We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Orchidee Restaurant

L'Orchidee Restaurant
Street 464, Nr82 | 300m from Russian market, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
+855 70 998 123
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 680 restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Cambodian, European, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dear Customers, Please be informed that the restaurant IS CLOSE every Tuesday. See you soon!! Best Regards from the team
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was pretty much excited to eat here because of all the good reviews. I wasn't disappointed at all. I agree with most reviewers, the prices are unbelievably cheap. The only bad thing that happened was the swarm of insects that came inside the restaurant. Since it was during the rainy season, some insects come out and are attracted to light. The staff were very apologetic even if it was not really their fault.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    58
    15
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tawonga, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Been there and will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have eaten here twice on our current visit to Phnom Phen and we have truly enjoyed it. The food is wonderful and the prices are unbelievably cheap. Staff are friendly and the surroundings/atmosphere are great too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed after reading the great reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Restaurant didn't really have a great menu , struggled to find anything spicy or anything that jumped out and said 'Eat Me' . The bbq seafood was disappointing so was the fried morning glory, all we had were the stalks (not sure if that was how it was suppose to be as we had better.)Fried rice was supposed to have pork but could hardly taste any. Plus the mango salad with glass noodles and chicken was average, hardly tasted any mango in it.

Service staff mistook our order for drinks, my partner order a glass of beer and they brought us a jug! Had to drink it as well otherwise the beer would go warm.Beer not my first choice. Plus they didn't even asked me.

Had two cats hanging around our table the majority of our meal and then one cat jump on the chair next to me and if it had the chance it would have jumped onto the table. Service staff did it's best to keep the cats away from us but they just kept coming back.

Food was average, service ok. Overall not a very pleasant experience and would not go back again and to me, the restaurant is overrated .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not so much of a gem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

we visited this Restaurant last night due to very good reviews on this site.
The food was ok but that's it.
we asked for the Mango salad to be brought out first before we ordered any more dishes as we like to eat it as a starter the taste was ok but no wow factor that we have found in other places.
the three other dishes we ordered were all ok but both dishes we ordered with prawns were very disappointing the prawns were very small and to get five small prawns in a flat plate of brown gravy was not what I expected from the place with such good reviews.
Another reviewer liked the owners pets but if your girlfriend is not keen on cats then this is not the place for you as they are constantly under your table and jumping onto empty seats to get to the table! several times the girls tried to carry them away but they kept coming back and in the end they just gave up.
the surroundings are ok and clean enough looking but the cat problem and the average food will prevent us returning unlike other places we have visited.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Western and Khmer Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I ate here with a small group of friends. The food was great. We tried a little bit of everything from steak to raw fish salad. All was delicious.

The staff is also very friendly. I definitely would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is spending some time in Phnom Penh. However, it is a bit far from most of the Western Tourist Hotels in Phnom Penh. If you happen to be at the Russian Market for a shopping or sightseeing trip, walk two blocks over and enjoy a great meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Orchidee Restaurant also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to L'Orchidee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Orchidee Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.