We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat, Meat, Meat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samba Brazilian Steakhouse

Samba Brazilian Steakhouse
Villa No 64, Preah Sihanouk Blvd, Sangkat Tonle Basac | Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh 1200, Cambodia
(+855) 23-222-599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #303 of 870 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phnom Penh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meat, Meat, Meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you're after a place to keep everyone happy, I don't think Samba is it! You've really got to be committed to the idea of eating as much meat as possible and, obviously, that doesn't suit a lot of people out there.

If this DOES sound great to you though, the meat buffet was actually fun to be a part of - the best was the pork char siu by far - and the accompanying salad bar (which also included a lasagne, chicken curry and other hot dishes) was also great. My friend had a birthday there and the staff gladly sang a loud but entertaining version of Happy Birthday for him which was fantastic.

The meat feast is the novelty part of this restaurant - I don't think any of us will rush to go back there because now we feel like we've done it. For $29.90 + service charge for the buffet, you have to be prepared to eat in order to feel like you're getting value for your money. While the staff were nice, we did feel that they crowded us a bit, particularly early on in the service. Also, there aren't many desert options to speak of so don't bother saving much room. The music and Brazilian ambiance was lacking and the big screen tv was a strange addition, although not uncommon in PP from what I've seen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Really good food and great staff. I am a meat lover and it's been a long time since my last "Rodizio", but this was one special. Quality meat!!! One of the best "picanha" I ever had in my stay in Asia!!!! The owners did a great job to recreate the brazilian atmosphere in the middle of Phnom Penh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Place for meatlovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Samba is a the place for meatlovers as you can eat till you drop and it is really nice meat the serve - we also had seafood. We had more different kinds of meat - e.g. lamb, beef, and sausages.
Samba also has a good list of wines at reasonable prices.
At the same time they have a nice range of salads and vegetables. For dessert they have a variaty of sweets and fruits - and not at least a chocolate fountain:-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Excellent - but noticed a slight decline from previous visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Undoubtedly a first-class restaurant and unique in Phnom Penh. The buffet was quite good as a starter before the selection of meats. I was a little disappointed that a good deal of the dishes on the buffer were empty and has to ask for some to be replenished. Also the selection was much less on the buffet than previous visits, and clearly less expensive items.

You can't beat the meet selection and they are cooked perfectly. On previous visits they came around much more frequently and and there was a lot of down time.

All in all very good, but they have lost there top-notch rating and hope they can get it back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I think I died and went to meat heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, the meat is all high quality and it just keeps coming! Only suggestion would be to avoid the VIP room if offered to be upgraded it lacked atmosphere and is better to stay in the main restaurant in my opinion. Great place though well worth checking out if in phnom penh.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samba Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Samba Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samba Brazilian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.