We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillier Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bougainvillier Hotel to your Saves list
Bougainvillier Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“NIce hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel was located at the heart of the tourist areas, near the markets and with good accessibility, makes it a convenient place to stay. The cleanliness level was very high and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: For a nice view of the river, ask for river front view. If you have health problems related to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel and for your praises relating to our location heart of touristic area and top Phnom Penh landmarks such as market.. and services which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Bougainvillier Hotel, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

With kind regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    136
    56
    32
    21
See reviews for
19
129
73
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a bit of a difficult hotel to rate as my partner loved it and I didn't!

We had booked 7 nights but only stayed one night before moving to another hotel. We both agreed the location was very good, walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Even a shop selling coffins! The rooms are very big and the balcony views great.

The downside for me was the hustle and bustle outside and the rooms were very dusty. The bathroom was not very nice. There was nothing there to go wow about at all. I guess I just didn't like the ambience and that is a personal thing. After moving to a quieter more peaceful hotel I was very happy for the next 6 nights!

So i guess if you like being in the thick of things with a lot going on around you, this place would be ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Hotel & Restaurant!

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Hotel and rating your stay as "Good Location" on TripAdvisor.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and regarding to the room and bathroom was not your satisfy and I have shared with our colleagues to take seriously actions look in to it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bougainvillier Hotel, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Traveled".

With kind regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Desent hotel close to the mekong riverfront. Room standard was ok, the bed was on the hard side though. There was no elevator. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the river, this I realy enjoyed. I found the staff to be very helpfull and booked transportation through the hotel. I did not have a chanse to test the resturant but it looked nice. I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel & Restaurant!

I am delighted that your stay with us was memorable and our colleagues were able to assist you efficiently with your transportation inquiries.

Thank you again for recommending us on tripadvisor.com and everyone at Bougainvillier sends their best wishes. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Kindest Regards,

Lak Sokchan.
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is right on the riverfront, friendly staff, clean rooms, although the furniture and fittings are somewhat dated. 2 main problems are the lack of an elevator, and the showers are over the bath. Nonetheless, an enjoyable stay .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel and for your praises relating to our location right on the riverfront and service which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Bougainvillier Hotel, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

With kind regards,

Lak Sokchan
Sales Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My first feeling at the Bougainvillier was that it was a fire trap. I was staying in the new building, having to climb up the stairs to the top floor, which is quite demanding - I sometimes felt like I was climbing Mount Everest. This building is full of wood stuff, which made me feel all the more uncomfortable that my room had a locked window, preventing escape in case of fire, and there was not any passage to the roof or to anywhere where one could escape the smoke.

The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the center and overlooking the river. The room was very clean, but I had my doubts about the sheets. There was a faint smell of sewage floating in the room but to be fair, this is the smell of the city and I know it can also be smelled in the other hotels located on the river, even in the best ones. The staff was quite nice but a bit clueless, as I discovered after falling ill and trying to get an early flight back home with a high fever. The only assistance I got was one of the receptionists asking whether I was aware I would have to pay the hotel for that call. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluelove168, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us at Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel and I am delighted to inform you that, in all guests room have window open and in side the room as well as public area we have equip extinguisher to protect of fire and all hotel's staff have study of fire training every month to remind and well protect of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Bougainvillier Hotel, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is situated on the river front, in the heart of the touristic neighbourhood. This means it isn't the safest area, although Phnom Penh is generally considered a safe city. You will also be really close to most attractions, many bars and restaurants. A lively, touristy district also means being exposed to the usual drugs and girls offers every 100 meters.

for 76$/night, the hotel common areas and bathroom BADLY let you down. I may be demanding but other reviews confirm the general state of cleanliness is not up to standards. Nasty smell in the staircase leading to the rooms and in the corridors. (the lift is apparently under construction). With this budget in Phnom Penh, one could expect to have a clean bathroom and enough hot water.

Rooms are clean and cosy, 4 poster bed, breakfast is ok and river views are really pleasant. The Bougainviller must have been a nice hotel 10 years ago but one can clearly see it is growing old and maintenance works are done by inexperienced staff; saving money seems to be the general state of mind if you consider some of the repair work done in the room (drain filled with cement, yellow joints, old shower head etc.)

I do not understand reviewers rating the hotel 4 and 5 stars as this is not what I would expect with 4 stars. The hotel has some good points but the overall experience is certainly not good and not value for money. If you are to pay this price, there are much better hotels in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: would not stay again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We checked our customer file but could not find your name. Maybe did you stay in an other Hotel nearby. Our hotel is decorated with antique furniture and decorations and premisses are new. Would you come back to Phnom Penh feel free to come to visit us.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is fantastic! If you are in Phnom Penh and looking to be in the center of the action this is the place to stay. The staff is beyond friendly and they will help you arrange getting out and about in PP. The breakfast is awesome, best bacon in SE Asia ;)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel & Restaurant!

Thank you for staying with Bougainvillier Hotel and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. Your detailed illustrations and compliments relating to features, breakfast, restaurants, hotel location, staff friendly and I have been shared with my entire team.

We are delighted that your stay was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully very soon to Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel, Phnom Penh's "Oasis for the Well Travelled".

Best wishes,

Lak Sokchan
Sale Manager
sales@bougainvillierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Address: #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.