We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, shame the pool is still a month away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TeaHouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added TeaHouse to your Saves list
TeaHouse
#32 street 242, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“great place, shame the pool is still a month away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Beautiful and clean rooms that fit our budget of around $30 a night with Aircon, TV, safe. The buffet breakfast was brilliant. Shame the pool renovation wasn't up and running yet. The tuk tuk drivers out the front were great but feel free to negotiate with them and not take their "fixed" price notification on the teahouse wall.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    150
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
36
191
48
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Do not be put off by the petty things some reviewers pick at with this hotel.
Diddums, the restaurant is open-air. There are also half-a-dozen overhead and freestanding fans, and tropical gardens surrounding the dining area.
The pond inside the entrance is "dirty"? No, it's not. And even if it were, hotel staff can't possibly hope to stop dust blowing in.
The pool is closed for renovations. In its place - free sangria and complementary use of neighbouring pools.
No black-out curtains? The curtains are plenty dark. The street is quiet, as is the hotel. If you need to sleep in a cave-like environment, bring an eye-mask.
The rooms are spacious and clean. So are the public areas. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The location is excellent. Breakfast is great. The wi-fi and television options are generous. Value for money is phenomenal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The TeaHouse creates a wonderful first impression and then keeps on impressing, the physical space is welcoming, has a calm ambiance and is placed well in the city. The staff are truly lovely, they are polite, appear to be genuinely interested in where you are from,(particularly the lovely staff 'in-training' that we meet whilst there. They are all helpful and are always on hand to answer questions. I loved the room, the menu and the dining area was inviting. Upon arrival we were greeted with a cool long drink (much needed after a 6 hour drive). I would always stay here when in Phnom Penh and will recommend it to others. Rooms were clean and tasteful. Well done, I hope it retains all it has. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We only had a couple of nights but would definitely recommend it
- great service
- clean room with the best shower
- yummy mojitos (can't believe we didn't try the extensive tea list!)

The pool was closed for renovations so we used their 'sister' pool at the pavilion and it was heaven!

Lovely place to stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I've traveled around Cambodia for a total on 7 months in various different hotels and guesthouses but TeaHouse is the best by a mile!
The rooms were immaculate, spacious and beautifully decorated with satellite TV, air-con and even hairdryer!
The en suite was also large, modern and clean and included a double shower with hot water.
The restaurant was amazing, the chef is clearly incredibly talented and downstairs the decor is again beautiful and contemporary.
Breakfast is complimentary with the room but I would have paid for it had that been the case because it was delicious and there was such a selection of Western and Asian foods to choose from.
All the staff from the front desk, to the restaurant, to housekeeping were friendly, helpful, professional and happy - which is most important.
The tuk-tuk drivers (friends of TeaHouse) were also a joy and provided travel for affordable prices (rather than many other tuk-tuk drivers around Phnom Penh who see a Westerner and try to triple the price.)
The TeaHouse is right in the heart of the city but you would never know, it is so quiet and tranquil, it is truly a little sanctuary among the hustle and bustle of the city.
The price of the room was so affordable for what TeaHouse provides, we couldn't believe what a steal it was upon entering the room.
Thank you TeaHouse for making our stay so enjoyable, you are paving the way for other hotels in Cambodia.
See you all again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is fantastic!! The room was huge, air con worked brilliantly, it had a large bathroom with the first bath tub we encountered in a long time, the staff were great (welcome drink and cold towel on check in) and they allowed me to print my bus ticket free of charge. We absolutely loved the decor and art work on the walls/lamps on the ceiling. We ate in the restaurant with the 10% discount you get. It's quite expensive in comparison to other places but was a lovely experience. The buffet style breakfast was great with eggs made to order, fresh fruit and breads, baked beans, bacon asian food and juices.

We had a trainee serving us for dinner who was so sweet and eager to please! Staff carried our bags to the room for us and they were always keen to help.

It will be even better when the pool is finished being revamped! They offered all guests a free Sangria as compensation for it being out of use which I thought was nice.

Only down-side was the view from our room on the 1st floor - we kept the curtains closed when we were there but the room was so tastefully decorated and airey it didn't bother us. Not every hotel is perfect after all.

100% recommend this place it was very unique to other guest houses we have stayed in Cambodia

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having just returned from a great holiday in Cambodia, I would be only too happy to recommend the Tea House as the best place to stay. The rooms were spacious, modern and super clean. The food was amazing and the free buffet breakfast just perfect, more than continental, bacon, sausages and all you could ask for to start a busy day

Service was premium, and the staff always smiling and only too happy to be of assistance.

Close to all attractions, quiet, yet close to the night life and restaurants there would be no reason to look anywhere else, on my return I will be booking here again for sure.

The price of the rooms were so affordable for what you get. Thank you all for making our 3 day stay a perfect part of a wonderful holiday. Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TeaHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TeaHouse

Address: #32 street 242, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TeaHouse - Asian urban hotel - is a boutique accommodation right in the center of Phnom Penh, with a strong Asian touch. Rooms are appointed with free wi-fi, 32" TVs, safety-boxes, air-conditioning, hot showers and, of course, all the necessary equipment to make yourself a great tea! The TeaLounge on the ground floor serves over 30 kind of teas as well as a wide range of pastries and ice creams including many with tea flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your TeaHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TeaHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.