We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel in Phnom Pehn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Salt Independence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Salt Independence to your Saves list
Villa Salt Independence
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   No.4, Street 294 | Sangkat Boueng Keng Kang 1, Chamcarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Away Villa Salt Phnom Penh)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 3 Nights only Pay 2
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel in Phnom Pehn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a gem of a hotel Villa Salt is despite being right in the middle of this big busy city you feel a world away inside. The pool and bar area is relaxing and private and the walkway to the room is so nice gives you a relaxed feeling walking over it with the water and fish etc.
The room we had was on the first floor overlooking the pool , very large suite great king size bed and really comfortable , nice size bathroom with good water pressure and hot water.
I understand from the staff this hotel is a couple of years old and has been very well decorated with comfortable furniture etc.
I would have to say its probably the cleanest hotel I have stayed in anywhere the place is spotless both the rooms and elsewhere its a credit to the cleaning staff here.
The location is also a huge bonus within a few minutes walk of so many great restaurants and a 5 minute tuk tuk to the riverside area.
I dont agree with some other comments here as far as value for money its fantastic cheaper than a big 5 star hotel but much better if you like to feel relaxed and at home.
I recommend Villa Salt to everyone coming to Phnom Pehn.

Room Tip: Pool View Suite was great but they also have 1 and 2 bedroom apartments which if we come again could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
13
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and me stayed in this boutique hotel during our short stay in Phnom Penh. Hotel is strategically located in the heart of the city. We love the rooms which are spotlessly clean and spacious. Lots of green around the hotel that made it serene. Staff are courteous and helpful. Real value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely little place in a quiet road in a great part of town. Staff very nice. Rooms clean and spacious, and tastefully done. Manager was very helpful with additional requests I had. Breakfast is fine but not large, which suited me fine and the coffee was good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Villa Salt though it sits in BKK 1 its just of a main avenue it sits on a quiet side street, the botique hotel offers wonderful rooms not your Hilton or Sheraton but still relaxing and spacious rooms. The staff are very helpful and ready to assist you should you need them.
Breakfast is not made on site but brought in could be hotter but still a good fare.
Phnom Penh and Villa Salt a nice mixture to those who complain about what you pay for negotiate a price but as I said its not the Hilton I am staying here for a month because it central its clean and has a nice ambience the price is non sequential but the style I relax in is you pay for what you get, I stayed at a cheaper hotel for $35 wonder why I left the next morning and moved here...

Room Tip: If you are a budget and find over $US60 a nite is not in your price range I suggest you find another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The good : rooms are really nice, spotlessly clean and spacious enough, the hotel is well located not far from street 51 (good for restaurants) and a 5 min tuk tuk ride to the riverside.

However we've been very disappointed, this is a pricey hotel and unfortunately we can't say it is worth it at all. The cheapest rooms offered according to the hotel leaflet are 99 usd wich we negotiated because we thought it was well over priced. We then thought that maybe a very nice breakfast by the pool before our flight to Kuala lumpur could justify the price, we then learnt that breakfast was in fact miserable consisting in a choice in a list, you could for exemple have only 2 toasts as a breakfast OR a tiny fruit salad OR a muffin.... again we negotiated to have 2 options for breakfast as we were to have a whole morning on the plane and needed to have a decent breakfast. We asked to have it at 6:15 am as our taxi was arranged for 6.45 am, at 6:30 we were still waiting for it and I got my tea at 6:40am so we had to leave the half of it as we were late for our flight!

I wouldn't recommend for the price, I think they can offer a better service for a much better price, there are plenty of other good hotels in Phnom penh which are cheaper and a lot better so I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Positive: conveniently located and spacious, clean rooms. that's about it!
Negative: cold staff, terrible breakfast: very small + we had to insist to get what we ordered (the tea never came)
Conclusion: overpriced, not worth the money spent
Recommendation: avoid! there are much better places in Phnom Penh!

Room Tip: Ask for a big discount if you plan to stay here or go somewhere else because this hotel is a rip-off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just a lovely stay. Well designed and lovely rooms - spacious, nice bathrooms, clean. Super nice staff, accommodating our error in booking with an upgrade, organizing bikes to hire and recommending great shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: No lift! Room 101 on ground floor is great for families. 2 large beds, no stairs. But we saw rooms u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Salt Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Salt Independence

Address: No.4, Street 294 | Sangkat Boueng Keng Kang 1, Chamcarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Away Villa Salt Phnom Penh)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Salt Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Salt Independence is located only a few steps from Phnom Penh's INDEPENDENCE MONUMENT within the area known as BKK1, close to the Riverside area and easy access to the new Aeon Mall , Naga World Casino and many International NGO's and Embassies. This very private boutique hotel exudes tranquillity from the moment you enter you are immersed in its cool tropical gardens. A beautiful water feature with large Buddhist statue greets you on the short walk to your suite adding to the tranquil feeling at Villa Salt Independence. The private swimming pool and cocktail bar provide an ideal haven for relaxing and sipping a cocktail after an exciting day exploring the city of Phnom Penh. Because of the hotel's fabulous location our guests have easy access to many excellent restaurants , bars and tourist activities within a few minutes walk or tuk tuk ride. The concept of the villa's interior is impressive. The non-traditional approach has each of the Suites superbly appointed and unique in their design. The hotel has 12 Suites including several with 1 and 2 bedrooms including a kitchen, most of the rooms have their own private terrace and are equipped with flat-screen televisions, fridges, internet connection , fans and air-conditioning. Many guests describe Villa Salt Independence the perfect peaceful and quiet retreat within the bustling city of Phnom Penh which is only enhanced by the personal service provided by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Salt Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Salt Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.