We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Palace II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Palace II to your Saves list
Diamond Palace II
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   #29EO, Street 178, Next to Royal Palace | National Museum, River Front, Phnom Penh 12206, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

In retrospect,nothing particularly outstanding about this hotel, staff were quite helpful,rooms were clean albeit and little small(but still more than comfortable) and the location is good. However, there's nothing much i can complain about as well.

At USD$20 per night for an air conditioned room with heater and wifi,it's decent but you can definitely get a cheaper hotel of the same quality. I'd recommend going for the USD$15 rooms which are the same as the $20 rooms except without breakfast (which is mediocre at best,would've gone for the cheaper room had I known they values their breakfasts at $5..)

All in all, I have little regrets and the hotel was well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    49
    35
    10
    10
See reviews for
3
45
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great location for a hotel. The room was small but we knew this before agreeing to stay. AC and clean bathroom and fridge were great. Bed was not bad either.

We had breakfast included and I would recommend the local dishes as the western fare is not that good.

Did the job and you can't say more for $20 a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Price: May not be the cheapest guest house but the location is very good. I stayed on the third floor balcony, I can see the roof of the Royal Palace and on the side a glimpse of the Mekong River. It's very near the Royal Palace, the Mekong River and the National Museum.

Facilities: The following are good: TV and cable, bed, hot and cold shower, fridge, sheets. Closet is a little broken. Rain water goes inside the room during thunderstorm, most likely it will come from the balcony and will flow under the door.

Breakfast: A little terrible, but better than nothing. Breakfast coffee was good.

Staff: Cleaners and waiters were friendly and very humble. Some receptionists were not so friendly. I remember asking them to give me a wake up call at 5 am, I woke up with a knock on my door and when I opened it I saw the receptionist. He looked mad, because he climbed the highest floor and told me with an annoyed accent that he was trying to call my phone but I didn't answer. I felt embarrassed, annoyed with his grumpiness, but in the same way grateful that he "climbed" the extra mile just to wake me up. Manager was good, see my story below.

Tips:
1. The view is the best if you are on the third floor balcony. I think in Cambodia the 1st floor is not considered as the ground floor, so if you book the 3rd floor expect it to be the fourth story of the building. It's a very tiring climb and the stairs are very steep so if your not in to climbing better stay on the 1st or 2nd floor.

2. During my first night there was a thunderstorm in the evening. When I woke up I noticed a pool of water beside my bed. I had three bags on my floor, a knapsack, a camera bag, and a camping bag where I put some clothes I bought in Vietnam for my sisters. These bags got wet. All my papers, tickets, printed copies of itineraries, and other things that were inside my bags got wet. The Vietnamese clothes I bought got wet, one of the dresses was red and its color bled and stained the other three dresses. I complained to the manager and showed the clothes and my bag to them. At first he questioned me why I didn't put my bags in the closet and I asked him why he didn't inform me that a room on the third floor can be flooded. At the end of the day they helped me dry my bag and the manager reimbursed $20 for the ruined clothes, it actually cost $23 but I accepted $20. I really appreciate what the manager did.

It's a good thing that all my gadgets, computer, camera were on my bed and not in my bags. Lesson: Never ever put your bags on the floor.

Verdict: I may come back to this place but it will not be my first choice again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

During our short term of stay at Pensione, the experience has been good, the staff are friendly, the housekeepers are brilliant! They come change your sheets and towels everyday! And fold your clothes for you, can't ask for more! Only thing is that ventilation in the bathroom is not the best, and the bathroom door won't shut properly. Location is great! It's literally close to everything! Would recommend anyone for a short time stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Basically slept here because I checked in late and checked out early.

Room: adequate for the price, clean
TV, ref, hot shower, hair dryer

Food: Free breakfast meal is average

Steep Stairs are not elderly and handicap friendly.

If you are looking for a cheap hotel that is walking distance to the riverside and basically neighbors with the Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda, then book this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd level because of the maze of steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Staff were decent, place was clean and guest friendly and breakfast included was adequate. Pretty much what I expected, was just in for the night and needed a clean bed. I'd avoid the cheapest rooms as a few dollars more will get you something much better!

Room Tip: The second cheapest room is worth the extra few dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We arrived in Phnom Penh having taken the bus from Saigon. We were disappointed that we were unable to get any response from the hotel about a number of things about our visit before we arrived in Phnom Penh e mails that I sent were ignored.
The bus is very cheap but the journey is very long using very poor roads travelling at slow speeds. The hotel is a short tuk tuk ride from the bus station.
The hotel is very central and from the hotel you can walk to many of the city’s central tourist spots. From our window we could see an ancient temple being built across the road it will be an impressive building when it is finished.
The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were ok. The staff were trying their best on a limited budget, there was a lot of stairs to climb to the room and no lift! Television with the usual channels.
Hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Palace II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Palace II

Address: #29EO, Street 178, Next to Royal Palace | National Museum, River Front, Phnom Penh 12206, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 233 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Palace II 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fantastic sounds, smells and beauty of Cambodia come alive at the Diamond Palace II. Diamond Palace II is small boutique hotel with only 24 rooms, we are centrally located in tourist areas which is within minutes of Museums, Royal Palace, art galleries, Riverfront, bus & boat station, restaurants, night market, bar & pub, beauty salon, parks, travel agencies...etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Diamond Palace II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Palace II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.