We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mexican Fiesta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ALMA Cafe

ALMA Cafe
No 43A St 123/454, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 92 424 903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 797 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $4 - $5
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We the chefs who prepare the food at ALMA are mothers and grandmothers,we prepare your food with love and careful preparation like we do for our own families. We do not make industrial size portions. Things are made in small batches. So when it's gone then it's gone. We apologize if your selections are sold out when you lunch with us. Thank you all for coming to ALMA. Our Lunch menu changes everyday.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Mexican Fiesta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Alma is hidden away in a little side street near the Russian Market, but it's absolutely incredible!
Really friendly staff, a menu which changes daily, and a great atmosphere thanks to some minimalist decorative choices.
Wonderful Mexican food is the only way to describe the fare, I had a Mexican Pizza which was just incredible. The daily drink is also included with the meal, and you get free refills which is an added bonus. The owner comes and makes sure that everything was good after you finish your meal, which adds a nice personal touch in such a busy place!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    30
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have eaten at ALMA several times since my last review and it is still the BEST cafe in Phnom Penh!! They are kid friendly. Yes, they have high chairs that are safe and don't tip over! You are greeted with friendly smiles and ice cold water as you review the menu of the day. The food is fresh, full of flavor, and perfect in portion size. We honstly don't want to eat anywhere else!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fresh, tasty and menu specials change daily. Clean restaurant with friendly staff. A must try if your in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a gem of a find in Phenom Penh. After desiring a change of flavor from Asian food we found this place. The people running it are very friendly and we got to meet the new cook from Mexico, along with the owners Aaron and Jessica. Definitely a place to come when you want some authentic mexican food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

There are new restaurants popping up in the area all the time and it is nice to see that there is one with quality food and a focus on quality.

They have a small menu selection each day which means that they do a couple of dishes really well. If you like them on their Facebook page you get to check out their day's selections before going there so if it's not to your fancy, you can skip it and go another day.

Meals are good value with drinks included (and free refills) and the $2 cake special each day is usually irresistible. Highly recommend going in a day when they have the kahlua chocolate cake!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ALMA Cafe also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to ALMA Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ALMA Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.