We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angkor International Hotel to your Saves list
Angkor International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-50 Street 148, Phnom Penh BP 519, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was average. Location was not so nice. There are other hotels nearer to the quay and it didn't seem quite safe to stay especially for female travellers. Food was nice though and staff were friendly.

I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    102
    70
    24
    6
See reviews for
26
100
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens Parc London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I went back to the hotel Angkor international in Phnom Penh,the location is very near the meckong about 5 minutes where you can walk around and meet some Khmer who wants to learn english and exange culture.
I pleasantly discovered a lift serving all floors now (no more stairs to climb until the 5th floor), receptionists and the server are always smiling, and kind.
The restaurant was pleasant to discovering a various Menu using Khmer food as well as European, the proposal consist of 4 specials changing every day with attractive price from 3 to 9 usd.
I have to say since my last time it represents an increase but the quality of the products is remarkable, all of it is because of the new Chef Xavier, Belgian chef with multiple food skills, who will seduce you through different stories from many of his adventures during his travel in south Asia and South America. The price of the room also rises up from 15 to 30 usd per night. But you can notify the complete renovation of the rooms and furniture, all of them are now all furnish with air conditioning, private bathroom, and TV with cable.
I sincerely hope that the hotel will won’t stop in such good dynamic, and they will keep attractive prices. I can’t wait until the next trip in Cambodia. ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have been staying in this hotel 4 days and I really enjoy>.My room was very quiet, clean and roomy.
The staff is very nice and the boss Victor staying in Cambodia for more than 15 years know everything from this country.
I like French food and the chef Xavier is excellent, particuluary his chocolat cake....!
I really recommend this nice place according the price and the service is certainly one of the best hotel min Phnom Penh.
I hope come back soon. Angela from China

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at Angkor International in Sep for my school's volunteering trip. We booked out 3 rooms (a tiwn, a 3 and a family room for 4). As requested, all 3 rooms were next to each other and we enjoyed the spacious common area.
Yes, there was renovations happening at the time but they did not at all affacte us or cause excess noise. We felt quite safe staying here - secutiry guard at the front door.
We got our washing done no worries, enjoyed breakfast each morning and like the close proximity to the riverfront and other shops / markets.
The ony thing was our bathroom - the room I was in had the shower in one corner but the drain hole in the other, so the entire bathroom floor got wet and you then had to walk throught wet floor. Another one of our rooms had toilet flushing issues.
The air con worked very well and kept us cool!
I would recommened staying here - it was cheap but not bad (compared to other Cambodian accommodation options). The staff at the reception were always friendly and enjoyed us trying to use our leant Khmer language!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagnef
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good location and friendly staff. Renovating now and will be very good when it is done. French style which I like. Close to Kandal Market and Riverside. Easy to get help from staff if you need something.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Ideal location and such a good atmosphere. I really enjoy the Angkor International's team from the management to the local staff.

The hotel was finishing some refurbishing, but never get disturbed. And the new elevator is much appreciated after a long day walking.

The food is really good, just follow the French chief advises, he will amaze you.

The room are spacious and clean, probably bigger than any other for similar prices.

Room Tip: Ask for the new renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The pluses: Location very handy a few minutes walk to markets, the river, the bar area and the jetty for the boat trips up the river. We put our stuff in the safe and it came out OK! The reception were friendly enough. $20 for an a/c room in a capital city is pretty good anywhere in the world. The a/c worked really well. Someone gave this hotel a bad rap based on their mistake of ordering a fan room. Big mistake. Huge. But not the hotel's problem!

Provided you dont eat here, this hotel is good in terms of price and location but we havent tried anywhere else in Phnomh Penh. Certainly better value for the accomodation than in Yangon (Rangoon) for example.

The minuses: Elevator still not ready when we were there in August 2012. Our toilet did not flush but we could make it flush with a hose attached to the shower so no biggy. Foyer is a little dark and dingy but again no biggy.

Avoid the restaurant like the plague. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!! Pity we didnt follow the advice of others, but it was simply pouring with rain, and we had had pleasant memories of a French Restaurant in Vientiane. We had a stupid Frenchman on the next table who obviously goes there every day to chain smoke his cigars everyday and blow smoke into everyone else's food. He didnt like it exactly when we asked him to refrain. However the main reason we have given this hotel a poor rating is that my wife and I both got terrible food poisoning. If any of you have experienced the effects of a total body evacuation when you are on the road, you will know how ugly this experience is. My wife ended up on a drip in hospital on arrival back home in Australia. I had to go to the UK and at the KIA airport in KL I spent 6 hours with diarrhoeia and vomiting, and sometimes I could only make it to the sink. Verdict is the worst food poisoning of my life.

Room Tip: Pick an aircon room on the lower floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor R, Propriétaire at Angkor International Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Customer
We thank you for bringing much precision in your comment and have already changed the problems you've had
about your food poisoning it is surprising because we have not to other client informs us of this.
Our Chef is our Belgian cuisine with international standards and all stainless steel products are purchased fresh daily market.
But if you really are sorry this has happened in our restaurant's prices are very decent $ 2.5 to $ 7.5.
Rooms for prices 15 to $ 35 with Lift
direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angkor International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor International Hotel

Address: 38-50 Street 148, Phnom Penh BP 519, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location for visiting the city, or business, this hotel renovated in 2012offers all the amenities, with modern lift, large superior rooms and a buffet breakfast in the new dining room.All services, visas, bus ticket, personal safety are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angkor International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.