We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I rounded up from 3.5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Hotel Le Royal to your Saves list
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 223 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Dubai
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“I rounded up from 3.5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I get the feeling that the Raffles Hotel Le Royal is trying very hard to be an authentic colonial experience and for the most part it works. The building, though very big, does pretty much hit the right notes and the staff is very hospitable and welcoming, but there are some off notes:

- Food and beverage is VERY expensive, especially when you compare it to other places in Phnom Penh, and Cambodia especially. I was pretty taken a back (although they did have a generous happy hour)

- Lights seem to have to be BRIGHT and music LOUD. A bit sensory overload. Especially in the bar I would put the lights on a dimmer and ask the piano player to play a little softer.

- I'm not sure what work around the pool couldn't wait until daylight but i hope it was important because it definitely woke us up.

- Being greeted by name is nice, but being greeted by name every two minutes gets a little tiresome

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your constructive comments on TripAdvisor, and for giving us your suggestions to cater to your needs better in the future. We appreciate your comments as an opportunity for us to improve; nevertheless, we are delighted to see that you had an overall enjoyable time with us at the Raffles Hotel Le Royal.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again when you are in the region, and please do feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

With best regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    273
    64
    25
    9
See reviews for
154
526
91
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I was in Phnom Penh on a business trip - so I was traveling with colleagues. From the moment of arrival, you are welcomed warmly - and that continues for the duration of your stay. The hotel lobby is inviting, great for relaxing or chatting business. The hotel offers free wifi for their guests, but beware - it can be spotty and slow at times. If you can make time, take a swim or relax by the pool, which is situation in a tropical, central courtyard. The rooms are spacious, airy and allow for plenty of natural light. If you can, request a room on the third floor, as it seems to be a tad quieter than the first or second floors. My room included a bath and separate shower - water pressure was excellent, as was availability of hot water. Though not a fan of your typical buffet, I decided to check the breakfast buffet out, as it was included as part of the room cost. I am glad I did - a little something for everyone - healthy to indulgent - with everything in between. Only complaint was the coffee could sometimes be a bit cooler than I normally like, however the staff was quick to address once I brought this to their attention.

Rooms: spacious, functional, comfortable beds, business friendly

Musts: Breakfast, a morning swim, Drinks in the Elephant Bar

Bottom Line - old world charm mixed with modern amenities, attentive staff, a bit of an indulgence - but well worth it - you will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Raffles Hotel Le Royal as your base when visiting Phnom Penh on business with colleagues, and thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that we were able to cater to all of your needs, and that you enjoyed the amenities of your room and the hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience the internet speed has caused, which as you mention is complimentary to all of our guests. We have actually addressed this internally, and are about to launch a better solution in the beginning of the coming month. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy this during one of your next trips, of course along with a hot coffee served at breakfast in the morning.

Again many thanks for your kind review, and we look forward welcoming you back to Phnom Penh and the Raffles Hotel Le Royal soon.

With kind regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a few meals here and thought the food was wonderful. The staff were great, always ensuring that they could help us in any way they could. The daily breakfasts were incredible - such a huge selection of fresh, delicious food to choose from. A must every Sunday morning!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review on TripAdvisor, and for choosing the Raffles Hotel Le Royal as your residence in Phnom Penh! We are especially glad that you enjoyed not only the hotel, but also our restaurants, and our colleagues and the assistance they have given during your stay.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Phnom Penh and to the Raffles Le Royal one day soon. We look forward to your return visit.

With personal regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this hotel, we were blown away by the courtesy and professionalism of the staff, and the charm of the hotel. We were greeted at the door with cold, damp facecloths to refresh ourselves (this was everytime we entered the hotel having been out), and shown to the bar where we were served a welcome drink whilst the staff checked us in. The rooms were checked about four times a day, and hand towels we had used early afternoon were changed by late afternoon. Beds were turned down each evening.
The old fashioned style house phones scattered around the public areas of the hotel are working phones; try them!
The restaurant staff were all very attentive and the food was excellent. We ate breakfast there each day and also had lunch and dinner on one occasion; all excellent.
I would recommend a Tuk Tuk to travel in to town (approx. $5 each way). Couldn't fault this hotel at all, and we also stayed at Raffles in Seam Reap, which was just as good!

Room Tip: This hotel is in a relatively quiet spot, so as far as noise is concerned, it doesn't matter. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and we are delighted to read about your experience on TripAdvisor. It was a true pleasure welcoming you, and being assured that you enjoyed Phnom Penh, the Raffles Hotel Le Royal, and our restaurants in the hotel.

It is also great that you had an equally enjoyable time at the Raffles Grand Hotel d’Angkor, and we certainly do appreciate your loyalty. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon here in Cambodia.

With kind regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as prt of a packaged trip from UK. The hotel was exceptional in many ways, the building was impressive and welcoming with high ceilings and a warmth about it that made you feel at home. The staff were impecably dressed and well mannered without being oppresively attentive. We were only booked half board but stayed in to eat as the food was excellant and plentifull with a huge variety catering for the international clientele in residence. Our room was huge with an eaqualy huge bed, we joked that two telephones would have been good to keep in touch at night the bed was that big. Attention to detail was quite incredable, the beds were turned down at night, annoyingly at 7.00pm every night just as we were dressing for dinner, but that is a small gripe as they came back later when we were out of the room. We wanted to explore Phnom Penh by foot and Tuk Tuk and sought advice from the information desk. You would have thought we were the most important people in the world with he care and attention given to the advice and help we were given. The downside....... we had to leave after four days to move on. If we go back to Phnom Penh we will go back to Raffles no question.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure to cater to your needs during your visit to Phnom Penh, and to assist making your stay at the Raffles Hotel Le Royal as comfortable as possible. Many thanks for sharing your Experience on TripAdvisor, and for the compliments paid to our culinary team, and all of our colleagues who take great pride looking after every guest visiting our hotel.

We look forward to a return visit, hopefully soon, and welcoming you back to Phnom Penh’s Palatial Residence.

With kindest regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Very good services..all staff always smile and helpful..worth every penny stay here.. one staff goes extra mile preparing halal dishes since im a muslim even thou its not in the breakfast menu .good deed..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for you’re your recent visit and for taking the time sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to see that you had an enjoyable time with us, and that our colleagues went the extra mile catering to your needs and requests.

We hope you will include Phnom Penh again when traveling in South East Asia, and to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is really nice. Old fashioned with a service nearly perfect. Swimming pool is just perfect.
Breakasft very good. Situation perfect.

I would juste quite a few drawbacks :
-many rooms need a real refurbishment
-the elephant bar is a little too classy and lacks the "pub" style. You don't really want to stay there and have a cocktail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR-DOR, Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor and your recent stay with us. It is great to see that you had a pleasant time with us, and we appreciate your comments and feedback.

It is great to see that you enjoyed the sincere service provided by all of our colleagues, and of course the pool of the hotel. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations in our Elephant Bar, which is often praised for the ambiance and the relaxed atmosphere which is appreciated by many of our guests. We are however looking at a few gentle changes which we should see in the near future.

We hope Phnom Penh will be again on your itinerary on one of your future travels, and we look forward welcoming you then.

With best regards,

Gerrit H Thesing
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Le Royal

Address: 92 Rukhak Vithei Daun Penh | Sangkat Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#3 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Le Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over eighty years, the Raffles Hotel Le Royal has been the choice of royalty, dignitaries and celebrities travelling through the capital of modern Cambodia, Phnom Penh. Graced through the years by legends such as former U.S First Lady Jacqueline Kennedy and French adventurer André Malraux, this landmark Phnom Penh hotel sets the benchmark for refined enchantment in Cambodia. Ideally situated at the heart of the city, this leading Phnom Penh luxury hotel offers easy access to the prime shopping attractions in the city, such as the Central Market and Russian Market. It also makes an ideal base for sight-seeing tours of Wat Phnom, the resplendent Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, the National Artefacts Museum, and dazzling sunset boat cruises along the Mekong River. The epitome of sophistication, this luxurious hotel’s French colonial elegance is complemented by modern comforts and a leisurely ambience. Enjoy some of the finest in French and Cambodian delicacies in Restaurant Le Royal and the signature Femme Fatale champagne cocktail of the Elephant Bar, the centre of the city’s social scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Raffles Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Phnom Penh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Hotel Le Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.