously striving for high levels of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokcha
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is an excellent hotel; indeed one of the best boutique hotels in Phnom Penh with magnificent views over the Mekong and excellent service and staff, up to a point. But at $130/night (B and B) for perhaps one of the best old style rooms in Phnom Penh management needs to pay attention to the many small details that make a great hotel and 'walk the floors.' Having good rooms and fine views does not justify 5 star prices unless there is 5 star services
Examples:
Day 1. My room was not serviced - bed not made up, bathroom not cleaned.
Same day laundry came back 24 hours late. Same day laundry should be a given in a hot climate with visitors moving on after one or two days (no laundry bags and list, perhaps says it all)
Day 2. Coffee urn at breakfast empty; fruit not replaced
Power cut - but no candles or torch in the room. A telephone call pointing out the obvious (that there was a power cut and apologising is helpful!)
In my opinion the staff are excellent but unless senior management checks the fine detail and pays attention to detail standards will slip.
Perhaps when I asked about when the manager would be in I was told 10.00 am. Drwa your own conclusions!
Given the above, and I travel on business and holiday world wide, I expect better on the detail in an a expensive hotel, whilst accepting that the faults, relatively minor overall, can be corrected

Room Tip: Others have commented that the rooms are noisy. Being on the front overlooking the Quay, I would di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel!

Thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and for your kind recommendation on Trip Advisor as an excellent hotel; indeed one of the best boutique hotels in Phnom Penh with magnificent views over the Mekong and excellent service and staff. I truly appreciate your comments as it relates to the room cleaning, breakfast and laundry we take to be wash almost 24 hrs please rest assured that your observations will be followed up and please accepted our deeply apologize for this convenience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bougainvillier in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FALLS CHURCH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are staying 10 weeks in Phnom Penh, working on a contract. After looking around, we chose an extended stay at Bougainvillier because of the location and service. We have a large 3rd floor suite with great view of the river, and people gathering to jog, walk or do zumba. The hotel is a refurbished house; our large suite has amazing decor and furnishings. The friendly staff even exceeds what seems to be the norm for gracious Cambodian service. Very good breakfast included with the room. The manager has gone out of his way to make our stay enjoyable and workable. We left for a short business trip and came back the other evening, tired and worn, to an immaculate room and a fresh bowl of Cambodian fruit. It's close to the produce markets, Royal Palace and all the activity and restaurants on the river. Also has a deal for swimming in great pool at another hotel next door. Only downside, no fitness center.

Room Tip: Go for large suites facing the river; back rooms are less expensive but smaller and not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you with us at Bougainvillier Hotel. I truly appreciate your comments as it relates to our great suite view view room and location on the riverside close to the Royal Palace as well the friendly and helpful staff our colleagues were delighted about your commend.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for seven nights in an upgraded river view room, which was spacious with a large balcony, great for sitting and watching the world go by after a busy day; especially with a cold drink (fridge provided). The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms very clean and well stocked. Breakfast was included and the breakfast staff were incredibly helpful. We also loved the rooftop bar and the staff - great service and a warm welcome. Views of the city and the Mekong by night are worth the climb up.

The hotel is in a great location, no need to walk far to eat out, shop or find the nightlife. We used one of the hotel tuk tuks to get around and this worked really well for us. Negotiate a price, haggle a little, but remember that the guys work long days for vey little money. We had the same driver and tipped well on the last day.

Now we didn't mind that there wasn't a lift and there were a lot of stairs to our room, but if you're not in the best of health and you don't like stairs, then this probably isn't the best place for you. We looked on it as a bit of a work out, but some folks found it hard work. There is a sign saying there is a lift under construction but from what we gathered it's been under construction for a couple of years now so don't hold your breath.

Bathrooms are roomy, but remember this is Cambodia, as such water pressure and temprature fluctuate a bit so err on the side of caution and go for a cool shower to avoid cooking yourself. But all in all a lovely hotel in a great spot.

Room Tip: Get a room with views of the city and a balcony. Remember this hotel doesn't have a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurants!

It is truly kind of you to take the time sharing your experiences at Bougainvillier Hotel! and thank you so much for your rating our hotel as lovely hotel in a great spot and spacious room with large balcony river view with the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms very clean and well stocked. Breakfast was included staff were incredibly helpful I have been share your comment to my team work and they all were very happy to serve you.

We are pleased that your stay with us was memorable and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Phnom Penh at Bougainvillier Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good hotel - located centrally so it is very busy outside but I wasn't bothered by any noise when it came to sleeping and neither was my friend. The staff were all very friendly and helpful when it came to booking transport for our onward journey. They also stored some of our luggage for us when we travelled to Siem Reap for several days (we were staying in the hotel on our return, but there was no additional charge for the storage).

Breakfast is very good here too.

The only disappointment with this hotel was their bar - the cocktails were pretty disgusting. I had a cuba libre and my friend had a pina colada. Both looked like they'd been dredged from the Mekon river. The view from the bar is good but avoid the cocktails.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant!

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and rating your stay on TripAdvisor relating to central location of our hotel and services such as friendly, helpful staff and free luggage storage, good breakfast....... which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your stay was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully very soon to Bougainvillier Hotel, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Best wishes,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Address: #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.