We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were spoilt staying here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Suites to your Saves list
Riverside Suites
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Corner Sisowath Quay & Street 144, Phnom Penh 10110, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 296 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hallidays Point, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We were spoilt staying here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We only stayed one night as we had arrived a day ahead of schedule and it was higher than our usual budget but it was very nice. We had a 2 bedroom suite with large rooms and a sitting room. There was a Playstation for the game starved kids and a view of the river. We thought about cancelling our other booking and staying longer but we had already paid a deposit so reluctantly moved on. Breakfast in our rooms was a nice touch. Only negative was no pool though one can be arranged. This place deserves to do well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
34
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Riverside for two nights when we arrived in Cambodia. Overall, we had a good stay at the Riverside. We booked a room with balcony based on the pictures seen on the website. However, we learned after we arrived that all the rooms layout are different. Our room was on the top floor and the balcony was large and great. The room itself had a musty smell and the bathroom was not very modern. The breakfast was great and fresh although limited. You have the option of breakfast in your room or breakfast next door at the restaurant. The WiFi did not work very well and was not consistent. There is no elevator so you might want to request lower floor. The staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I knew I had paid much more than everywhere else I have been in Cambodia, yet I still wasn't sure what I was getting into until I got there, and I was pleasantly surprised.

Riverside Suites had exceeded all my expectations for staying in independent run hotels in Cambodia. The location was fantastic and our room, which was 402 at the top floor with a big balcony to ourselves had a great view of the river. The room was large and spacious and furnishings modern with a bit of rustic look to them.

The bathroom was good and modern, except that hot water only ran for about 5 minutes, which means there is no point trying to fill up the bath for a bath. There was a bit of a stink coming out of the drains near the toilets which was one of the smaller disappointing downsides.

Other than that - the staff were friendly and helpful, and always had a smile on their faces. The hotel is unfortunately not disable friendly (thinking outside myself here) and with only steep stairs and no lift access, it won't be suitable for anyone with physical limitations.

The breakfast included was fantastic. Whether you have it at Blue Pumpkin across the road or have it delivered to your room, the food was delicious. Wireless was included in the rates, which was fantastic to be able to show off our room to family and friends back home via Skype.

Yes, there are improvements to be made, but overall I was happy with the stay.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a river view room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room and location is good! But the bathroom is very poor and the bed is hard...The Ac is small that cannot make the room cold as Phnom Penh is really hot....We could hardly sleep during our stay in this hotel. The breakfast is awful because it is limited and you have to go to other restaurant..The restaurant waitress normally does not serve you properly and if you ask for more you have to pay extra. Ther are many times I called the reception and nobody is there...There are better hotels in Phnom Penh so I will not recommend this hotel!..Actually I will not come to Cambodia again because it is a tourist trap and everything is expensive...It is not worth the money that you spend to visit the place..There are many other country in Asia which more interesting to visit..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonuk
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room and location were fantastic. Large spacious bedroom, lounge, bathroom and outside terrace. You had the choice of breakfast in your room or pop across the road to a modern restaurant - excellent idea. All reception staff excellent bar one female receptionist who took no interest, never said hello, totally unhelpful and spent most of her time just surfing the net - very disappointing. Hence the average rating

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Beautiful room with a lovely view over Sisowath Quay, I loved being on my balcony in the early morning watching life, motos and tuk-tuks go by and in the evenings watching the locals gather for group aerobic sessions and evening strolls. Staff are friendly, kind and helpful. I saw a person trying to give the staff a complex question who got very agitated when they didn't get the response they thought their importance afforded. In Cambodia and you do need to break sentences and language down a tad for staff to understand. Walking distance, or short tuk-tuk drive to all major attractions with bars and restaurants along the river at your door step. For a solo traveller I felt completely safe and this was a wonderful way to start my Cambodian adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked Riverside Suites on Agoda. The suite was exactly as pictured but exceeded my expectations.

The locality right near the Quay with all its attractions is superb.

The room was excellent. It's size was well beyond what I expected. There was more than enough I space for both work and relaxation. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and the bathroom clean and all amenities provided. The free and fast wifi was a real bonus.

The breakfast menu was generous in its choces and the availability of taking it in the room or in an adjacent restaurant was appreciated. The early breakfast provided on the day of departure was great. All breakfasts were delivered exactly on time.

The staff were by attentive, courteous and helpful.

The only downside which happens all vet the city is the constant invitation to take a tuk tuk or motto cycle ride.

I recommend highly e Riverside Suites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Suites

Address: Corner Sisowath Quay & Street 144, Phnom Penh 10110, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO RIVERSIDE SUITES, A BEAUTIFUL NEW LUXURY RIVERSIDE HOTEL IN PHNOM PENH, CAMBODIA. Located in heart of the riverside area in Phnom Penh with stunning views over the Mekong, Bassac and Tonle Sap rivers, Riverside Suites also offers guests a secluded and luxurious refuge from the bustling city. Riverside suites bring luxury to the riverside area of Phnom Penh. Riverside Suites is recently renovated as has all the modern conveniences expected from any 4 star hotel around the world. With only 9 rooms, Riverside suites attention to guests' needs is our top priority. We wish to make your stay in Phnom Penh truly unforgettable. With 4 different room types to suit every guest's needs, Riverside Suites is the perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.