We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sad Site, yet a must see.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum

Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum
Street 113, Boeng Keng Kang, Phnom Penh 3, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$76*
and up
Private Tour: Phnom Penh City Tour including the...
Ranked #2 of 29 Attractions in Phnom Penh
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former torture and detention center is now a museum dedicated to the victims of the Khmer Rouge.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Sad Site, yet a must see.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The S-21 site is a very sad site to visit. Our tour guide was a Khmer Rouge survivor who told us his story first hand. It is hard to believe that the Genocide only happened 40 years ago. The site is not very well maintained, but it is a valuable museum. This site teaches you why Cambodia is so behind from the rest of the world today. Genocide should never happen again in history.
We also went to the Killing Fields, Choeung Ek. Both sites should be visited on the same day.
We are going to see the movie later on that is associated with it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,783
    1,150
    283
    46
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,758 reviews 1,758 reviews
932 attraction reviews
Reviews in 333 cities Reviews in 333 cities
908 helpful votes 908 helpful votes
“Sad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tip: $2 ticket
Tuk tuk (Killing Fields plus Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum should be less than $13).

I found it even more impressive than the Killing Fields. I couldn't enter in the cells. It's scary and deeply sad imagine what happened there. Specially after you listen the victims stories (audio guide) and see the pics of the prisioners.
Must see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“well presented .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I think this museum is an essential site to visit when in pp , nothing spared to the imagination , it tells the world what happened there .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Grafically formative but need to get services of guide to give more information. The building itself tells a lot of stories with all the torture tools but explanations are limited

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depok, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A painful place you must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It doesn't make any sense how a painful place we must visit. But Tuol Sleng is really remind us on why we should stop hate others. Look at what Pol Pot has done to more than 20,000 people. He and rouge khmer killed them all, even babies and children. That's totally insane.
At the 1st time I entered the museum, it was creepy. I can feel the pain in every inch of those buildings, the prisons, the pictures, the grave of 14 found bodies in that area when it's 1st found, the stories of 12 survivors, everything. Hope things like this wouldn't happen again, ever.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.