We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly fun but a worthwhile experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum

Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum
Street 113, Boeng Keng Kang, Phnom Penh 3, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 47 attractions in Phnom Penh
Type: History Museums, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This former torture and detention center is now a museum dedicated to the victims of the Khmer Rouge.
Phnum Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
“Not exactly fun but a worthwhile experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The atrocities carried out by the Khmer Rouge regime beggar belief. I was as moved here as I've ever been. I went planning to meet a friend there but he wound up in hospital and I would say it actually worked out better. Wonder round, read the information boards. Ponder the horror. It is not a place I had many words to share anyway so going alone was for the best

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,479
    946
    220
    36
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting but very sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I did this after going to the killing fields, and wished they would have also provided an audio tour. There were a lot of pictures which we very disturbing to see, and many photos of those executed - the children in the photos were the most difficult to look at. I think I would recommend the killing fields over this if you only have time for one, as that location provided so much more information and history.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good if you have a local guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The visit was very informative although it is a lot to take in. I would recommend taking a local guide to have the full story and understand the scope of what happened there. I would not recommend this visit to children. At the end of the visit, you have the opportunity to talk to 2 survivors

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not so much information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

compared to the killing fields (which i've done before) not so informative, but still something to see. the prison cells and pictures of the people tortured there. you can also meet survivors.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changzhou, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sad, uncomfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I think it is a good place that you can understand a special history of Cambodia, but the torture instruments, the blood on the ground, the bones, the photos etc. you will feel sad and repressive. So we gave up the trip to killing fields. Tips: arrange the tour in the afternoon, if you don't want the sad mood whole day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum to your Saves list