We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, good value, shame about the dreadful internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillier Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bougainvillier Hotel to your Saves list
Bougainvillier Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, good value, shame about the dreadful internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel Bougainvillier is wonderful in almost all aspects - it has a great location right on the waterfront, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful interior, clean, modern and stylish rooms. There are tuk tuk men constantly outside waiting to take you anywhere, and a plentiful supply of nearby massage shops and restaurants.

The breakfast is served in the restaurant which is a good setting, and the food is pretty good, and included in the room price.

The only real downside to the hotel for me (as a business traveller) was the dreadful internet connection. Bearing in mind, we also had poor connection at the Hotel Phnom Penh where we were holding our workshop, maybe this is the case throughout Cambodia (it was my first time), but if you are planning on spending a lot of time online it might be worth purchasing a USB internet key on the first day and saving yourself the headache of the on-again-off-again connection.

The only other thing is that if you are not physically able for stairs you should probably emphasise this when booking, as the 3rd and 4th floor rooms do require a fair amount of walking up and down.

Room Tip: All the three rooms I saw were great. I believe the riverfront facing views are more expensive, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel,. We will check closer for about informations . Internet is always a pb in Phnom Penh Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    136
    56
    32
    21
See reviews for
19
129
73
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Nicely decorated and located by the river very close to everything. There is no lift and the service was bad. We had to take a drink in the bar while waiting to get checked in and got no help with the luggage and the girls in the reception were rude. Shower worked so and so. Breakfast OK in a nice restaurant.

Room Tip: We were put in another building than the reception. The rooms in the main building are probably bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel,. We will check closer for about informations . Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We had an issue at check-in in which they wanted more money from us on top of the already exorbitant price, and since we had already prepaid, we felt like we were held hostage. The manager Devon was extremely rude and unprofessional, he/she ruined the rest of our stay. We had one of the outdated and tired riverview facing apts. The living room area is large, the actual bedroom is small, windowless and feels like ur trapped in somebody's basement guest room, and the bathroom is from 70s. The location is close to restaurants and bars, the roof top bar is fine, there was a buy one get one free cocktail special, but the breakfast buffet was awful. We will never stay here again, as there many better options at this location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bougainvillierhotel, Manager at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear guest,

Warmest greeting from Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel & Restaurants, Phnom Penh, Cambodia!

Thank you so much for taking time to provided your feedback regarding to my hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have bee.

I would like to apologize Sir or Madam to make you unhappy. Your booking is single and you come double as it is not the same price as we already display on internet rates. And our breakfast have 40 different kinds of food (choice) to eat, so sorry we did not much your taste.

Once again please do accept my apologize and hope I will have the pleasure to personally welcome you again at Bougainvillier Boutique Hotel.

My best regards,

Lak Sokchan. Mr
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

When I booked this hotel I couldn’t understand the number of negative to average reviews it had received here on TA but sadly its now all too clear.

I was a little concerned about this before booking but I’d stayed at the hotel a couple of years ago and I liked the rooms and the location, both of which are very good. After check in I received a call from reception as more money was required for the room. It was later made clear that this was due to a mistake made by the staff – not a great start. This was followed by numerous unpleasant episodes during our stay including coming home one evening to find the door to our room unlocked and ajar. This after the staff had stressed the importance of locking things away and being security conscious. At first I feared the worst but it turned out that the cleaner had forgotten to lock the door after servicing the room. No harm done then but when I mentioned it at reception the five staff that were sitting around simply did not care and that is the real problem here I’m afraid.

I’ve never left a hotel review before but I felt I had to register with TA to share my experience here while I am still at the hotel. It has somewhat spoiled what was supposed to be a special weekend for us both and if I had only heeded the warnings from others posted here things could have been very different.

The location is great and the rooms are nice but this is not a cheap hotel by local standards. There are far better options available for the price and the hotel fully deserves its average rating here on TA. A shame.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel,. We will check closer about your informations . Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is well located place, close to good nightlife and dining options. My room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was generally cheerful and helpful. The breakfast was decent and the dining room was very comfortable. I don't feel like it was particularly a good value, though, and the slog up to the third floor (elevator under construction) was tough after a day out in the heat. I would recommend this place, however, based on the good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Carrache,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel ,restaurants and services,. We will check closer about your informations . Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Bougainvillier has an old fashioned air, about to be changed by the replacement of the stairs by a lift. The suites are vast and very comfortably furnished, and ours overlooked the river and the activity of the waterfront, while still being quiet. Staff helpful in practical matters and the location near restaurants, bars and lively streets (if you can close your eyes to the seedier side or western male tourism) is convenient. With a life it will be even more appealing!

Room Tip: Worth going for a waterfront suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We are very happy that you liked our hotel, restaurants and services. We will check closer about your informations . Hope to see you again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh.
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located by the river and close to day and night attractions/hotspots. Otherwise, they obviously starred themselves as "boutique" believing i would feel kind of classy. Truth is the place is kind of run down and totally overpriced. I paid USD 110 for theoretically a "suite" that was dull enough to send the most optimistic person into a 5 year therapy in order to cure subsequent depression. No wifi in rooms and landline connection so slow I reminisced about 56 kps RTC connections from the past....
I was scheduled to spent 4 nights, left after one (no way I could get refund btw, although the rate was supposed to be fully flexible) and moved to Himawiri where, for basically the same priced, I got a real suite in an hotel duly equipped with pool, restaurant, gym, etc....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for taking some time to send us your review. We carefully checked our customer file but could not find your name. Maybe you mistake with another hotel, or ...
Sincerely yours,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Address: #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bougainvillier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.