We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming to a place and not just a room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh to your Saves list
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like coming to a place and not just a room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I came for an academic conference, traveling alone and without much time for sightseeing. And so, I was focused on a short stay in Phnom Penh only. My search for a place focused on having breakfast and free wifi....and from there I read reviews. I knew that I may not ever return to Cambodia, and so I wanted to find a 'nice' place to make up a bit for my limited time and sightseeing opportunities. Staying at the Governor's House was like visiting a beautiful home of someone who has a clear sense of aesthetics. How could someone have such a sensibility and create such an atmosphere? Yet a place such as this can only be because of the staff that operates it. No one would praise this hotel (or return to it) if the staff wasn't as welcoming, helpful, and friendly. No issues from my perspective at all. Only 4 stars from me because there is not much within walking distance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Ron,

Thank you for writing such a nice review about our Boutique Hotel. We are glad that you appreciated our affordable rates including breakfast and WiFi during your last stay among us. We also are very pleased to know that you appreciated our quality service and we look forward to welcoming you back again and introduce you to some interesting places close from our location in the growing Boeung Keng Kang 1 Area.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    50
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
93
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A great choice to stay with The Governor's House. Location is super, close to town yet it gives a feeling like being at 'Home'. You have all little garden where you can see the greens in the business city. Lovely experience. Rooms are clean, cosy and practical. I'd rather pick another room type for my next stay tho... Each offers different concept and you'll like the ideas the owner puts everything together. I enjoyed the pool in the morning too and the meals were good. Best thanks to the GM, Francois for warm welcome - I am more than happy to recommend the place to my friends !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Maprang,

Thank you so much for your great review and the interest you have taken in our Boutique Hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our garden and pool as well as your room. We hope you will stay again with us during your next trip to Phnom Penh so that we let you discover other rooms and aspects of our property. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in Cambodia.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A very well made hotel with lots of taste and great feeling as soon as you pass the main door. Colonial style, lots of wooden style and indirect lights which at all time gives you a relaxing environment. To improve? Just the breakfast service, but miscommunication are so genuine that will go as a charming experience "made in Cambodia!"
Alain, is a great host and next time rest sure we will open some Blanc de Blanc!

See soon and thanks for your support...ciao

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Tristan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. It was a real pleasure to have you as a guest and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another break from Shanghai.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you want to stay in a little piece of paradise in the heart of Phnom Penh you should chose The Governor's House.
The place is amazing, beautiful and wondefully decorated. A real colonial peaceful building. The team is very helpful and sweet. The owner and the director are very kind and always available to help in any way.
Our rooms was very confortable and large enough for 2 people. We slept very well.
We also highly recommend Samlot at desk and our tuk tuk for 3 days, Raymond!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We really thank you for reviewing and supporting our Boutique Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our service and staff. Again, thank you for your comment and your kind recommendations. We hope to accommodate you in our property during your next travel to Asia.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhenjiang, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very friendly, helpful service. Wonderful atmosphere, colonial-style architecture and decor. Rooms are clean, very comfortable and fresh. Easy access to attractions throughout the city yet in a quiet area.

Restaurant was excellent, comfortable sitting areas inside and outside. Breakfast served at poolside. Owners on-site and very attentive.

Will happily stay there again on my next visit to Phnom Penh

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about our Boutique Hotel. We are delighted to see how great was your experience with us. The whole hotel's staff was really proud and happy to know that they have provide amazing service to you. We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our last "home" after a trip in Vietnam and Cambodia.
It was also feeling like "at home" and we loved it from the first moment!!
Small place (only 11 rooms) but nice decorated. Not a surprise the moment we knew that the owner Alain was in the antique-business for years!!
You will find a pretty nice mix of antique and design in all rooms and in whole the old colonial house.
You have to order your breakfast from the menu, and it was all very tastefull.
We were eating the first evening in the hotel, and was very delicious as well. Wide range of (French) wines as well, stocked in a special room.
Not really in the city-center, but a 10 minute tuk-tuk drive will bring you there.
Very helpful staff, and a great GM, "host" Mr Alain who is taking care of everyone and everything.
If you don't like the big city-hotels, but you are looking for a luxury small boutique hotel, you will definitely gonna feel "at home" here!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your nice experience on Trip Advisor. We work hard to insure that our guests feel like at home during their stay among us and we are very glad that you realize it. Thank you again for your positive feedback on our small luxury boutique hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in your "home" here in Phnom Penh.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice small hotel with great location. The owner, Alain, present and very hands on. Staff very sweet and helpful. Restaurant very good. Ended up having all suppers there because menu was good, food great, portions generous and prices reasonable.
The hotel is not the most quiet one, however, the noise did not ruin our beauty sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François S, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a comment about our hotel. We are glad that you appreciated our affordable fine dinning restaurant. Phnom Penh can be noisy sometimes because it is a growing Asian city but we never received complaints as we are settle back from the street with our garden on the front of the hotel. We look forward to accommodate you again in our property and exceed your expectations.

Mr. François Sigogneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.