We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed after 20 hours on airplanes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh to your Saves list
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #51 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Keswick, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just what I needed after 20 hours on airplanes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I arrived at 11:30pm, was checked in by the efficient staff in a few minutes, given the breakfast location and had my bags brought to my room immediately. I crashed at midnight, ate like a queen at the buffet the next morning and was gone by noon. It was clean and quiet and the food was great. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I was on my way to Kep the next day. I was able to find my way around quickly to pick up supplies and had plenty of offers from Tuk Tuk drivers if I wanted to go further than a quick walk. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful.
Deb N

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Ms. Deb,
It was a pleasure receiving and learning of your wonderful experiences while staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    291
    96
    16
    4
See reviews for
46
177
63
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Ideally located for sightseeing. Only a short walk to both the night and day markets and the river. Plenty of restaurants to chose from by the river. The rooms are what you would expect for a city hotel. Reasonably sized with standard furnishings. We had breakfast each day of our stay, there was a reasonable choice of western food. We had lunch one day and that was good. There was a very long 'happy hour' in the bar, all drinks were half, price which made them a good buy.
The staff were friendly and the service was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam (Pat D),
Appreciate the favourable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbum0204
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights
Nice location, nice hotel
We booked a room with balcony and that was lovely,also clean,would recommend asking for a balcony.over looks USA embassy.
Breakfast was ok ...staff rather slow both in restaurant and bar, overall a lovely hotel ..nice staff ,clean and just right for what we wanted ,we would use again if in the area .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed 2 night in February as was recommended by our tour company. The hotel is a little tired and could do with updating. We noticed a sign in the lift saying the hotel has a non smoking policy with effect from 14 January. I myself smoke but my husband does not and he said it felt smokey in the lounge/bar and lobby area.

The room was clean and tidy but the bedrooms do need updating especially the bathroom. We noticed one bedroom opposite ours had white furniture compared to our dark furniture so perhaps they are updating the rooms.

Our evening meal was ok. Came some half hour late even through everyone else in the restaurant had been served. Breakfast was ok but no eggs on offer. I had to ask the chef to get the toaster to work but that was not heating properly so no toast.

The hotel has a good location not far from the river front where there are many restaurants, bars and food stores. You can walk but take you life in your hands as the roads are busy with every form of transport. If you want to take a tuk tuk they are just outside the hotel. The hotel is opposite the American embassy and yet on the park area in front of the hotel there are prostitutes there all day and night.

No pool and only balconies to deluxe rooms.

If this hotel was updated then we would probably give it another go if we returned to Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you on the feedback and kindly allow me to clarify on some of the comments posted;
a) Non Smoking- all our guest rooms and public areas are designated Non Smoking, however smoking is permissible at the enclosed Smoking Room in the lounge and external porch area
b) Breakfast egg- available and served fresh, any style, from the buffet egg station
c) Guest room - work in progress, to upgrade the overall fixtures and furnishing
d) Dust park area- the authorities are diligently working to eradicate the ill social activities
Meanwhile necessary improvements have been taken on and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We overnight at this hotel and upgraded from a double deluxe room to one with a balcony as we like to sit outside and enjoy a drink and coffee in the morning- very minimal cost. Check in was smooth and efficient with english speaking staff that could not do enough for us.
Our room was large with a huge bed and very efficient airconditioning. It is equipped with TV, room safe, free wifi,frig, and a welcoming basket of fruit.
It is centally located with lovely parks nearby and not far to a mini mart and restaurants.
The furnishings were modern and spotlessly clean- even have a maid to come and turn down your bed for you (if you find that task too difficult!!!!!)
I would stay here again and recommend it -- I did not counter any of the negative issues raised by other reviewers

Room Tip: Depending on whether you like a verandah or not you need to pay a little extra ($20)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,
G'day and thank you for staying with us and for the pleasant and encouraging feedback.
Meanwhile we do hope to be able in welcoming both of you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We only over-nighted here in transit to Siem reap and as soon as we arrived, began to wish we had a little more time here.

We disembarked at a Boat terminal from a fast boat that we had taken from Cau Doc in Vietnam.

Transfer to the Hotel was smooth and we had an excellent guide, a vivacious Cambodian woman named Len. She was uber-professional and right on the ball the whole time and very personable to boot.

We checked in and headed straight to the Royal palace which is an excellent attraction. Unfortunately our schedule did not even allow us much of a look around Pnomh Penh,.

Cambodia has always been a bit of an enigma to me and although a few days in Siem Reap filled in a lot of gaps i want to find out more about why this is such a tortured country and still has not realised proper self-determination, instead being run as a proxy of Vietnam when clearly the will of the people in two elections has not been respected.

The hotel was well up to expectations, well appointed comfortable clean and airy.

We had breakfast only in the Hotel but it was well presented and of a good standard catering to both Western and Asian tastes.

We had an early transfer for our flight to Siem Reap and we bade farewell to the irrepressible Len at the airport.

I would come back to revisit Phnom Penh and would be more than happy to stay at th Sunway again.

Room Tip: None particularly - we had no complaints and slept like tops. Stayed here overnight Sat 5 / Sun 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Steve,
Glad to receive your positive and encouraging comments and we hope to welcome you back soon for a longer stay, in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It was a bit tired again, but the room was ok although the shower did leak and spill over the floor as it was in a bath. People very nice and the breakfast was nice. We had a bar to have a drink in which was pleasant. No pool at this hotel though, but as we only stayed one night it wasn't important. Pleasant hotel every thing lovely and clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelPhnomPenh, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Ms. Christine,
Appreciate the encouraging comments and hoping to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: 1 Street 92 | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city center at one of Phnom Penh’s exclusive areas, Sunway Hotel is a 4-star international chain hotel, comprising of 138 spacious guest rooms and suites as well as 10 meeting rooms. Surrounded by lush greenery amidst colonial buildings, the hotel is a walking distance to Mekong river front, major shopping, ministries, embassies, banks and tourist attractions and it is only 20 minutes drive from Phnom Penh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Sunway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.