We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quitapenas

Quitapenas
#14B Street 264 (next to corner of Street 19), Phnom Penh 0000, Cambodia
+(855)888 222 880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 798 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Patong, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a really enjoyable dinner at Quitapenas. The food, the atmosphere, the service were all good but I was actually expecting something more by the restaurant rated as #2 in PP.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    33
    26
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phnompenh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Can't agree whit all the hype about this place !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We came in and a very strong (open) kitchen-smell in the restaurant, so we get uppstairs to the balcony. Only 2 - 3 table's there not very inviting to seat there, so we went down to the terrasse for 5 seconds !! The bad smell from the rubish and urine in that street let us rush back to inside-restaurant. Very simple decoration, chairs not comfortable, the music and the echo from other tables too loud. Even 2 aircons can't cooling the room. Decoration on table zero ! We ordered octopus galicia style which was OK but hard to find more then 2 gram of octopus-meat inside, but almost 98 % of chroquette for about 8.--USD !! Octopus is very cheap in cambodia and shut be in, if given the name to this dish ! The shitake-mushrooms just OK for 7.--USD ! My wife eat american Beef with Rocquefort for 9.--USD, this was very tiny and the rocquefort-cheese small like the size of two fingernails. At last the small Seafood Paella for 20.--USD came with octotus and mussels just OK, but nothing fantastic ! Nobody told us, that the secound bread basket cost 2.--USD extra !! Wine by glass expensive from 6.-- to 8.-- USD, bottles from 22.-- to 130.--USD !! We can't believe that spanish wine's shut be more expensive then french wines, so we only drink one cambodia beer and one 0,5 l pelegrino all in all we paid 52.--USD for the above mention experience !! This place is too expensive for wat yout get !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to Phnom Penh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Every dish we ordered was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. The owner is very welcoming, enthusiastic and knowledgable about both the dishes and wines on the menu.
Quitapenas is tucked away down street 264 but is very near to the Pavilion on street 19 and to the
Kabiki.
We really enjoyed our meal and will return when we are next in Phnom Phen.
It really is worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Original & authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We enjoyed very good and original tapas. Unique and very tasty dishes, will for sure come back. If you enjoy real Spanish food, make sure to drop by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had a lunch with my clients there. Apparently the feedback on the trip advisor was quite right. The food was really nice especially, will definitely come back again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quitapenas also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Quitapenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quitapenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.