We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, in both expenses and experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Gate Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Street 278, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value, in both expenses and experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I traveled to Phnom Penh as part of a school group and, for the first stop during our first time in Cambodia, I found our time at the Golden Gate Hotel particularly enjoyable. The facilities are clean and accessible; and my friend and I shared a spacious room on the first floor of the new wing, with a great little balcony overlooking the bustling street. The Golden Gate offers free WiFi, breakfast, and a laundry service with your washing returned the same day.

I found every member of staff to be simply wonderful. On several nights, a group of friends and I stayed out quite late playing sey -- a Cambodian game rather like hacky sack -- with some of the hotel's staff and tuk-tuk drivers from across the road. They were extremely patient with our terrible skills! I also had complete faith in my floor's cleaning lady, who was very sweet.

The Golden Gate is in a great location on a busy little street full of cafes, bars, spas, etc., and there are of course many tuk-tuks lingering around to get you where you need to go. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. The people here particularly made my first few days in Cambodia well worth remembering.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
8
18
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Not a bad location for the bars and restaurants but far too noisy for me. It is located not far from the Independence Monument. Quite a distance from the Riverside area, can be walked, but a Tuk Tuk is a better bet. Save your feet for something else. I had a dingy ground floor room next to the front entrance, in the Annex portion of the hotel. Depressing little en-suite shower room. Never opened the bedroom curtain or window it just wasn't practical in that room. Had a big cockroach running up the wall one night, which one of the very nice staff caught and removed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK. Free laundry very handy. Avoid a ground floor basic room at all cost. I am sure there are better rooms, their web site has pictures which suggests that is the case.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The accommodation in the cheaper places in Phnom Penh is basic in any case, we stayed one night in a suite for USD45.00 and it was good but the next few nights we were in a standard room and they were pretty bad but were only USD25.00 per night.
The breakfast included in was really good, mainly western food but also some Khmer stuff like noodles etc.
If you do stay here make sure you stay in the main part of the hotel not in the building across the road. In the main part of the hotel the rooms are of a much better standard.
The location is good and is close to the palace and other sites, the tuk-tuk drivers should only charge you USD2.00 to take you pretty much anywhere within the city.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main part of the hotel not in the building across the road. In the main pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klokkarstua, NORWAY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Clean room with balcony. No elevator. The stairs to top floor was heavy to walk for old people (like me). Bathroom good.Nice people working in the reception and helpful to carry luggage. Breakfast in diningroom opposit on the other side of the street. Good food.
WenheS

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good location and reasonable price, and they do your laundry daily - so no excuse for inside out pants! Go for a room in the annex, they are bigger and with a kitchen, plus staff are less grumpy than in the main building.

Room Tip: Stay in the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Good value and handy location in a small street with good bars and restaurants. Make sure you have a room with a window. Bathroom is average by western standards but clean and good for Cambodia. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I travelled with my two sisters and we booked the deluxe room. The room looked away from the street, but at least it wasn't blocked by buildings. The room itself was spacious and lovely, with buffet breakfasts (convenient and strictly ok) thrown in. Though the hotel lane is away from the main river view (about 2.5 kms away) it has its own charm nonetheless, and makes for a good walk to the main area (national museum) etc. There was some miscommunication regarding the free pick up from the airport, but they were very proactive, suggested we take a taxi, and paid us for the ride when we checked in. Excellent, clean service and the staff at the front desk is very helpful with booking tickets on the Mekong Express Bus (the most popular bus) to Siem Reap. But since the small things count, perhaps the bottled water should have been complimentary (They cost only 50c, but most of the other hotels in Cambodia, with much cheaper rates have it as a part of their service). Wifi worked well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: 9 Street 278, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Phnom Penh
Golden Gate Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.