We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home..So Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Billabong Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Billabong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Billabong Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 203 hotels in Phnom Penh
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Feels like home..So Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Traveling with 2 teens... this hotel got our attention because of the price and pool.. the rooms and grounds are equally impressive spacious and well appointed.. Service was great and breakfast plentiful with selection... We wanted to watch videos and they have a video player in the rooms and videos you can borrow.. There are about 8 ground floor rooms, so convenient to just walk out and sit at the inviting poolside tables and lounges... We will stay whenever we are back in Phnom Penh...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    217
    70
    19
    9
See reviews for
91
174
72
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel nice and clean, fairly spacious room. Very intermittent wifi. Lovely pool and bar area which serves food most of day. Only criticism is speed of service. We waited over an hour for breakfast end morning and had to skip it as we're due to go on a tour. This happened more than once. Asi from this nice hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billabong-Management, Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Pk,

Thank you for your review and the positive feedback. We have had some challenges in the last week at breakfast time. We are sorry for this and it is definitely not the standards we want to be setting. We know we can make the difference on your next stay with us.

Since last week we have added more staff, and now have a restaurant manager who has started training. Breakfasts are running much smoother now, even when we are full.

For our customers convenience breakfasts are served all day.

Regards
Billabong hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Saw the name Billabong while researching our accommodation options in Phnom Penh. Thought that we would support what was obviously an Australian enterprise. As it turned out, Larry the owner is from Orange in NSW.
We were very happy with their response to our booking. We did not use the airport pick up. The taxi driver (prepaid $9) misunderstood the name of the hotel and took us to the Bouganville on the riverside. He quickly realised his mistake and took us to the right hotel. The hotel does not face the street and you enter through a small garden area into the slate floored foyer. This is also a comfortable waiting area with a computer and printer for guest use. The desk is always manned by someone, although their level of English sometimes causes a few misunderstanding. However Janni the other half of the ownership is very helpful and knowledgeable and will set things right. She even ordered new pillows for us when I found the pillows provided too high for me.
The hotel is on three levels without a lift. Your luggage is carried up the stairs for you. Yes, the pool side rooms seem to be a little small but then you do get a personal space with table and chair to sit outside. We chose a room upstairs on the first floor. The whole hotel is very clean and we were pleased with how spacious our room was. The bathroom had a very large shower and it too was very clean. There was a large mirror (though it could have done with better lighting) and toiletries provided. Our room also had a balcony with table and chairs and an overhead fan.
The bed was king sized with clean sheets without holes (as indicated by another poster). The room had a small wardrobe with a safe. There were two built in tiled desks but the few power points provided were a little temperamental and also did not hold the adaptor very well. We had to prop it up to use it. There was a small fridge and you are given two bottles of water each day. however the power to the fridge is connected to the tag on your key to the room. So when you hand in the key, you remove the tag which cuts out the fridge and so when you return from a hot day, there is no cold water as the fridge has not been working. We got around that by removing the tag and leaving it in the electricity slot so that the fridge remained on and we had cold drinks when we returned. However, this did not meet with management approval.
The room has both very effective air conditioning and a fan. There is also a fan outside on the balcony.
The pool is really clean and staff monitor the cleanliness level each day. We did not use the pool but would have if we had stayed longer. The pool has a thatched area next to it where breakfast is served and where you can purchase drinks (no happy hour). Staff are helpful but service can be somewhat slow.
A small cabinet offers some well priced souveniers and tee-shirts.
The pool area is surrounded by greenery and there are a few resident cats including a kitten who is a delight to watch playing around.
Unfortunately the geckos cannot be avoided and I had to do the dash every night up the stairs to avoid them. There are none in the thatched area or in the rooms. Don't leave your balcony doors open and they won't get in.
Breakfast as indicated by other posters is basic and somewhat bland. If we were staying longer, it would have got boring. The toasted baguettes were nice although more margarine and some jam would have been nice.
The bar has a small range of cocktails and some wine.
We did not eat any meals there on the advice of another Australian couple there. We did however eat at the next door Docerm Russey/Bamboo Restaurant. This is a very local restaurant with loud music/tv going all the time. However it has a large menu with pictures. The food is cooked fresh and you get a good quantity. The management is very helpful and appreciates compliments.
There are plenty of tuk tuk drivers and cyclos outside the Billabong Hotel. The hotel is walking distance to both the Central Market (mainly household goods in a claustrophobic atmosphere) and the Sorya Shopping Centre. There are are several fast food restaurants here and you can go to the fifth floor and get a view out over Phen Penh. There used to be a round restaurant on the 7th floor that would have given a good view over the Central market but that is being renovated. It was interesting to learn that pre the KR days, the central market was surrounded by beautiful gardens - it is now surrounded by dark and crowded ramshackle stalls.
The Billabong is away from the riverfront but at the time we were there we appreciated it's location as the King Father had died and the Riverfront area was chock a block with people. Although it is a long way from the Russian Market (tuk tuk ride of $3 each way) we recommend that you spend your shopping time here. It is much like Chatachuk market in Bangkok but with less variety.
We definately recommend the Billabong Hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are larger and have a nice balcony. The western side rooms have the better ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Before we arrived to Phnom Penh, we communicated with them to arrange our bus ticket to Siem Reap and airport pick-up. They did all for us and fortunately everything went smooth especially the timing to catch the 8.45AM bus to Siem Reap. We were worried about being late, but they made sure that everything was well settled accordingly. Upon our arrival to the hotel, we had welcome coffee since it's so early we reached the hotel to wait the bus to pick us up. The room's just decent, well maintained, clean and quite big. It has aircon and fan in the room. No toothbrush and slippers provided. Each room has its own balcony. Breakfast isn't that bad. Ms. Visal's so excellent and helpful, thanks for her assistance during our stay. Upon our return to Phnom Penh from Siem Reap, we ran out of USD, and only carried SGD, no money changers found, so they lent us few to pay Tuktuk driver. It's an interesting experience actually to borrow money from hotel :)) Then after check-in we went out to find money changers. We went throughout the mall, all closed. Finally we found 1 western union. Then we return the money to the hotel. Tips, carry enough of USD, money changers are not easy to find. We took almost 2 hours to find one :((

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great little place, secluded and private. Hard to believe this place is 10 years old as it is well maintained. The pool was great, staff was awesome and helpful and breakfast was good. Stayed here for 2 nights, first night I had a standard room opposite side of the pool, room was small but manageable. The next night, I switched to a pool side room which was great. As by other reviewers, very close to the Central market and Sorya Mall along the way. Also discovered a great little restaurant just next door Docerm Russey also know as Bamboo Restaurant.

Room Tip: Go for the pool side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in the standard room with pool view for 3 nights. Very nice pool, which was great after a day walking around Phnom Penh. Pool was very clean and bar/breakfast area very nice, clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast did not have a lot of variety, but was ok.

Room was small and average. Air conditioner worked well. Sheets were poor, 2 mornings in a row, sheets put on the bed with holes in them. Bed was comfortable. Not what I expect from a hotel. Bathroom was very small and dated. Shower pressure was poor.

A average hotel , but good for the price.

Room Tip: Would not stay in standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

My 18 year old son and I stayed at the Billabong 4 nights and were not in the least disappointed . Our room was clean and the friendly staff was always there to help in any way. They booked our bus tickets to Siem reap and helped my son extend his visas . The pool area was quiet and relaxing. You can walk to central market but will need a tuk tuk to get to the riverside restaurants and attractions. The food was good and loved the warm baguettes every morning. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Billabong to anyone looking for a nice 4 star place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Billabong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Billabong Hotel

Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#20 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Billabong Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst landscaped gardens, Billabong Hotel is located in Phnom Penh, a 5-minute drive from the Royal Palace and National Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi and a freeform salt-water outdoor pool.Air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a cable/satellite TV, minibar and personal safe. En suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer and hot water showers.The tour desk can arrange day trips to attractions in and around Phnom Penh. The hotel also provides laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.The hotel's restaurant serves a selection of Asian and Western dishes. Refreshing cocktails are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Billabong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Billabong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.