We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Common Tiger

The Common Tiger
No. 20, Street 294, BKK1, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
+855 23 212 917
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 798 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Pan-Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Me and my brother went here recently based upon the good reviews and tantalising photo's, and we certainly weren't disappointed. We opted for the tasting menu, which is 50 dollars a head, so not cheap, but worth every penny. The rather dishy chef came and told us about the first course (fresh tuna in this wonderous broth with onion and herbs), and after that the waiter would come and describe each and every dish, which was a really personal, lovely touch.

The food was of a fantastic quality, and was very inventive without being overly 'nouveau cuisine-y'. The flavour combinations were excellent, and I was particularly impressed with the duck which was medium rare- exactly how it should be. The wine was beautiful, and fairly priced. The restaurant itself is a bit special- a beautiful wooden and white veranada was where we sat, but you could also sit indoors in the minimalist but inviting setting. I was impressed they squeezed us in when we rocked up without a reservation, but it was busy, so I would definitely suggest booking. Very impressive indeed, and probably the best meal I've had in Asia.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    25
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Inventive and excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just had a great lunch and chat with the chef/owner. Great guy and I love his courage and cleverness in combining fresh, flavorful local ingredients into unexpected dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved the concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a very particular place... It's a real dining experience both for the place and its atmosphere and for the food.

Went only once, not because I didn't want to go back, but because generally I have other preferences, but it doesn't mean I didn't like it.

The chef is kind and very creative, you can see for how he serves the food what experiences he has made in life.. and you won't be disappointed...

Service was good and extremely enjoyable outdoor garden.

Will be back for sure

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having searched for a restaurant close by (stayed at the Patio Urban Resort) this place was just around the corner,what we found was motorbikes in the garden, motorbikes in the restaurant....found out later the chef Tim has an interest in cafe racer motorbikes and had them in the restaurant for the week, found this quite interesting and a fun idea.

Now the food.....very much modern style, we had the duck for entre' and pork belly for main, the duck was fantastic, the only down side I felt was the pork belly (my favourite dish in any restaurant) was quite fatty, I know it normally is, but this piece was very much so, and the skin was a touch under done, as is not very crispy. The wine list is not big, but I assume matched to the food on the menu.

You can see there is passion in the food served, the service is second to none, I would come here again, and would recommend The Common Tiger to those wanting a fantastic food experience. Maybe just crisp up the skin and it would be perfect!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A foodie's dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had the price fixe menu and the food was innovative and delicious. Each course let us amazed and surprised by the flavors. Timothy is extremely creative. Worth every penny!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Common Tiger also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Common Tiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Common Tiger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.