We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Gate Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Street 278, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, staff and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was my first time in Cambodia but my traveling partner, my sister, has been many times. She always stays here. The staff really takes care of you and makes an effort to get to know you. They try to address you by name. Breakfast is very basic with eggs, rice or noodles, some kind of meat, pancakes, bread, fruit, juice, coffee and tea. The rooms on the 3rd floor and above (deluxe) were airy, spacious and clean. The lower level rooms are basic but fine if you are on a tight budget. If you need a pool, there is one down the street that charges $5 per day for use. Put your laundry out in the morning and it comes back clean, on hangers in the afternoon (no extra charge). Tuk Tuk drive Polo is stationed outside. He speaks very good English, is friendly and knows the city well.

Room Tip: We booked the standard room with breakfast (for 2) at $28/night. Then we saw the deluxe room for $35...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    42
    11
    2
See reviews for
8
20
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed at the golden gate on an extended business trip. I booked a suite as it had a small kitchen so I could prepare my own meals to avoid eating in restaurants every day. The room was clean and suited my needs, with a good sized bed and a desk. Internet was ok if I used the cable but the wifi was a bit hit and miss. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is ok, menu when it is quiet or buffet when busy, mostly asian food but that is what I like. Good location with plenty of international restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a balcony but can get street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

So I was part of a large group that was working for an NGO in Cambodia building houses. I have been to Cambodia before but never to Phnom Penh. We arrived early in the morning around 9.30am and our rooms were ready for us to check in. I was in a Standard room (114) because I booked late and I have to say as many people have said this is a very nice hotel and you get want you pay for. The room was quite spacious and clean, bathroom was basic but functional. I would recommend unless you are on a tight budget go up the next level in rooms and ask for a window that looks outside. My room did have a window but it was of the building next door. I loved the fact that the laundry was included and done daily, especially as we were working outside each day so we didn't have to take smelly sweaty clothes home.
In general nice clean and cheap place, and convenient to a lot of bars & restaurants.

Room Tip: Tip, unless you are on a tight budget go for the Deluxe room as the Standard is okay but it is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We came as a group, paying $33 a dollar per night. The staff were friendly and the location is amazing but if you want the location we would have rather stayed at the kings boutique around the corner that comes with a pool and seemed to be the same price when we looked on booking.com. The best bit for us was that they did your laundry for free. For breakfast we ate elsewhere. Paulo was the our favourite tuk tuk driver, definitely worth asking for him as he gives you the right price so there is no need for haggling, you will find him outside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just stayed a week at this place, US$120 for a 6 night stay including breakfast and laundry service. The rooms are fairly clean, the bathroom is slightly weirdly laid out in that the shower is right next to the toilet (meaning it gets wet), and the beds are comfortable. All rooms have aircon plus a ceiling fan, a TV and a fridge. Great little place, I'd stay there again if going on my own though if I was going on a romantic trip or something, I might go for something a little more classy with a pool. Otherwise, there's a hotel round the corner that allows you to use their pool for US$5 including a free soft drink and a towel so if you want a pool AND a cheap room, staying here and swimming there is probably your best bet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've stayed here several times and it's my "go-to" hotel in Phnom Penh. The standard rooms are nothing to write home about (and some are quite unpleasant, with fake windows and no natural light). The deluxe rooms are good value, though - spacious and clean, with big fridge, cable TV and free laundry service. The internet connection is reasonably reliable, though it doesn't work 100% of the time. I found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.

The location is great, though be aware that Street 278 is full of popular bars and restaurants, so it's not the place to stay if you're looking for a peaceful, quiet retreat. There are dozens of excellent places to eat within 5 minutes' walk of the hotel, and it's also near Lucky supermarket, ANZ bank, U-Care pharmacy and lots of other useful expat/tourist shops and services.

Note that some of the rooms (including the deluxe rooms) smell of stale cigarette smoke, even if you didn't specifically request a smoking room.

The breakfast is very poor, but with a fridge in the room and lots of restaurants nearby there is no need to rely on it.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We've stayed at the Golden Gate a number of times now, and will continue to do because it's great value for money. And also, they do your laundry every day for free!

Seriously, nice staff, great location, good price.

It's not The Raffles. It's very affordable. Don't expect more than what you're paying for.

Good location with a number of bars and restaurants in the same street. Recommend trying the pizza across the road, the pies from the pie shop down the road, the breakfast at Herb Cafe at the end of the street, and the drinks at Liquids bar down the road.

For me, the only negative is the breakfast. It's always cold. Skip it and grab something at Herb Cafe on the corner.

Good proximity to Lucky supermarket (walking distance or $1 tuk tuk), which also has a great liquor store and pharmacy next door.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road will be prone to street noise, but also have a view. Rooms at the back have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: 9 Street 278, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Phnom Penh
Golden Gate Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.