We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night out in Phnom Penh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phnom Penh's Night Market

Phnom Penh's Night Market
Sisowath Quay, Street 5, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 35 shopping in Phnom Penh
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Dongducheon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun night out in Phnom Penh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband I visited the Night Market during our stay in Phnom Penh. We had a couple of Angkor beers at the Fish café before walking in and browsing the selections. There isn't nearly as much as at the Central or Russian markets, but it is worth browsing. A girl I bought scarfs from earlier in the day at the Central market recognized me in a different outfit and said hello to me. I bought two dresses from her and the next day went back to her spot in central market for more scarfs. She had a great selection of items and will give a great discount if you buy numerous pieces. There were a lot of people but the outdoor environment doesn't make it feel overcrowded. After we left we crossed the street and walked by the river. A great place to go for a nice night out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    38
    35
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Would rather recommend Russian market if you are a tourist and want to shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you are not a tourist and not into shopping, and are in the area (which has many many restaurants) in anyway, you can quickly pop in, but we preferred the Russian market - its bigger, better quality and selection of clothes and everything else you would want to buy as a tourist.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“the place to taste some local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visiting a market in a city is always a good place to get a local feel and visiting the weekend night market in PP is no different. It is located on Sisowath Quay and has stalls for various items, clothing, handicraft, shoes, etc. But the most interesting is the food stalls surrounding the open place that provides the place to eat lesehan style (on a plaid mats to sit on). Recommended for those who have no problem trying and eating food from street vendors.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“PHNOM PENH'S NIGHT MARKET”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

For all visitors to Phnom Penh, I would highly recommend a visit to this night market. The night market is only operating during weekend. It is a mixture of stalls selling clothings, shoes, watches, artifacts, etc . In fact, almost everything. The prices are good , but limited selections. There are also many food stalls selling local food. The sea food are very good and at very good prices. There is also live entertainment with singers and comedians. It is also a good place to interact with the locals. The entry is free. The venue is near the river front; so one can take a break from the warm weather by walking to the riverfront for some cool breeze! Lots of motorcycles and "tuk-tuk" to move you around.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Plenty of bargains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to the night market on our first night in Phnom Penh (note it is apparently only open on weekends). Paid $2 to get there from our hotel (The Plantation). It has plenty of cheap watches, silk scarves, clothes, shoes, DVDs etc. There are also food stalls but we didn't try any so I can't comment. We bought a couple of DVDs and are happy with the quality. Paid $1.25, bought 5 and got one free, so a very good bargain. The DVDs are cheaper here than in Siem Reap. We bought our son a watch and he swam with it on the entire holidays and it is still working, which has been a pleasant surprise. Only paid $3. They have a stage in the centre and the local crowd seemed highly entertained by the singers. All in all a good night out. I've given it a four-star rating mainly because it isn't as large as the other markets so it is easier to get around. It also has wide walkways and is not nearly as tight a squeeze as the other markets. Make sure you bargain!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Penh's Night Market also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Phnom Penh's Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phnom Penh's Night Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phnom Penh's Night Market to your Saves list