We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“owner in place , now have a new chef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Patate

La Patate
Street 5, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
012-750-704
Improve this listing
Ranked #360 of 870 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“owner in place , now have a new chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

During a long periode the owner ad 2 restaurants,meaby that led to a miner taking care...now better from food and big choice , ok french fries , sandwich , etc look new menu and wine , beer list excellent..take your time and enjoie a good meal..

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great selection of beers but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

As Belgians, we could not wait to try some of our local food in Phnom Penh.

The beer selection is great and cheap (3.5-4.5$). They do wash their glasses with the wrong soap, so the beer does not have any foam which is not very tasty.

The food is average, the fries are ok. The portions are small making the dishes expensive (for example the meatball in tomato sauce consists of just three meatballs for $8.5).

Decor could be nicer. It is decorated as a USA diner with some Tintin books. Some Belgian/French music would be a great added value. Great potential, but could be better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Would like to rate it higher but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had one of the mini burgers which was quite fabulous. On the other hand, the great fries that I heard about were not so great. Would have given it a "very good" rating if it had not been for that disappointment. When you get your mouth all set for what you've heard was wonderful, it kind of puts a damper on the meal as a whole. Did not finish the fries and was left hungry with just the mini burger.
If I eat there in the future with better results, I'll upgrade my rating. I'll most likely go back as they have decent prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Just tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I did browse tripadvisor on the search to a decent european meal and read about La Patate. So I went there for a dinner.
I must say that I had a great meal, vol au vent with fries. The dish was really well filled, and after finishing it I was so full! It was really delicious! Fries were ok, but not as mentioned as in the other reviews, where they write that they are home made fries. Real belgian fried do really taste a bit better.
Anyway, over all had a great meal! But I think it was a bit pricy, incl a soda I payed around 11usd, where normally you can get a good european meal for about 6 or so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great French food, like Mama used to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

La Patate is a nice little restaurant serving Belgian and French specialties. The French fries are probably the best you can get in Cambodia. The choice of Belgian beers is awesome. The meat is properly cooked and the sauces are great. The wine list has a wide variety of choices from many countries. A bit pricey for PP but you can t get good food for nothing. The owner is very sympathetic and they make cruise dinners every Sundays.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Patate also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to La Patate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Patate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.