We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday roast in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Exchange

The Exchange
27 France Street (Street 47), Wat Phnom, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 787 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday roast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

For around $20 you get a choice of pork, lamb and beef with all the trimming, a salad and coffee! You cant beat it for price and quality, in fact after this I'm heading down there right now. If that isnt an endorsement I know know what is.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best set menu lunch in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are always looking for places for lunch. This place is the best we have come across.$15 for three courses and a glass of wine is good value.
The food was superb. The potato and bacon soup is addictive. Beautiful texture and taste. The open steak sandwich with crispy onion rings is a delight. The desert were just awesome.

Nice setting with very attentive staff. Only down side is the 10%service charge, hopefully that goes to the staff

Best value set lunch in PP

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Exchange was recommended by an expat and so pleased we took his advise..the aussie owner has excelled.
My partner is an avid steak fiend and is always searching for the best rib eye...he ordered the american rib eye with mustard sauce ...he was salivating from the first bite ...and this continued throughout his devouring of it...it was the best steak he has ever eaten ....he even admitted it was better than that he cooks himself ....a huge statement coming from a master cook :) the best meal of your life. Yep he'd choose this as his final meal.
Service was brilliant would not hesitate to recommend the exchange

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Prententious and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The clientele of the Exchange seem to be suits thinking they are something special. Nice building, pleasant staff, but the drinks are very over-priced and the food rather bland with small servings. I think the owners are trying to offer a 'New York' experience, but in downtown Phnom Penh, for me, it does not work.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“On a par with a good london restaurant, surprised it ranks so low on ta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner on a saturday night, reasonably busy, steak was good if not exceptional (but the best I have had in cambodia) ) cocktail was fair, ambience and staff all good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exchange also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.